J D Wetherspoon "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J D Wetherspoon Reviews

Updated 13 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1182 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
483 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Kitchen Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate in Saint Neots, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discounts on food and drink are very nice to have, 50% on shift 20% not on shift Extra shifts are freely available as very understaffed

    Cons

    Extremely short staffed, Almost no training. Unsocial hours Little to no work life balance Very little opportunity to progress Some very rude managers

    Advice to Management

    Hire more staff and treat the staff you already have better.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-03-28
  2. "Charaxter builsing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Associate in Castleford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with like-minded, friendly people and building good internal friendships. Almost always busy, can never be bored. Discounts both on and off shift. Giftcard incentives (per pub). Good team building and skill building opportunity.

    Cons

    Shift patterns can be all over the place. Pressure on busy shifts. Work/life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up. The managers are excellent and work hard to keep things running smoothly.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-03-30
  3. "Tiring work but good friends made"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Associate in Sleaford, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Usually lots of opportunities for extra work (i.e. covering shifts etc.) Made loads of great friends working there

    Cons

    Long shifts can be very tiring Some members of management can be awful at times You need to be very firm (in the example of a disability / injury / illness) with what you can and can't do. Some members of management make you come in even if you're ill, and then you turn up and you're sent home again because you're ill (???). Bonus is okay but can be very small if you only work part-time. Work/life balance...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff, and communicate with them. If they're ill, they're ill - don't make them come in anyway just to send them home again.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-03-13
  4. "Not worth it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Discounted food on breaks Most colleagues do their outmost to help you when times are tough

    Cons

    Awful Pay Terrible Work/Life Balance Unsociable Hours Unfair Management Ridiculous Expectations

    Advice to Management

    Actually treat your staff with some respect. If someone is ill don’t pester them with phone calls asking what’s wrong with them. If someone needs time off, give it to them and actually remember that people have a life outside of work. Oh and actually pay us for all the cleaning we have to do at the end of the night.

    J D Wetherspoon2017-11-15

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 28, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    We’re sorry to hear that Wetherspoon wasn’t for you and hope that you find a role that better suits you

  5. Helpful (2)

    "If you’re not “in” it you get pushed a side"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Training scheme Bonus Scheme additional benefits; childcare vouchers, discount on food and drinks on and off shift. GMH contracts for non salaried staff.

    Cons

    No work life balance. No overtime for salaried staff. Unrealistic expectations One rule for one another for another.

    Advice to Management

    Being micro managed who is inconsistent on what is wanted so therefore completing a task or several but then mind changes halfway through. A lot of time wasted on indecisiveness. No added support to create a happy work life balance. If you are not part of the “groupie” then be prepared to be pushed a side and not advance in your career possibly suffer being Managed instead for all the hard work that makes other people...

    Show More
    J D Wetherspoon2017-11-09

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 28, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your review. All comments will be discussed further in our weekly meetings.

  6. "Kitchen Assistant/Kitchen associate full time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    Good banter in the kitchen, 50% discount on food and soft drinks on shift, 30% discount on F&D off-shift

    Cons

    Long hours, bad break scheduling, crazy changing between early and late shifts, impossible to have a decent work/life balance, too many managers.

    J D Wetherspoon2017-11-02

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 28, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your feedback

  7. "Bartending For Beginners"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Great starter job for people who've not worked in bars or restaurants before, allowing them to learn the basics of customer service and food/drink preparation and service.

    Cons

    Over micromanagement of employees, poor shift attendances for staff leading to frequent late night/early morning phone calls for shifts being covered, causing poor motivation and work-life balance in employees.

    Advice to Management

    Scrapping management phrases of "If you can lean you can clean" and allowing staff to maintain a good report with both young and old regular customers at the cost of "cost-effective" time restrictions on service times and interactions outside of busy periods entices both staff and customers to return or be punctual.

    J D Wetherspoon2017-07-18

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    August 1, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your review. All comments will be discussed further in our weekly meetings

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Its pepsi is that ok?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager in Derby, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great discount, Great people, good Banter in a good team and excellent career prospects, almost all promotion is internal, listen to employees. upper managemant communication.

    Cons

    Poor work life balance, the managers saleried 45 hour week whilst it sounds nice has never been close to a reality, hard to achieve company KPI's

    Advice to Management

    Carry on doing what you are doing, but when we are 20 hours over consistently its not because we are taking it easy for 20 hours per week but its because we need those 20 hours to run the pub

    J D Wetherspoon2017-06-13
  9. "Job security is up there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Duty Manager Mod II in Lincoln, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free shares, control your own training, flexible with hours, structure, bonuses, you don't have to be robotic, you're encouraged to show your personality

    Cons

    Sometimes work load can be too much, low staff levels, schedule is always changing so you don't always know when you are working which makes it hard to have that work life balance

    Advice to Management

    Promote a shift leader for every duty manager and buddy them up to improve strength on shift

    J D Wetherspoon2017-05-07

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 23, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your review. All comments will be discussed further in our weekly meetings.

  10. "Great as a student!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in Leicester, England

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    Lots of flexibility with shifts Good staff discount

    Cons

    Whilst working here I enjoyed my time however at times there was a lack of organisation. There we're times when the rota had changed and I hadn't be notified of the update which made the work-life balance difficult at times.

    J D Wetherspoon2017-03-26
Found 1182 reviews