J D Wetherspoon "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Reviews

Updated 13 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1182 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
483 Ratings
  1. "Shift Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Good bonuses for just doing your job right, opportunity for progression, fair pay

    Cons

    Work/life balance, long shifts, no cap on working hours unlike duty/pub managers

    J D Wetherspoon2018-12-13

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    December 18, 2018Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for the positive feedback. We will discuss your review in our weekly meetings.

  2. Helpful (2)

    "Head office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Staff, sort of like a very disfunctional family. Room for progression (but only if you’re bar staff... KM is the top for kitchen staff)

    Cons

    There are never enough hours. It’s great we are paying staff more but that has to come from somewhere... the hours. It’s so hard to actually accomplish anything within your set hours. No work life balance at all.

    Advice to Management

    Head office need to spend more time in pubs and not just for a few hours once a year. Its just not feasible what everyone from pub manager to associate get asked to do.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-11-16

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 20, 2018Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, your feedback will be discussed in our weekly meetings, and I would encourage you to give feedback directly to your pub manager or Area manager if you think there are improvements to be made at a pub level.

  3. "Just don't do it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Literally occasionally the people you work with.

    Cons

    Pretty much everything. Stressed management. Management who don't listen to anything. Unsocial hours. No work/life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Treat people a lot better and you'd find people would stay longer.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-11-25

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 28, 2018Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. All comments will be discussed further in our weekly meetings. We’re sorry to hear that Wetherspoon wasn’t for you and hope that you find a role that better suits you.

  4. "Full TIme"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    - Good Pay - Friendly team, approachable management

    Cons

    - Work life balance - Very busy

    J D Wetherspoon2018-10-10

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    October 23, 2018Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thanks for your feedback.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Lots of chance for progression and extra hours. Break times adhered to strictly

    Cons

    Long close downs. Work life balance

    Advice to Management

    None

    J D Wetherspoon2018-08-07
  6. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay Fun environment- staff nights out, interesting people Discount is useful

    Cons

    Long hours and late nights often with little sleep in between Lack of work life balance because of the late nights.

    Advice to Management

    Increase hours between shifts and make managers more aware that with travel time included, 11 hours is mostly not done

    J D Wetherspoon2018-05-25
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Tiring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Good discounts on food and drinks

    Cons

    Long hours No Work/Life Balance

    J D Wetherspoon2018-05-07
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Weatherspoons metropolitan pub"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    Great friends maded great banter between a few people lots of customers make me laugh while on shift pub manager at metropolitan bakers street cares the most and showed me a few tricks that he's learned over the years of running pubs

    Cons

    Team leaders one who I won't name but if management want to discuss this futher please feel free get to pushy and demanding managers in the pub need to be the floor more Stressful Long hours Staff food which we have to pay for Zero work life balance

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff Make sure staff are cared for emotionally and mentally don't run staff into the ground Allow staff on the floor to express them selfs in way that they feel works for them

    J D Wetherspoon2018-05-07

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 16, 2018Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your feedback, all comments are discussed at our weekly meetings. We would really like to discuss the matter further if you could call and speak to a member of the recruitment team at head office,

  9. Helpful (1)

    "An ok employer, struggles to look after staff, will have huge difference in experience based on the venue you end up at."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager in Willenhall, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good management training system Internal opportunity for progression always available Offer university courses Structured expectations can make the workload easier

    Cons

    Don’t usually get much say when your being transferred Money for the workload is pretty poor They reduced the hours in the contract to improve work life balance but in reality you are always there longer than your rotary

    Advice to Management

    Workload on bar and kitchen associates is often the reason for high staff turnover. Understaffing is a big problem.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-04-12
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Former Bar Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in March, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    2 days off each week Staff discount on/off shift meet a range of different people

    Cons

    Irregular hours Expected to carry burning/heavy plates lack of duty of care long hours on your feet no work/life balance as people were always being asked to work later

    Advice to Management

    care more about your employees wellbeing don't work employees to the brink of exhaustion/ill health better work/life balance don't accuse people of things they didn't do

    J D Wetherspoon2018-04-09
Found 1182 reviews