J D Wetherspoon "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 31 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
582 Ratings
Pros
  • "Learnt a lot about how a big pub works(in 112 reviews)

  • "It’s good pay, 28 days holiday a year 40 hour per week(in 91 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours/Late shifts - comes with working in a pub(in 174 reviews)

  • "Some management tend to forget that running the pub from the office can create tension with associates(in 172 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities for any hardworking employee Good pay Good bonuses Great support networks Lots of training and further opportunities

    Cons

    Work life balance can suffer with you always being on call

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-21
  2. "Good job to build confidence working part time as a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff in London, England

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    20% off food and drink Flexible hours

    Cons

    Being on call can lead to sacrificing your work life balance

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-31
  3. Helpful (1)

    "No pub manager promise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits like shares Great pay GM very involved Staff liaison meetings

    Cons

    Micromanaged Under constant threat of disciplinary No input in running business Very stressful No work life balance Area management/personnel - all friends nowhere to turn for support Made to work when pubs are quiet - yet graded on it

    Advice to Management

    Who looks after pub Managers? We have to look after all our employees but no one cares for us. I was told “everyone has families” when I complained My working pattern meant I rarely seen my child or partner

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-09
  4. "Great opportunity if you get a GOOD Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Development opportunities Living wage, guaranteed hours Learn about the business behind the scenes Friendly regulars and colleagues make your days enjoyable Plenty of training puts in a great position if you move to another job in the industry. Free food when on duty, discounts when off duty! BONUS PAY - if your pub performs well!

    Cons

    Unsociable hours Lack of a work/life balance Lots of effort for little reward

    Advice to Management

    It's a people thing! That's your slogan, stick to it.. look after your staff and keep a close eye on how the pub managers look after them.. have regular associate liaison meetings to find out the issues

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-26
  5. "Excellent opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader in Dundee, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great training and progression opportunities. Management always keen to train and company always looking to improve staff through training and support. Good bonus scheme and shares incentives

    Cons

    Work/life balance can be tough during busy periods, but not much more so than industry competitors.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-18
  6. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some good staff. Pay is ok if you put the hours in.

    Cons

    Work life balance... Working so many finishes means i dont see my child as much as i would like. Managers who favour their friends

    Advice to Management

    Be fair to everyone on your team. You cant allow some members to do as they want or work when they want... Equality for all

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-30
  7. "It's a good job but a lot as changed. I've been working here nearly 12 years now."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager in Bootle, Merseyside, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Bonus,shares,pay, training programmes my jdw helps alot, the staff you work with makes your day 10 times better, benefits. Great progression opportunities.

    Cons

    Lack of hours Poor rotas Unfair rotas No work life balance (no matter how hard they try) although the hours have recently cut to 40. Long hours

    Advice to Management

    Think they expect too much of the management team. You cant keep expecting us to run pubs on less hours every week hours are getting taken from us cause we aren't making enough money but the pubs are always busy because the prices are so low. Soon the associates will be on more than us. They expect so much from so little. It is hard at times but we always manage to get where we are supposed to be as a team. But it... is really difficult at times.

    Show More
    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-15
  8. "5 years in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great perks and discounts. As well as got pay rate

    Cons

    Poor work life balance, lots of shift changes

    J D Wetherspoon2019-07-31
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Started as under 18 floor associate worked my way up to shift manager in 6 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good short term job Always overtime avaliable 50% food discount on shift 20% food discount off duty Free tea and coffee or squash Free food for managers

    Cons

    Very poor work life balance Pay is poor for how much is expected of you Bonus for entire pub depend on good mystery shopper scores (cqsma) , good stocks and sales possible for one person to mess up everyones bonus

    J D Wetherspoon2019-07-31
  10. "fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Better pay than most bars

    Cons

    bad work/life balance but comes with this work

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-30
Found 62 reviews