J D Wetherspoon "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Reviews

Updated 13 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1182 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
483 Ratings
  1. "Wouldn't recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate in Brighton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Work/Life balance okay dependent on your hours Discounts on food and drink on shift (50%) and off (20%)

    Cons

    Little to no guidance for new staff Disrespectful senior staff No clean or individual uniforms Long hours, minimal breaks (unless you smoke) Loud, irritating music played in kitchen

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-18

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you did not have a great experience. If you would like to discuss further the points you have raised, please get in touch by contacting us @ PersonnelAdvisors@jdwetherspoon.co.uk

  2. "Enjoyable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Everyday is different Plenty of opportunities to progress

    Cons

    Unsociable hours Long hours Too much paperwork and office work

    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-10

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    March 22, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you have had the opportunity to progress and we wish you continued success

  3. "Okay for a pit stop, but don’t stay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Pay is decent Holiday pay is good

    Cons

    Shifts are rarely given in advance Hard long hours

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees

    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-23
  4. "Kitchen assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Reliable hours throughout the shift pattern

    Cons

    Long hours and poor job progression

    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-15
  5. "Good place to work if you're a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Fast paced environment, no two days are the same

    Cons

    Long hours on your feet

    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-12
  6. "Team Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    discounts training support increase confidence in talking to others

    Cons

    long hours unsociable end up smelling of ale and food always on feet

    J D Wetherspoon2019-02-19

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    March 22, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    We are glad you thought we were 5 star, good luck with your future.

  7. "Bar associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Good job, easy, good hours and don’t start on minimum wage

    Cons

    Long hours sometimes, management are also lazy

    J D Wetherspoon2019-02-13

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    March 5, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    We know flexible working patterns are really important to our staff. It's great to know this worked for you.

  8. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

      Pros

      Flexible, student job, paid weekly

      Cons

      Long Hours Completely undervalued Rarely have a full break Managers are lazy Shifts are not given far enough in advance.

      J D Wetherspoon2019-02-11

      J D Wetherspoon Response

      February 19, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

      Thanks for your review. If you have any further feedback you can contact us @ PersonnelAdvisors@jdwetherspoon.co.uk.

    • "good company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at J D Wetherspoon

      Pros

      bonuses, free shares, free meal on shift

      Cons

      long hours, shift work, no work life balance

      J D Wetherspoon2019-01-15

      J D Wetherspoon Response

      January 22, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

      Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review

    • "Good progression"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

      Pros

      Hours to work around you Nice people Bonus Holiday pay

      Cons

      Long hours with not enough breaks I order system

      J D Wetherspoon2019-01-10

      J D Wetherspoon Response

      January 22, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry to hear your feel the hours are long with not enough breaks. We would encourage you to speak to your manager about this.

    Found 1182 reviews