J D Wetherspoon "pub" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Employee Reviews about "pub"

Updated 22 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1191 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
489 Ratings
Pros
  • "salary very competitive for the pub trade(in 98 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours and contract set to your needs(in 63 reviews)

Cons
  • "Much busier than your average Pub/Restaurant(in 143 reviews)

  • "Long hours with not enough breaks(in 135 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "pub"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Shift manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager in London, England
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Free shares for long term employees Can be very flexible to ensure a healthy work/home life balance

    Cons

    New 40 hour working week works well, however the expected shift pattern may not suit every manager yet we're not given the choice to make changes. For example, some managers have childcare that may not fit around two days off in a row etc Increase in staff pay leads to cutbacks on hours - you're expected to work twice as hard on busy sessions because the pub still needs to make...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Give management their own choice if they wish to have split days off rather than two in a row

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-10

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. If you would like to discuss flexible working please get in touch with the personnel advisor team at PersonnelAdvisors@jdwetherspoon.co.uk

  2. "Fast paced and hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

      Pros

      Always have something to do. Keeps you fit with all the walking around taking food if you're in a bigger pub

      Cons

      Long hours and late closes can be a drag

      J D Wetherspoon2019-04-18

      J D Wetherspoon Response

      May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

      Many thanks for your feedback and hard work.

    • "Decent first time good. Good pay."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

      Pros

      - Ability to progress - Pay - People - Sociably job

      Cons

      - Hit and miss managers and pub managers- can be really nice or awful. - Everything's cheap and done to a poor quality- but it is spoons - Tim Martin thinks hes Teresa May with all his Brexit involvement

      J D Wetherspoon2019-04-15
    • "Brilliant but Tough Job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Kitchen Associate 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Excellent bonus scheme based on overall pub performance Flexible Holiday Scheme Good pay

      Cons

      Long hours Potentially very late finishes High pressure

      J D Wetherspoon2019-04-12

      J D Wetherspoon Response

      May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

      We really appreciate your comments in relation to the remuneration and benefits you receive. We are extremely proud of the pub performances achieved and that over 80% of our employees benefit from the bonus scheme in recognition of this.

    • "JD Wetherspoon"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Kitchen Associate in Liverpool, England
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Monthly Bonus (depends on the pub performance)

      Cons

      Long hours weekend/bank holiday work no extra pay for bank holiday

      J D Wetherspoon2019-04-20

      J D Wetherspoon Response

      May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

      We are pleased to hear you are benefitting from the bonus scheme. Many thanks for the feedback.

    • Helpful (3)

      "Some pubs are better to work for than others"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Manager in London, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Excellent training, company standards, discounts, management courses, atmosphere

      Cons

      Profit driven value goes a bit too far and mangament forget about the happiness of their employees, staff often get unfairly barred when they leave, security can be difficult to work with, not all management pulls their weight, some pub managers don’t take enough responsibility, drugs, bad conduct

      Advice to Management

      Work harder to support other managers, stop spending all your time in the office, be honest about staff complaints, stop ignoring staff gross misconducts

      J D Wetherspoon2019-03-27

      J D Wetherspoon Response

      April 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

      Thank you for your review. It is good to hear that you felt our training, standards and discount were good. We will take a look at the other points you have raised.

    • "Avoid at all cost"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time

      Pros

      Not applicable at all. Avoid.

      Cons

      Worked in pubs before and after spoons. Nothing has been as bad as this place. If you’re unlucky to start working there, use your off time to look for new places because within the first month, you’ll have wished you had started looking sooner.

      Advice to Management

      Quit

      J D Wetherspoon2019-04-21

      J D Wetherspoon Response

      May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

      Thank you for your review. We are sorry things did not work out for you and wish you all the best for the future

    • "Good company with great people"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

        Pros

        -Good opportunities within the company -Allowed me to work around education

        Cons

        -Long hours/Late shifts - comes with working in a pub

        J D Wetherspoon2019-03-14

        J D Wetherspoon Response

        April 5, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

        Thank you for your feedback. It is great that you had the flexibility to work around your studies and the opportunity to progress

      • "Good for part-time work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Bar Associate in Manchester, England
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Unpretentious, easy work. Nice mixture of staff from different backgrounds and ages.

        Cons

        Rubbish tips but... it’s a cheap pub I guess. Bad policy on promotion to management- tends to favour longest serving rather than suitability for the job. Rubbish Owner and his right wing nonsense plastered all over the pubs, even he himself comes in sometimes and spouts that rubbish.

        Advice to Management

        To manage someone is a skill not a right of service

        J D Wetherspoon2019-03-05

        J D Wetherspoon Response

        March 22, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

        Thank you for your comments

      • "Hard work but good money"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Kitchen Shift Leader in Leicester, England
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        Done 10 years for 'Spoons, 6 of those as a kitchen shift leader. Depending on the pub it can be really hard work but the pay is good as well as fully paid breaks and food allowance on shift.

        Cons

        No where else to progress other than kitchen manager which is 1 per pub and rarely the opportunity comes up.

        J D Wetherspoon2019-03-03

        J D Wetherspoon Response

        March 22, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

        Thank you for all your hard work and for your review. It's disappointing to hear that you feel there isn't any opportunity for progression. There are lots of exciting opportunities for both Kitchen and Shift Managers at Wetherspoon, please discuss current vacancies with your Pub ...

        Show More
      Found 1191 reviews