J D Wetherspoon Team Leader Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for Team Leader

J D Wetherspoon Team Leader Reviews

Updated 6 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 64 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
25 Ratings
  1. "If you want a social life, don’t work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Gateshead, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    20% off food and drinks Colleagues are like family

    Cons

    Stressful Environment Management constantly boss you around Awful customers Saving hours during quiet periods then it gets busy Very unsociable hours

    Advice to Management

    Treat team leaders with respect and stop penny pinching on the hours

    J D Wetherspoon2018-07-24
  2. "JDW Birmingham Airport Terminal 1"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of hours if you want them. Training on the job. Opportunities to progress. Discount on food while on shift and minor discount off-shift. Mostly young staff, easy to make friends with colleagues. I would recommend JDW to someone as their first job.

    Cons

    Minimum wage. Rota scheduled for 'close' but can start at 2pm and end anywhere between 10pm to 3am the next morning, then be expected in at 2pm again, up to 7 days straight. Management favoritism among staff. Sale of out-of-date or spoiled products if necessary. Low staff moral. Staff will actively try to make staff cry if possible and laugh about it later in managers office. Management Drama - Managers will have...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stick to the expectations they put on their staff e.g. uniform, on-time, hours worked, cleanliness standards. Stop consuming/taking home wet/dry stock and then trying to blame it on the staff when area-managers start investigating. Don't hide out the back (office) when the pub is extremely busy.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-06-29
  3. "Disgusting place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Co workers were lovely and made the job a lot easier (some). some regulars were nice but this was rare as most customers were the worst type of person.

    Cons

    Horrible managers, vile hours for a company that closes at midnight (4am finish?!), extremely challenging work and mostly understaffed but you would get screamed at if things werent getting done despite having half the staff required. also made you do extra work after clocking out and you were scolded if you dared bring up how this was unfair

    Advice to Management

    just leave and make it easier for everyone. ended up barred from the spoons i used to work at because someone i was was in a relationship with (who was a team leader) was involved in a sexual harrassment case, after we had broke up and i had already left the company. he got moved to a different wetherspoons and got a promotion whilst when i went back into the pub i was barred for ever being involved with him despite not...

    Show More
    J D Wetherspoon2018-06-15
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great friends, awful management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Team Leader in Camborne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Got decent hours Room for progression If you like shifts it’s for you Bonus on performance made a great group of friends

    Cons

    management get jobs on brown nosing lazy management expect long hours and lots of over time with no extra pay treat staff like they are dispensable management are bullies

    Advice to Management

    Lead by example Work as a team Needs a total restructure

    J D Wetherspoon2018-04-24
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Horrendous - avoid at all costs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Kingston upon Hull, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Customers - a fantastic bunch and a joy to serve and so kind hearted and supportive No other pros whatsoever that exist

    Cons

    So much to list - so little time....... The most unprofessional managers possible Appalling customer service from some staff Head office policies blatantly disregarded Zero health and safety compliance from managers Constant changes to rota on daily basis Constant nastiness and backstabbing amongst managers Constant understaffing Zero training apart from online which expected to do on day off Unfit staff on shift a regular...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you are going to put policies in place to protect your employees health and safety then actually discipline managers when they blatantly disregard them. Read glassdoor reviews and join the dots. Do quarterly anonymous employee feedback forms and actually listen to them.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-05-12
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Review of my time as a Wetherspoons employee at The Swan and Castle, Oxford"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - 6 week rotas over school holidays/public holidays in advance - 3 week rotas in advance as standard - Management are extremely understanding of situations e.g. University, school, college, child care, sickness. - Colleagues are amazing people who I am proud to say i have worked alongside them Working at an establishment part time can sometimes mean you are outcast from the main 'full timers' however during my time...

    Show More

    Cons

    As the pub closes at either 00:00 or 01:00 depending on the day, the occasional late night may be required.

    Advice to Management

    Good job Steph, Euan, Joe, Laura, Reid and Jonny.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-04-01
  7. "Not bad really"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent discounts and job opportunities

    Cons

    Drunk people and semi difficult staff

    Advice to Management

    Come front of house more often and show more control

    J D Wetherspoon2018-02-27
  8. Helpful (1)

    "JD Wetherspoon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some flexibility in shift patterns (if you have a good manager)

    Cons

    You're basically just a number and they don't really care about you - you're easily replaceable and staff turnover is high

    J D Wetherspoon2018-02-16
  9. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Team Leader in Whitstable, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, Good team

    Cons

    Bar hours not good for sleep patterns

    J D Wetherspoon2018-01-24
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Team Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar and Kitchen Team Leader in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This is long term employment. Staff usually is employed on full time basis. Busy enviromet all year long. Employees are wonderful and hardworking people from all around the world.

    Cons

    different shift patterns and plenty of possibilities to work more hours especially hen business pick up around September until end of December.

    Advice to Management

    Management is well trained which is great to gain knowledge from but I believe that they need to talk to staff little bit more to avoid issues.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-01-11
Found 64 reviews