J D Wetherspoon "good pay" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Employee Reviews about "good pay"

Updated 15 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1307 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
535 Ratings
Pros
  • "salary very competitive for the pub trade(in 100 reviews)

  • "Good pay, bonus and promotional opportunity(in 68 reviews)

Cons
  • "Much busier than your average Pub/Restaurant(in 147 reviews)

  • "Long hours with not enough breaks(in 142 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Fun company to work for, make lots of friends and very good progression, hours are the only major problem"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Pay, discounts, bonuses and career progression .

    Cons

    Hours are very stingy, you think the company ran at a loss with how stingy they are with the hours. Often means you are understaffed, rushed off your feet and may not get a break, In my opinion if they invented more hours in the pubs (especially smaller ones as they have it most tight) then it would improve staff morale and retention. Also means you do some of your work unpaid as you don’t get time to do it on shift.

    Advice to Management

    Invest more hours into pubs, other then that a great company to work for.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-27
  2. "No work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receptionist in Huntingdon and Peterborough, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, bonus each month

    Cons

    No consistency with shifts, no work life balance

    Advice to Management

    Treat staff like they are people not just numbers , take better care of people’s data

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-25
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader 
    Recommends

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay for people just starting

    Cons

    Under staff issues making work stress

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-06
  4. "over worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Floor Staff in Ramsgate, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good pay 12 minimum hours good discount and rewards schemes

    Cons

    long hours bad shift times

    Advice to Management

    .

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-11
  5. "Bar associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and weekly too

    Cons

    Stressful particularly on weekends and bank holidays

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-21
  6. "Pros and cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Keswick, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good pay shares in company A lot of hours

    Cons

    Hard work Mostly weekends and nights

    Advice to Management

    More staff

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-31
  7. "If you fit the part then sure, if not AVOID"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, frequent bonuses, 50% off meals

    Cons

    Long shift hours, Very rude customers, Finishing at 3AM, Management pick who they like and treat the rest like dirt, for example I requested to be bar trained but was refused due to having a little facial hair, which I shaved off and was still refused. Management granted me holidays but then took my last day of my holiday away without advising me and I got a disciplinary for not turning up for work, Shift patterns... are non existent, every week either has long shifts, or barely any contracted minimum shift hours are ever kept too. Understaffed constantly.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Speak with your staff about issues instead of jumping the gun on certain issues you have with them. Treat all staff equally regardless of facial hair or any appearance, Stop speaking to staff like children, Work out fair shift patterns instead of random each week. Take the time to actually thoroughly train your staff instead of throwing them in the deep end.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-23
  8. "Spoons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay Part paid break Holiday pay

    Cons

    Late closes Open later on bank hol

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-29

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review and best wishes for the future.

  9. "Good, but it depends on the pub"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay for your position Progression opportunities can be plentiful Good bonus scheme and discounts

    Cons

    Unsociable hours, sometimes rotas can be established only last minute

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-27

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    It’s great to know that the things we have invested in such as rates of pay and bonus are valued. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review

  10. "Kitchen staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    - good pay - friendly staff, very diverse

    Cons

    - "on the job training" - stood around in the kitchen when I first started without knowing or being told what to do - can get very hot and busy in a small kitchen

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-22

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. It’s good to hear you are working with a friendly team.

Found 1307 reviews