Find jobs for Team Leader

J D Wetherspoon Team Leader Reviews

Updated 27 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
76%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO and Director John Hutson
John Hutson
35 Ratings
  1. "If you want a social life, don’t work here"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Gateshead, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    20% off food and drinks Colleagues are like family

    Cons

    Stressful Environment Management constantly boss you around Awful customers Saving hours during quiet periods then it gets busy Very unsociable hours

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2018-07-24
  2. "Ok job, ideal for students"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Southampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easily transferable when you go to and from uni

    Cons

    Low pay and long unsociable hours

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2018-06-30
  3. "JDW Birmingham Airport Terminal 1"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of hours if you want them. Training on the job. Opportunities to progress. Discount on food while on shift and minor discount off-shift. Mostly young staff, easy to make friends with colleagues. I would recommend JDW to someone as their first job.

    Cons

    Minimum wage. Rota scheduled for 'close' but can start at 2pm and end anywhere between 10pm to 3am the next morning, then be expected in at 2pm again, up to 7 days straight. Management favoritism among staff. Sale of out-of-date or spoiled products if necessary. Low staff moral. Staff will actively try to make staff cry if possible and laugh about it later in managers office. Management Drama - Managers will have arguments and bring staff into it by forming parties and making them pick sides to increase the drama causing more conflict.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2018-06-29
  4. "Disgusting place to work"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Co workers were lovely and made the job a lot easier (some). some regulars were nice but this was rare as most customers were the worst type of person.

    Cons

    Horrible managers, vile hours for a company that closes at midnight (4am finish?!), extremely challenging work and mostly understaffed but you would get screamed at if things werent getting done despite having half the staff required. also made you do extra work after clocking out and you were scolded if you dared bring up how this was unfair

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2018-06-15
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great friends, awful management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Team Leader in Camborne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Got decent hours Room for progression If you like shifts it’s for you Bonus on performance made a great group of friends

    Cons

    management get jobs on brown nosing lazy management expect long hours and lots of over time with no extra pay treat staff like they are dispensable management are bullies

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2018-04-24
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Horrendous - avoid at all costs"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Kingston upon Hull, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Customers - a fantastic bunch and a joy to serve and so kind hearted and supportive No other pros whatsoever that exist

    Cons

    So much to list - so little time....... The most unprofessional managers possible Appalling customer service from some staff Head office policies blatantly disregarded Zero health and safety compliance from managers Constant changes to rota on daily basis Constant nastiness and backstabbing amongst managers Constant understaffing Zero training apart from online which expected to do on day off Unfit staff on shift a regular occurrence Incorrect pay weekly

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2018-05-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Review of my time as a Wetherspoons employee at The Swan and Castle, Oxford"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - 6 week rotas over school holidays/public holidays in advance - 3 week rotas in advance as standard - Management are extremely understanding of situations e.g. University, school, college, child care, sickness. - Colleagues are amazing people who I am proud to say i have worked alongside them Working at an establishment part time can sometimes mean you are outcast from the main 'full timers' however during my time at The Swan and Castle, Oxford, I have felt part of the team since the first day. From the first impression when entering my interview with the management was pleasant and they made every effort to make sure the environment was the least stressful it could have been. This kindness continued during my time at The Swan and Castle, Oxford, and even when covering other pubs (The Narrows, Abingdon, The Penny Black) who were in need of an extra pair of hands. I've been able to complete my university studies and earn at the same time due to the flexibility that is offered by Steph and her management team. With the understanding management team I have been able to put my studies first, while also being able to work and ENJOY working. During my team at The Swan and Castle, I have been able to progress my position from Bar Associate to Team Leader, allowing my to learn new life skills that I know I will be able to bring with me through life as i progress onto new pastures. With regards to progression, during my time I have observed one colleague go from team leader to shift leader and with the support of the company she is now an excellent member of the team.

    Cons

    As the pub closes at either 00:00 or 01:00 depending on the day, the occasional late night may be required.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2018-04-01
  8. "Not bad really"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent discounts and job opportunities

    Cons

    Drunk people and semi difficult staff

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2018-02-27
  9. Helpful (1)

    "JD Wetherspoon"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some flexibility in shift patterns (if you have a good manager)

    Cons

    You're basically just a number and they don't really care about you - you're easily replaceable and staff turnover is high

    J D Wetherspoon2018-02-16
  10. "Good"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Team Leader in Whitstable, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, Good team

    Cons

    Bar hours not good for sleep patterns

    J D Wetherspoon2018-01-24
Found 96 reviews