J D Wetherspoon Employee Reviews about "discount on food"

Updated 17 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
66%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO and Director John Hutson
John Hutson
677 Ratings

Reviews about "discount on food"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Kitchen Assistant/Kitchen associate full time"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    Good banter in the kitchen, 50% discount on food and soft drinks on shift, 30% discount on F&D off-shift

    Cons

    Long hours, bad break scheduling, crazy changing between early and late shifts, impossible to have a decent work/life balance, too many managers.

    J D Wetherspoon2017-11-02

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 28, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your feedback

  2. "Bar Staff"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Discount on food and drinks

    Cons

    online training is very tedious

    J D Wetherspoon2017-09-24

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 28, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for the feedback

  3. "Bar associate job"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Good discounts on food and drink

    Cons

    Can be tiring for what is a basic rate of pay

    J D Wetherspoon2017-07-28

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    August 1, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your feedback.

  4. "Review"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader in Southampton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discount on food, drink and hotels

    Cons

    Long hours, hard work and constant shift changes so you never get a sleeping pattern

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2017-07-23

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    August 1, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your feedback, we would urge you to speak with your manager directly about the feedback.

  5. "Mixed Pros/Cons"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student in Blackburn, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good discount on food: when on shift you get 50% discount, when off shift you get 33% discount Fairly flexible with time off as long as you book it in advance

    Cons

    Poor training- this was my first bar job, and I was offered no practical training. My first shift was at 1pm on a Saturday (it was a football day, so extra busy), and I was just thrown on the bar by my manager and expected to cope even though they were fully aware I only had waitressing experience. I am also a student, as are many Spoons employees, and management was fully aware of this- however was shocked and pretty annoyed at me when I asked for Christmas Day and Boxing Day off to go home (as did the other students at the pub). Had a frightening experience over several months where a customer would come in, buy one pint, then sit across from the bar staring directly at me for hours, and sometimes follow me from one end of the bar to the other, making me feel extremely uncomfortable and obviously scared to walk home on my late finishes. He also approached me several times and said disgusting things to me- each time this happened, I reported it to management. I was told to ignore it, and was supposed to be 'comforted' by the fact that they had told him the days I was working and that he couldn't come in on those days- thank you management for telling him the exact times I would be leaving the pub by myself at night! (This experience led me to quit my job without notice, I was/still am disgusted by how the situation was dealt with)

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2017-07-20

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    August 1, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to hear that some things were not as you expected and we will work hard to resolve such issues.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Love the colleagues, hate the customers"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Westhoughton, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Colleagues are mostly fantastic to get along with and everyone does their bit. Really good bonus's if you pass the audits and mystery customers. Ability to swap shifts and flexibility of the rota. Discount on food. Pick up shifts easily when you want more money.

    Cons

    Management can mess you about a lot. Working every single holiday, Mad Friday - right through to New Year's Day. December is a very exhausting month. Customers are generally pretty horrible, only a few that are nice. Can get left on the floor on your own a lot, which means you're rushed off your feet while everyone else is standing around talking.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2017-06-14

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    July 4, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your feedback

  7. "Bartender"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    Good salary, good management and direction. Discount on food.

    Cons

    Unfavourable working hours, however this goes with the job of bartending.

    J D Wetherspoon2017-03-23
  8. "Not bad for part time work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Kitchen Porter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    Discount on food Friendly staff Very flexible work

    Cons

    Occasionally get abuse by drunk customers Customers primarily tend to be of the council trash variety

    J D Wetherspoon2017-03-14
  9. "Bar Staff"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    The customers are generally quite friendly, especially the regulars. Discount on food during working hours is a plus. And food quality is good. Social scene between colleagues is good.

    Cons

    The pay is one of the largest drawbacks. Minimum wage, or just about. Plus, no further pay after 12 midnight so on a busy shift if there was a lot to clean up and you were working close. You would be working any time after 12 for free. This was normally around 30 minutes each time so it did add up. Some managers did not treat staff with respect.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2017-03-24
  10. "Interesting to say the least"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discounts on food and beverages as well as discounts in other shops

    Cons

    Abuse from customers, and fired for poor performance on a shift that started 6 hours after previous shift

    J D Wetherspoon2017-03-22
Found 63 reviews