J D Wetherspoon Team Leader Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Team Leader Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 61 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
24 Ratings
  1. "Amazing culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    I worked at weatherpersons for 2 , almost 3 years. Had an amazing time learning the trade and building relationships with the regulars and co workers/managers. This is specific to my branch, however know other weatherpersons in the area with similar cultures. Flexible shifts if a good worker, good discount in all branches and attitude of constant self improvement with skills that are transferable in any business.

    Cons

    Sometimes the drive for success from head office, with new incentives and ideas can improve some areas, however if specific branches arnt making enough to fund extra staff, the options left are leaving later on closes to ensure all jobs (new and old) are done, or all jobs are done to a lesser standard where staff leave earlier. Requires Extremely high motivation to complete with quality in specific time frame.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-01-04

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    January 22, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your review

  2. "What spoons is actually like"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good pay per hour. Good benefits. Good opportunity to progress

    Cons

    Runs on an ideal world basis and it’s never an ideal world No person to person training all online Not much support for abuse in the workplace Understaffed Too much stress and pressure for what the job actually is.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-01

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thanks for your review. You have raised points which we would like to look into further. Please get in touch so that we can understand more @ PersonnelAdvisors@jdwetherspoon.co.uk

  3. "Team Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours Good pay for industry Sociable staff Staff discounts Free share scheme

    Cons

    Too corporate in places Company used as a political propaganda tool Late hours Over-working the staff Expecting too much of part-time staff Service industry, so often horrible experiences with customers Little sympathy for mental health issues

    Advice to Management

    Focus on staff welfare. Consider yourselves all on a level playing field, working for the same company. Not, them working for you. A greater connection with the staff will work wonders in any Wetherspoons.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-21
  4. "Pinch of Salt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great pay and bonus scheme Great holiday Internally promotes

    Cons

    Customers are absolute trash Managers can also be trash dependant on location

    Advice to Management

    Lead by example

    J D Wetherspoon2018-10-15

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    October 23, 2018Senior Recruitment Advisor

    We’re sorry to hear that Wetherspoon wasn’t for you and hope that you find a role that better suits you

  5. Helpful (3)

    "Kitchen team leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Team Leader in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    People you work with Flexible job You can Learn a lot

    Cons

    Very inexperienced workmates sometimes Hard job at times specially city centre pubs Life balance struggle a bit

    Advice to Management

    Salary should be higher in city centre pubs Gap Salary should be a lot higher for Kitchen Team leader comparing with associates. Some kitchen pubs request an urgent refurbish. Improve pay for bank holidays.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-08-30
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Bar staff are exploited"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon for more than 4 years

    Pros

    You can make many friends working behind a bar

    Cons

    Poor pay, no sick pay, minimum breaks. As a bar staff, you are at the mercy of managers in terms of your rota/hours. Pub management treats their staff unfairly and are often offensive and unprofessional.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-09-25
  7. "Good first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Team Leader in Warminster, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Team is like a family and 20% off food drink and hotels

    Cons

    Long hours an limited weekends off

    J D Wetherspoon2018-07-23
  8. "If you want a social life, don’t work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Gateshead, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    20% off food and drinks Colleagues are like family

    Cons

    Stressful Environment Management constantly boss you around Awful customers Saving hours during quiet periods then it gets busy Very unsociable hours

    Advice to Management

    Treat team leaders with respect and stop penny pinching on the hours

    J D Wetherspoon2018-07-24
  9. "JDW Birmingham Airport Terminal 1"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Plenty of hours if you want them. Training on the job. Opportunities to progress. Discount on food while on shift and minor discount off-shift. Mostly young staff, easy to make friends with colleagues. I would recommend JDW to someone as their first job.

    Cons

    Minimum wage. Rota scheduled for 'close' but can start at 2pm and end anywhere between 10pm to 3am the next morning, then be expected in at 2pm again, up to 7 days straight. Management favoritism among staff. Sale of out-of-date or spoiled products if necessary. Low staff moral. Staff will actively try to make staff cry if possible and laugh about it later in managers office. Management Drama - Managers will have...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stick to the expectations they put on their staff e.g. uniform, on-time, hours worked, cleanliness standards. Stop consuming/taking home wet/dry stock and then trying to blame it on the staff when area-managers start investigating. Don't hide out the back (office) when the pub is extremely busy.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-06-29
  10. "Disgusting place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Co workers were lovely and made the job a lot easier (some). some regulars were nice but this was rare as most customers were the worst type of person.

    Cons

    Horrible managers, vile hours for a company that closes at midnight (4am finish?!), extremely challenging work and mostly understaffed but you would get screamed at if things werent getting done despite having half the staff required. also made you do extra work after clocking out and you were scolded if you dared bring up how this was unfair

    Advice to Management

    just leave and make it easier for everyone. ended up barred from the spoons i used to work at because someone i was was in a relationship with (who was a team leader) was involved in a sexual harrassment case, after we had broke up and i had already left the company. he got moved to a different wetherspoons and got a promotion whilst when i went back into the pub i was barred for ever being involved with him despite not...

    Show More
    J D Wetherspoon2018-06-15
Found 61 reviews