J D Wetherspoon "flexible hours" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Employee Reviews about "flexible hours"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1120 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
464 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "flexible hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Team Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours Good pay for industry Sociable staff Staff discounts Free share scheme

    Cons

    Too corporate in places Company used as a political propaganda tool Late hours Over-working the staff Expecting too much of part-time staff Service industry, so often horrible experiences with customers Little sympathy for mental health issues

    Advice to Management

    Focus on staff welfare. Consider yourselves all on a level playing field, working for the same company. Not, them working for you. A greater connection with the staff will work wonders in any Wetherspoons.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-21
  2. "bar associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar/Floor Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    flexible hours, 20% discount when in branch, 50% off on shift, good, fun and friendly crew of staff

    Cons

    sometimes very busy and short staff. Expected to do alot for the pay for under 21s

    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-01

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    March 22, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. Great to hear you enjoyed your time at Wetherspoon and appreciated the employee discount and our approach to flexible working. We wish you every success with your future.

  3. "Good pay, and good people. but stressful often."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The manager was lovely, highly understanding and one of the hardest working people I've ever met. Good people, highly social environment, decent pay for the type of work. Very flexible hours.

    Cons

    Dealing with customers in a pub is always a challenge. 90 per cent are lovely, but you will encounter less nice people from time to time. Upper management was remarkably organised, telling us we were going to have a refurb multiple times and never delivering. I knew people who had to leave their job because of this and nobody outside our pub seemed to care at all. Area manager was a bully. To new staff and the...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There has to be more accountability from the top down.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-01-21
  4. "Pretty much what you'd expect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in Norwich, England
    Recommends

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - good environment - flexible hours as a student - Understanding management

    Cons

    - no tips allowed - inconsistent shift patterns

    J D Wetherspoon2019-01-05

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    January 22, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your review.

  5. "Easy work when studying at Uni"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours and easy money

    Cons

    You do get phoned on days off to be asked to cover. Rota changes last min without being told.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-11-05

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 14, 2018Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thanks for your review, all comments are discussed at our weekly meetings.

  6. "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours, with good hourly pay for an unskilled job. Good potential progression within the company.

    Cons

    Long shifts, lack of training, repetitive process.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-10-24
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Flexible Hours if you’re a student Relatively easy work for the pay you receive Can be a lot of potential to work your way up within the company if you dedicate the time

    Cons

    Unsociable hours. Working on a night can mean you finish at 2am + Lack of bonus pay/time and a half. Baffling that you are expected to work until 2am with no extra pay for working these unsociable hours and you only get time and a half/double pay on a christmas day is disgusting. Management within the pub can be extremely strict on new starters in order to train them properly.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-09-19

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    October 8, 2018Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your review. All comments will be discussed further in our weekly meetings. We are in the process of looking at night rates of pay.

  8. "Bar staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours and contract set to your needs Discounts Bonus Good people Promotion

    Cons

    Early starts 6am on a Sunday!

    J D Wetherspoon2018-09-08
  9. "Average Bar Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Free shares Pension scheme Bonus scheme Flexible working hours Decent pay

    Cons

    Underappreciated Overworked Lack of empathy from management

    J D Wetherspoon2018-08-17
  10. "I mean, its a job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Weekly payment, friendly team members, great if you want to open up, and good as a way just to gain some money, flexible hours.

    Cons

    Higher ups won't listen to their pubs, a lot of us are over worked as they want to "reduce hours" resulting in only a hand full of members on at one time even when its the holidays. Abuse from drunk customers and higher up wont allow us to have door staff, resulting in staff injury. Its not easy to work your way higher despite what people say. Stop having favourite staff members, it puts down the people who work hard....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your pubs, stop trying to add pressure onto us to do extra but with very minimal staff numbers.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-07-27
Found 1120 reviews