J D Wetherspoon "discount on food" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Reviews

Updated 15 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1269 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
525 Ratings
  1. "Quality of work life varies by branch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar/Floor Associate in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Whilst some of the material is outdated, the training was decent with a great system in place to help a novice employee feel they getting to grips with the job. Staff discount on food & drink

    Cons

    The particular branch I worked at would not hire door staff despite it being located in a hotspot for problems and clashing football fans. After an incident involving a BNP march I just didn't feel safe.

    Advice to Management

    That even if the figures are good a high turnover of staff shows that something is wrong.

    J D Wetherspoon2016-09-07
  2. "Kitchen Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Kitchen Work. Friendly Staff. Good Bonuses. Great part time job for students. It has got a career progression path. Discounts on food and drink within the company.

    Cons

    Can work shifts that are "a finish" which depending on staff numbers etc, can be very late in the night. Never really a guaranteed number of hours a week. Can sometimes be left to work in the kitchen alone.

    J D Wetherspoon2016-08-20
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Would not recommend it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Staff in Henley on Thames, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people you work with, especially in uni holidays, are generally fun Staff discount on food (although it isn't that generous and they still make a tidy profit off of you)

    Cons

    The customers The management All staff treated as dispensable Not paid if your shift goes after the time per the rota

    Advice to Management

    Treat your staff a bit better; a drink after a busy Saturday night shift would be nice

    J D Wetherspoon2016-07-09

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    July 11, 2016Recruitment and Training Manager

    Thank you for your comments

  4. Helpful (3)

    "Has its ups and downs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    50% and 20% discount on food and drinks Pays more than minimum wage I was able to transfer to a pub closer to me

    Cons

    Managers have favorites Have to buy your own uniform Poor communication when it comes to rotas and shifts changing Can sometimes go without a break on busy shifts Rarely get a bonus Cant plan anything in your own time as rotas go up weekly

    Advice to Management

    Have set shifts per week or put rotas up further in advance

    J D Wetherspoon2016-06-29

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    July 5, 2016Recruitment and Training Manager

    Thank you for your feedback, it will be discussed at the weekly meetings

  5. "Always cutting hours, not enough staff, it's never the managers fault"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate in Dundee, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There's a football tournament I suppose which is pretty fun and the pay is alright compared to other places. Discount on food is alright if the food wasn't crap

    Cons

    Nobody listens to you, when I tell management there is a massive football game on midweek and we are going to get rammed, please can we have an extra staff member I get told "I'll sort it out" then comes Tuesday night and we don't have extra cover, in the kitchen until a ridiculous time of the morning and get in trouble for not having a fast close down. To save hours our manager cut and hour off the morning shifts so...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Sort it out

    J D Wetherspoon2016-05-09

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 16, 2016Recruitment & Training Systems Manager

    thank you for your honest review and the examples within it. We encourage any member of staff to raise concerns such as yours immediately and escalate if still unhappy with the support. We will be discussing your comments further internally.

  6. "Good solid reliable work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Good pay and progression lots of hours good discounts on food

    Cons

    Irregular hours odd management system late nights and early mornings

    J D Wetherspoon2016-04-18

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    April 25, 2016Recruitment & Training Systems Manager

    Thank you for the review you have taken the time to leave, we monitor these regularly and consider all feedback

  7. "It's ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Shift Leader in Romford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good job progression, discount on food, hours are always available

    Cons

    Lack of trained management, recruitment seems to be hard as well.

    Advice to Management

    Stop taking stress out on your staff otherwise more good staff will walk away from the company

    J D Wetherspoon2016-03-17
  8. "Spoonies point of view"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Monthly bonuses depending on a number of things such as stock etc Weekly pay All starters get paid the same rate Friendly staff Cross training opportunitys Many pubs to choose to work in Online training Pension scheme Discount on food and soft drinks Dress up on Christmas and Halloween

    Cons

    Understaffed issue's You can be barred from your own pub Split shifts Long shifts Shift work Breaks when you get a chance not in time slots You can't book Christmas off Open every day Serve alcohol at 9:00am Online training doesn't always work Online pay slips Food till 11pm White shirts Rotas ain't always up in time

    Advice to Management

    I would like the rotas online to be up to date so my life could be planned around my work rather than knowing 2 days before what I'm doing next week.

    J D Wetherspoon2016-03-15
  9. "DO NOT WORK HERE PLEASE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in Stoke-on-Trent, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - 50% discount on food on shift. Nothing else at all!!! - Relatively simple to get promoted if willing to stick the job for long enough

    Cons

    - Zero hours contract so hours could vary wildly. Shift managers would be given more hours over full-time and part-time staff to compensate for low sales revenue. Not surprised given that one manager had a gambling addiction as well... This meant even 'full-time' staff were given 20 hours max. Promised 16 hours at interview but often ended up with 5. - Shifts can either be 9 hours long or 4 hours long. Once had a...

    Show More
    J D Wetherspoon2016-04-02

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    April 4, 2016Senior Recruitment & Training Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. All comments we receive are discussed internally and sent to the area manager of the relevant pub/location.

  10. "Wetherspoons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Brierley Hill, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    You meet new people on a daily bases, you get discounts on food & drinks even when not at work, we get paid weekly. And the wage is more than basic rate and lastly it's easy to work up the ladder and to progress into something bigger.

    Cons

    The rudeness of some customers and sometimes there's not enough staff on.

    J D Wetherspoon2016-01-09

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    January 11, 2016Senior Recruitment & Training Manager

    A lovely 5* review - thank you for your positive comments. We do not tolerate misbehaving or rude customers, so if this happens in your pub please speak to the manager on duty

Found 1269 reviews