J D Wetherspoon Shift Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for Shift Manager

J D Wetherspoon Shift Manager Reviews

Updated 21 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 60 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
36 Ratings
  1. "Fantastic Comoany"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager in Bournemouth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    progression, fantastic atmosphere, new friends, weekly pay when starting out, monthly pay as a manager, easy training, good till system, good breaks and food choice

    Cons

    late shifts, staff that don't turn up, the Comouter system which liked to go down a lot, very big deliveries (I worked at a flagship pub)

    Advice to Management

    keep at it as it's brilliant but more rewards in pay would be good - I had to get 5 months of shift manager oay backdated as it did not transfer correctly on the system

    J D Wetherspoon2016-01-09

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    January 11, 2016Senior Recruitment & Training Manager

    What a lovely 5* review - we are pleased you enjoyed working for the company and if you ever wanted to return please get in touch! Sorry to hear you possibly had issues with your pay. It's rare, but unfortunately sometimes these things happen, and it sounds like it was resolved ...

    Show More
  2. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    Prompt payment,very good standard of work

    Cons

    No support from ho side

    Advice to Management

    Be a human

    J D Wetherspoon2016-01-09

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    January 11, 2016Senior Recruitment & Training Manager

    Thanks for your 5* review. Please let us know what additional support you need at your pub and we will always listen and help where we can

  3. "meh, was better when I transferred.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager Grade II in Plymouth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    easy to transfer if you move (LOTS of pubs!) flexible hours, once i climbed up to shift leader it was easy for me to progress further, good management training programmes

    Cons

    in some pubs you have to be a 'brown noser' to get supervisory positions, customers can be very nasty usually during Christmas when all the 'seasonal drinkers' come out of their caves, have been elbowed and had glasses thrown at my head (all in good jest i presume..)

    Advice to Management

    LISTEN TO YOUR TEAM!! i found when i became management, staff respect and listen to you more if you respect them, listen to them and make time for them! unfortunately my managers at my previous spoons were not the best at listening when staff had issues..

    J D Wetherspoon2016-01-09
  4. "It's a job that pays the bills."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mod III Shift Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    You make some really good friends and because of that, the job is a lot more bearable. Once you get the hang of it and have done it for a while it becomes easier.

    Cons

    Unsociable hours Dealing with people that will treat you like s#@t Pretty poor pay for the amount you need to put up with. You get made to feel like you mean nothing to the company.

    Advice to Management

    Stay at Mod 1 shift leader. They earn £20,300 and a Mod 3 earns £20,000.

    J D Wetherspoon2015-08-23
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Avoid at all costs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Free food, some great people, can provide good training if it's available. I struggle to mention any pros further than that to be honest.

    Cons

    Long hours, poorly managed rotas, understaffed. I could work a 10hr shift with no breaks on a busy day. Culture of intimidation and constantly being piled with more work. Expected to attend staff meetings on days off without being paid. Some management unprofessional, childish, argumentative. Bullying was accepted. Some staff with mental health issues were treated with contempt. They need to address issues with equal...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You need to look at what's really going on in your pubs, not just how they do financially. There's a reason why there's so many negative reviews here. There are so many dodgy things going on with pub management and higher. If someone tries to call them out it is swept under the carpet. Pay a living wage! The abuse your staff get is not worth minimum wage. Those that dare to complain get moved or performance managed out....

    Show More
    J D Wetherspoon2015-08-23
  6. "Terrible company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager in Leighton Buzzard, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon for less than a year

    Pros

    Managers free meals on duty. terrible place.

    Cons

    Over worked, lack of training, and no communication

    Advice to Management

    Train your managers correctly

    J D Wetherspoon2015-07-23
  7. Helpful (1)

    "trust no one"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good laugh with the staff and good training depending on which pub you apply for.

    Cons

    Area managers turn a blind eye to managers who dont conform to policy but keep their audits green whatever way they can. Managers play favorites and do rota accordingly.

    Advice to Management

    Actually look at disciplinary hearing notes instead of sacking employees for reporting issues such as theft. gambling and verbal and metal abuse just so the issue is out of sight and mind.

    J D Wetherspoon2015-06-27
  8. "Top company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager in Doncaster, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good pay, excellent training, progression planning

    Cons

    Long hours. Eregular shift patterns

    J D Wetherspoon2015-05-18
  9. "Micro-management and penny pinching."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager in Liverpool, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    The only pro is the job security safety net which comes from working for such a large company - it's unlikely that they are going to fold so as long as you maintain their company standards and don't complain then it is pretty much guaranteed that you will keep your job.

    Cons

    As a member of the management team I work upwards of 60 hours per week, on a 48 hour salaried contract. The long hours are not the most negative aspect of the job, the worst part is training junior level staff how to do their job by following a step-by-step instruction manual for tasks as simple as 'how to clean a table', and 'how to mop a floor'. The senior management of this company do not want staff, they want droids.

    Advice to Management

    Bring back proper bonuses instead of 'moving the goalposts' and setting increasingly difficult and petty standards (AM CQSMA for instance - it is easy for them to fake these results to bring down the average score for the unit). Start treating staff like people instead of numbers. Some area managers have been decent people but the majority just enjoy having their boots licked by pub managers who are desperate for their...

    Show More
    J D Wetherspoon2015-03-20
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager in Brighton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, great opportunity for career progression, bonus scheme, free shares

    Cons

    Long hours, stressful dealing with the general public but that's to be expected!!

    J D Wetherspoon2014-11-26
Found 60 reviews