J D Wetherspoon Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 11 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
66%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO and Director John Hutson
John Hutson
677 Ratings

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Excellent opportunities"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader in Dundee, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great training and progression opportunities. Management always keen to train and company always looking to improve staff through training and support. Good bonus scheme and shares incentives

    Cons

    Work/life balance can be tough during busy periods, but not much more so than industry competitors.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-18
  2. "Not bad"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some good staff. Pay is ok if you put the hours in.

    Cons

    Work life balance... Working so many finishes means i dont see my child as much as i would like. Managers who favour their friends

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-30
  3. "It's a good job but a lot as changed. I've been working here nearly 12 years now."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager in Bootle, Merseyside, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Bonus,shares,pay, training programmes my jdw helps alot, the staff you work with makes your day 10 times better, benefits. Great progression opportunities.

    Cons

    Lack of hours Poor rotas Unfair rotas No work life balance (no matter how hard they try) although the hours have recently cut to 40. Long hours

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-15
  4. "5 years in"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great perks and discounts. As well as got pay rate

    Cons

    Poor work life balance, lots of shift changes

    J D Wetherspoon2019-07-31

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    August 21, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. You should receive your rota at least two weeks in advance and any changes to shift agreed with you. If this is not the case, please speak to your pub or area manager. Alternatively, you can contact the personnel team @ PersonnelAdvisors@jdwetherspoon.co.uk

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Started as under 18 floor associate worked my way up to shift manager in 6 years"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good short term job Always overtime avaliable 50% food discount on shift 20% food discount off duty Free tea and coffee or squash Free food for managers

    Cons

    Very poor work life balance Pay is poor for how much is expected of you Bonus for entire pub depend on good mystery shopper scores (cqsma) , good stocks and sales possible for one person to mess up everyones bonus

    J D Wetherspoon2019-07-31

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    August 21, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review.

  6. "fine"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Better pay than most bars

    Cons

    bad work/life balance but comes with this work

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-30
  7. "No work life balance"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receptionist in Huntingdon and Peterborough, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, bonus each month

    Cons

    No consistency with shifts, no work life balance

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-25
  8. "Okay in-between job"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Can usually get the time wanted off

    Cons

    Work life balance is hard

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-24
  9. "Shift Manager/Duty Manager Review"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager in Mold, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Management feeding on shifts The Management Academy training is great Good/ fast career progression Met some great friends over the years Feel like the company is starting to improve with regards to work/life balance but still a long way to go!

    Cons

    As mentioned above, I do feel like the work/life balance is, albeit, slowly improving however we are still a long way off. Long hours, no management breaks and increasing administration is a problem in a lot of pubs especially Suburb pubs where hours do not permit. Increasing work load from Head Office/Area Management/Regional Management is a problem whilst saving hours and cutting costs. No additional pay or benefits for managers working very early mornings (some 4/5/6am starts) or past midnight. Very hard to get into Retail Auditing/Regional Training/Area Management. There is no clear training development scheme to get into this.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-21
  10. "Awful"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Leader in Nottingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There’s none. Literally not one

    Cons

    No proper training, treated like slaves, no work life balance

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-07-05
Found 69 reviews