J D Wetherspoon "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Reviews

Updated 15 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1269 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
526 Ratings
  1. "Kitchen assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Reliable hours throughout the shift pattern

    Cons

    Long hours and poor job progression

    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-15
  2. "Good place to work if you're a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Fast paced environment, no two days are the same

    Cons

    Long hours on your feet

    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-12
  3. "Team Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    discounts training support increase confidence in talking to others

    Cons

    long hours unsociable end up smelling of ale and food always on feet

    J D Wetherspoon2019-02-19

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    March 22, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    We are glad you thought we were 5 star, good luck with your future.

  4. "Bar associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Good job, easy, good hours and don’t start on minimum wage

    Cons

    Long hours sometimes, management are also lazy

    J D Wetherspoon2019-02-13

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    March 5, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    We know flexible working patterns are really important to our staff. It's great to know this worked for you.

  5. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Flexible, student job, paid weekly

    Cons

    Long Hours Completely undervalued Rarely have a full break Managers are lazy Shifts are not given far enough in advance.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-02-11

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    February 19, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thanks for your review. If you have any further feedback you can contact us @ PersonnelAdvisors@jdwetherspoon.co.uk.

  6. "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    bonuses, free shares, free meal on shift

    Cons

    long hours, shift work, no work life balance

    J D Wetherspoon2019-01-15

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    January 22, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review

  7. "Good progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Hours to work around you Nice people Bonus Holiday pay

    Cons

    Long hours with not enough breaks I order system

    J D Wetherspoon2019-01-10

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    January 22, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry to hear your feel the hours are long with not enough breaks. We would encourage you to speak to your manager about this.

  8. "Bar Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Bartender in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good laugh, lots of friendly customers

    Cons

    Long hours and can be tedious

    J D Wetherspoon2018-12-13

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    December 18, 2018Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Your feedback will be discussed in our weekly meetings.

  9. "Wetherspoons review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Keeps you busy and on your feet

    Cons

    Long hours, little breaks and treated very poorly

    Advice to Management

    Treat workers with integrity

    J D Wetherspoon2018-12-08

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    December 11, 2018Website Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, your feedback will be discussed in our weekly meetings. We’re sorry to hear that Wetherspoon wasn’t for you.

  10. "Very hard work and long hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    weekly pay and good bonuses

    Cons

    very long hours and made to take breaks early in shift

    J D Wetherspoon2018-11-26

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 28, 2018Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your feedback

Found 1269 reviews