J D Wetherspoon Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 11 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
66%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO and Director John Hutson
John Hutson
677 Ratings

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "not the worst, not the best job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good benefits, not a bad job at all for young people wanting to start a career

    Cons

    very hard work. work/life balance isn't the best.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-14
  2. "Spoons"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Free food Busy Fun Good for meeting people Discount Shares

    Cons

    Hours Late finishes Poor upper management Abuse by customers Work life balance

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-11

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    It’s great to know that the things we have invested in such as shares and employee discount are valued. However, there are some points you have raised which we would like to look into further. Please get in touch by contacting us @ PersonnelAdvisors@jdwetherspoon.co.uk

  3. "Could be better"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Make decent friends, have a good laugh

    Cons

    Pay is awful, there is no work life balance. Expecting to drop everything for them. 90+ hours a week, no progression no matter how long or hard you work,

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-10

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Sorry to hear you did not have a great experience. There are some points you have raised which we would like to look into further. Please get in touch by contacting us @ PersonnelAdvisors@jdwetherspoon.co.uk

  4. "A good starting point"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Learnt a lot about customer service, gained a lot of confidence

    Cons

    Work life balance was non existent

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-09
  5. "Unfairness throughout"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Job stability Well paid Good friends to be made

    Cons

    Never stick to their policies Unloyal Poor breaks No well being No work life balance

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-27
  6. "Signing Your Soul Away"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Staff in Bletchley, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    The pay is quite decent 50% off on breaks 20% off out of work hours Supportive co-workers

    Cons

    Wetherspoons have a HIGH rating of start and leave and this is very understandable to me after working there. I had one manager who was extremely caring towards me and someone who wasn’t a manager, just a shift leader who thought she was better than Just the general kitchen staff even though we all were doing the same job. I asked for full time and I’m thankful that I didn’t get full time because what I did get ended up being way too much for me to take. Singing that contract is like signing your life away, they don’t care about a work-life balance. They want your whole life to be about accommodating them. Back to the shift leaders - They are really rude and patronising. I hated the way one of them treated me talking to me like I’m dumb and less than her. You also get in trouble for wanting to change your hours, they will put you on the same job for hours which could be potwash and don’t let you do other things. They will then tell you if you complain that everyone has to do it and it’s not just you but you will notice a pattern of the Jobs they give you. Management also talk about the other employees. You are only allowed a 30 minute break and if you smoke that includes getting out of your kitchen uniform for health and safety purposes but other management will go about three cigarettes within a 2 hour period and wear their uniform. There has to be rules that everyone follows otherwise it defeats its purpose and it’s unfair. Another thing is health and safety - They use the same tongs and oil for the vegan chicken as they do with normal chicken which is disrespectful towards vegans. You are overworked and sometimes are not allowed your break and you have to ask which sometimes they will tell you no and then 30 minutes later take an extra break. Themselves. I would say do not work here. you will become depressed

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-24
  7. "Working for spoons"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discounts are always a plus on already cheap drinks and you can progress quickly

    Cons

    Being given unrealistic targets to hit with regards to hour usage Stressful hours that are often unsociable Work life balance.... What's that? Having to deal with abuse from the public and it being brushed off as if its okay.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-28

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. If you would like to discuss further the points you have raised, please get in touch by contacting us @ PersonnelAdvisors@jdwetherspoon.co.uk

  8. "Good people terrible treatment"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bartender 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everybody is relatively friendly and you get discount food

    Cons

    How this company can pay less than minimum wage in the trial period is a joke. Rotas are finalised a week in advance so no work life balance at all. Seem to be constantly short staffed and under pressure.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-16
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Bar and floor assosciate"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar/Floor Associate in Tamworth, England

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay The job itself can be quite fun and rewarding

    Cons

    The way management speaks to you can be very demoralizing I don't believe there is a way to work up the career ladder quickly at all Work life balance is not taken into account

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-02-18

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    March 5, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    It is good to hear that you find your pub a great place to work. You can find out more about our training and apprenticeship programmes and how to progress on myJDW. Good luck.

  10. "Decent job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Pay Discounted drink and food Strategic career ladder

    Cons

    Managers can be abrupt Hardly any Work/Life Balance Rarely get a full break

    J D Wetherspoon2019-02-01

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    February 12, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thanks for the feedback please speak to one of the pub management team or contact us @ pay@jdwetherspoon.co.uk about your breaks.

Found 69 reviews