J D Wetherspoon Employee Reviews about "food and drink"

Updated 10 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
66%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO and Director John Hutson
John Hutson
677 Ratings

Reviews about "food and drink"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "__"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    50% of food on shift 20% of food and drink off shift Bonus every month depending on profit/cq scores Incentives on shift

    Cons

    Unsociable hours Exhausting work On feet all day Rude customers

    J D Wetherspoon2018-05-09
  2. Helpful (1)

    "More work then you expect"

    3.0
     

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    Good people most of the time Bonus can be good Easy to progress if you want Employee discount on food and drink Can transfer across the country

    Cons

    Bonus is dependant on everyone pulling their weight Hours all over the place Getting rotas ahead of time is a challenge Rotas change all the time Expected to do more then your job title entails

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2018-04-02
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Kitchen Staff"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate in Saint Neots, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discounts on food and drink are very nice to have, 50% on shift 20% not on shift Extra shifts are freely available as very understaffed

    Cons

    Extremely short staffed, Almost no training. Unsocial hours Little to no work life balance Very little opportunity to progress Some very rude managers

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2018-03-28
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Fast paced bad management"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    always something to do, discount on food and drink

    Cons

    shifts vary, poor management, unsociable hours

    J D Wetherspoon2018-03-27
  5. "Yh was ...ok"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Welling, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good place if your a people person Discounts on food and drink Have a laugh there with the staff and the customers

    Cons

    The pay is awful Would never stay there as a proper job Bad shift times No assured hours You put more into the job than you’ll ever get back

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2018-01-13
  6. Helpful (2)

    "the life of a Wetherspoon kitchen associate"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Associate in Cheam, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Team members are generally friendly - Music is allowed in the kitchen (this wasn't the case in all the kitchens I have worked in previously) - Get a 20% discount on food and drink outside of working hours and a 50% discount on food during working hours

    Cons

    - The job gets repetitive after a while - Very little in the way of healthy eating on the menu - Bar staff errors can reflect badly on kitchen staff - Working shifts as opposed to set rota's leaves little time for routine or hobbies

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2018-01-10
  7. "Do not recommend working for Wetherspoons"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    20% off food and drink when you're not working which is better than nothing so can't argue there. Some customers can be lovely. Can work your way up to management quite easily.

    Cons

    If you're over 18 you don't get a break until you've worked over 5 hours and it's only 15 minutes when legally a 15 minute break should be allocated after 4 1/2 hours of work. Managers will ask you to cut your break short if it is too busy, sometimes breaks aren't even given if it's too busy. Numerous times I've been asked to stay past my allocated shift and when explaining that I can't I feel as though I've been forced into staying. Even though the same job is being done, due to age differences some people are being paid much less - there should be an equal pay for associates, then team leaders, etc. Managers get free food when on shift but associates only get 50% when managers get paid more. This doesn't seem entirely fair. Serious lack of communication and respect between floor/bar and kitchen staff. Managers and shift/team leaders take advantage of their roles and tend to not actually do their jobs fully while ensuring associates complete all the work (this has been noticed particularly on closes where staff of higher authority will go out of their way to not actually work. Complaints aren't listened to; myself and a few of my colleagues have put in numerous complaints about issues we have with the pub and the way it's run but again nothing has been done about it. Unless you're a student with commitments to university or unless you have a child management expects you to be able to work the shifts you've been given without leeway or consideration for other commitments. No training is given, you're expected to just pick it up as you go. Always understaffed yet need to save hours which doesn't make much sense. Treatment from customers and other members of staff (management in particular) can be ridiculous and none of us are paid anywhere near enough to deal with the kind of abuse you can receive.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2017-11-04

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 28, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to hear that some things are not as you had expected and will work to resolve such issues. I would encourage you to give feedback directly to your manager if you think there are improvements to be made at a local level.

  8. "Bar associate job"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Good discounts on food and drink

    Cons

    Can be tiring for what is a basic rate of pay

    J D Wetherspoon2017-07-28

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    August 1, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your feedback.

  9. "Kitchen Associate"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Kitchen Work. Friendly Staff. Good Bonuses. Great part time job for students. It has got a career progression path. Discounts on food and drink within the company.

    Cons

    Can work shifts that are "a finish" which depending on staff numbers etc, can be very late in the night. Never really a guaranteed number of hours a week. Can sometimes be left to work in the kitchen alone.

    J D Wetherspoon2016-08-20
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Associate in Manchester City Centre, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, usually able to get time off when necessary, fantastic atmosphere and colleagues, the 50% off food and drink during shift is good, some drinks are free

    Cons

    Can get very very busy which is quite stressful, the work can be monotonous and repetitive, but what job isn't

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2016-02-13

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    February 15, 2016Recruitment & Training Systems Manager

    We appreciate your feedback, thank you. Getting the right balance, and offering good, relevant benefits are things we look long and hard at. We agree that it's not acceptable to be on mobiles at work - no matter who you are, the customer should be your focus, not your phone.

Found 34 reviews