J D Wetherspoon "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Reviews

Updated 25 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1195 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
488 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Weatherspoons metropolitan pub"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    Great friends maded great banter between a few people lots of customers make me laugh while on shift pub manager at metropolitan bakers street cares the most and showed me a few tricks that he's learned over the years of running pubs

    Cons

    Team leaders one who I won't name but if management want to discuss this futher please feel free get to pushy and demanding managers in the pub need to be the floor more Stressful Long hours Staff food which we have to pay for Zero work life balance

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff Make sure staff are cared for emotionally and mentally don't run staff into the ground Allow staff on the floor to express them selfs in way that they feel works for them

    J D Wetherspoon2018-05-07

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 16, 2018Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your feedback, all comments are discussed at our weekly meetings. We would really like to discuss the matter further if you could call and speak to a member of the recruitment team at head office,

  2. Helpful (4)

    "Former Bar Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in March, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    2 days off each week Staff discount on/off shift meet a range of different people

    Cons

    Irregular hours Expected to carry burning/heavy plates lack of duty of care long hours on your feet no work/life balance as people were always being asked to work later

    Advice to Management

    care more about your employees wellbeing don't work employees to the brink of exhaustion/ill health better work/life balance don't accuse people of things they didn't do

    J D Wetherspoon2018-04-09
  3. "No staff morale"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff are nice who you work with

    Cons

    Long hours. Treated like a child off management. To many process and procedures just to pull a pint. No recognition from management, feedback is always negative. Can sometimes work ) hours without a break

    Advice to Management

    Recognise your employees. Respect your staff and offer more legal breaks

    J D Wetherspoon2018-03-28
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good first Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    - Good first job - 50% off on food while working - Employee's website to see the payslip, hours, courses and more

    Cons

    - Long hours / Late nights - Drunk customers - You get your next shift schedule only 5 days in advance

    J D Wetherspoon2018-02-25
  5. "Great part-time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in Stansted, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours Great management Opportunity to move forward in position Bonus

    Cons

    Short breaks Long hours on feet

    J D Wetherspoon2018-01-23
  6. "Bar Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Met loads of people who were nice

    Cons

    Long hours and menial tasks

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good job

    J D Wetherspoon2018-01-31
  7. "Positive while company supported the role."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Catering Manager in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Bonus, pay, training, great team spirit at a pub and department level Supportive line managment providing one to ones and appraisals.

    Cons

    Job security is only while fits with business model Company can move you without consultation if required Can be long hours above those contracted with no additional pay if in salary A feeling of not not always being valued/appreciated

    Advice to Management

    Continue to develops career paths for employees beyond pub roles to provide direction

    J D Wetherspoon2018-01-17
  8. "Cash controlled Team Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Element of responsibility - it feels like you're actually involved with how the pub is being run. Job security in a sense of knowing there are hundreds of pubs you can transfer to if you're unhappy. Easy to make friends. Good staff discounts and occasional profit based bonuses. Flexible in terms of asking for time off or availability. Good opportunity for career progression and training.

    Cons

    Low pay, management strip you of your hours when their area manager asks them to save hours leading to pay insecurity. Rotas change all the time. Unsocial and long hours, 11 hours in between shift is ALWAYS ignored/redundant. No motivation or praise, just constant negative feedback.

    Advice to Management

    Give out positive feedback to lower bar associates occasionally, make them feel like their hard work is noticed. Scratch their back if they scratch yours i.e. covering shifts. Do not reduce staff hours or change the rota after it has already been published - staff plan their lives around that rota and if it changes 24 hours before, it ruins a lot and makes them very unhappy.

    J D Wetherspoon2017-12-18

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    January 9, 2018Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, your feedback will be discussed in our weekly meetings, and I would encourage you to give feedback directly to your manager if you think there are improvements to be made at a local level.

  9. "Overworked and Underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barman 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There was a food discount

    Cons

    Extremely busy Always understaffed Poor pay Long hours Rigid management Low class clientele Long after-hours cleanup process Poor bonuses Disgusting "wastage" policy (we were told to put beer slops into people's pints, "use up" partially poured pints by mixing them into glasses with other beers etc) Bad food hygiene -- I saw first hand food being picked up off the floor and put back onto plates for serving....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit and work for an independent pub

    J D Wetherspoon2017-12-17

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    January 9, 2018Recruitment CoOrdinator

    We are sorry you had such a negative experience, your feedback will be discussed in our weekly meetings. really would love to catch up with you, if you could give the recruitment team a call at Head office.

  10. "Kitchen Assistant/Kitchen associate full time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    Good banter in the kitchen, 50% discount on food and soft drinks on shift, 30% discount on F&D off-shift

    Cons

    Long hours, bad break scheduling, crazy changing between early and late shifts, impossible to have a decent work/life balance, too many managers.

    J D Wetherspoon2017-11-02

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 28, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your feedback

Found 1195 reviews