J D Wetherspoon "discount on food" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Reviews

Updated 15 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1269 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
525 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Bar Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Basildon, East of England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    50% Discount on food, Great progression.

    Cons

    Staff always calling in sick management not sorting them out. Not enough hours causing pub to get busy and only have 2 staff on.

    Advice to Management

    Relook at hours for all pubs and make sure they have enough because I know my pub doesn't.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-03-24
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Customer Assistant/Bar attendant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Flexibility in time, If you have a good manager you really learn the pub business faster, discount on food.

    Cons

    Too much physical work, No break if your shift is up to 5 hrs, late night work (closing shift) can go up to 2-3 am.

    Advice to Management

    Should look after their employee better. Pay rise is really needed considering the amount of work they have to do. There should be an app to remember which shift you are working in.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-01-24
  3. "Yh was ...ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Welling, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good place if your a people person Discounts on food and drink Have a laugh there with the staff and the customers

    Cons

    The pay is awful Would never stay there as a proper job Bad shift times No assured hours You put more into the job than you’ll ever get back

    Advice to Management

    Organising

    J D Wetherspoon2018-01-13
  4. Helpful (2)

    "the life of a Wetherspoon kitchen associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Associate in Cheam, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Team members are generally friendly - Music is allowed in the kitchen (this wasn't the case in all the kitchens I have worked in previously) - Get a 20% discount on food and drink outside of working hours and a 50% discount on food during working hours

    Cons

    - The job gets repetitive after a while - Very little in the way of healthy eating on the menu - Bar staff errors can reflect badly on kitchen staff - Working shifts as opposed to set rota's leaves little time for routine or hobbies

    Advice to Management

    Improve communication

    J D Wetherspoon2018-01-10
  5. Helpful (2)

    "If you’re not “in” it you get pushed a side"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Training scheme Bonus Scheme additional benefits; childcare vouchers, discount on food and drinks on and off shift. GMH contracts for non salaried staff.

    Cons

    No work life balance. No overtime for salaried staff. Unrealistic expectations One rule for one another for another.

    Advice to Management

    Being micro managed who is inconsistent on what is wanted so therefore completing a task or several but then mind changes halfway through. A lot of time wasted on indecisiveness. No added support to create a happy work life balance. If you are not part of the “groupie” then be prepared to be pushed a side and not advance in your career possibly suffer being Managed instead for all the hard work that makes other people...

    Show More
    J D Wetherspoon2017-11-09

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 28, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your review. All comments will be discussed further in our weekly meetings.

  6. "Kitchen Assistant/Kitchen associate full time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    Good banter in the kitchen, 50% discount on food and soft drinks on shift, 30% discount on F&D off-shift

    Cons

    Long hours, bad break scheduling, crazy changing between early and late shifts, impossible to have a decent work/life balance, too many managers.

    J D Wetherspoon2017-11-02

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 28, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your feedback

  7. "Bar Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Discount on food and drinks

    Cons

    online training is very tedious

    J D Wetherspoon2017-09-24

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 28, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for the feedback

  8. "Bar associate job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Good discounts on food and drink

    Cons

    Can be tiring for what is a basic rate of pay

    J D Wetherspoon2017-07-28

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    August 1, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your feedback.

  9. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader in Southampton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discount on food, drink and hotels

    Cons

    Long hours, hard work and constant shift changes so you never get a sleeping pattern

    Advice to Management

    Na

    J D Wetherspoon2017-07-23

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    August 1, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your feedback, we would urge you to speak with your manager directly about the feedback.

  10. "Mixed Pros/Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student in Blackburn, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good discount on food: when on shift you get 50% discount, when off shift you get 33% discount Fairly flexible with time off as long as you book it in advance

    Cons

    Poor training- this was my first bar job, and I was offered no practical training. My first shift was at 1pm on a Saturday (it was a football day, so extra busy), and I was just thrown on the bar by my manager and expected to cope even though they were fully aware I only had waitressing experience. I am also a student, as are many Spoons employees, and management was fully aware of this- however was shocked and pretty...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Respect your employees!

    J D Wetherspoon2017-07-20

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    August 1, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to hear that some things were not as you expected and we will work hard to resolve such issues.

Found 1269 reviews