J D Wetherspoon Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 11 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
66%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO and Director John Hutson
John Hutson
676 Ratings

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Feedback"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Putney, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay bonus training food drink

    Cons

    Staff busy condition work life balance

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-02-03

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    February 12, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thanks for the feedback.

  2. "good company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    bonuses, free shares, free meal on shift

    Cons

    long hours, shift work, no work life balance

    J D Wetherspoon2019-01-15

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    January 22, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review

  3. "Work hard, nasty customers, late nights"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Team effort, good friends drinks after work

    Cons

    Little work life balance. Rota changes too much

    J D Wetherspoon2019-01-22
  4. "Shift Leader"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Good bonuses for just doing your job right, opportunity for progression, fair pay

    Cons

    Work/life balance, long shifts, no cap on working hours unlike duty/pub managers

    J D Wetherspoon2018-12-13

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    December 18, 2018Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for the positive feedback. We will discuss your review in our weekly meetings.

  5. Helpful (2)

    "Head office"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Staff, sort of like a very disfunctional family. Room for progression (but only if you’re bar staff... KM is the top for kitchen staff)

    Cons

    There are never enough hours. It’s great we are paying staff more but that has to come from somewhere... the hours. It’s so hard to actually accomplish anything within your set hours. No work life balance at all.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2018-11-16

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 20, 2018Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, your feedback will be discussed in our weekly meetings, and I would encourage you to give feedback directly to your pub manager or Area manager if you think there are improvements to be made at a pub level.

  6. "Just don't do it."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Literally occasionally the people you work with.

    Cons

    Pretty much everything. Stressed management. Management who don't listen to anything. Unsocial hours. No work/life balance.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2018-11-25

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 28, 2018Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. All comments will be discussed further in our weekly meetings. We’re sorry to hear that Wetherspoon wasn’t for you and hope that you find a role that better suits you.

  7. "Full TIme"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    - Good Pay - Friendly team, approachable management

    Cons

    - Work life balance - Very busy

    J D Wetherspoon2018-10-10

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    October 23, 2018Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thanks for your feedback.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good opportunities"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of chance for progression and extra hours. Break times adhered to strictly

    Cons

    Long close downs. Work life balance

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2018-08-07
  9. "Good"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay Fun environment- staff nights out, interesting people Discount is useful

    Cons

    Long hours and late nights often with little sleep in between Lack of work life balance because of the late nights.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2018-05-25
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Tiring"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Good discounts on food and drinks

    Cons

    Long hours No Work/Life Balance

    J D Wetherspoon2018-05-07
Found 69 reviews