J D Wetherspoon Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 11 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
66%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO and Director John Hutson
John Hutson
677 Ratings

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Weatherspoons metropolitan pub"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    Great friends maded great banter between a few people lots of customers make me laugh while on shift pub manager at metropolitan bakers street cares the most and showed me a few tricks that he's learned over the years of running pubs

    Cons

    Team leaders one who I won't name but if management want to discuss this futher please feel free get to pushy and demanding managers in the pub need to be the floor more Stressful Long hours Staff food which we have to pay for Zero work life balance

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2018-05-07

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 16, 2018Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your feedback, all comments are discussed at our weekly meetings. We would really like to discuss the matter further if you could call and speak to a member of the recruitment team at head office,

  2. Helpful (1)

    "An ok employer, struggles to look after staff, will have huge difference in experience based on the venue you end up at."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager in Willenhall, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good management training system Internal opportunity for progression always available Offer university courses Structured expectations can make the workload easier

    Cons

    Don’t usually get much say when your being transferred Money for the workload is pretty poor They reduced the hours in the contract to improve work life balance but in reality you are always there longer than your rotary

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2018-04-12
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Former Bar Associate"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in March, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    2 days off each week Staff discount on/off shift meet a range of different people

    Cons

    Irregular hours Expected to carry burning/heavy plates lack of duty of care long hours on your feet no work/life balance as people were always being asked to work later

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2018-04-09
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Kitchen Staff"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate in Saint Neots, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discounts on food and drink are very nice to have, 50% on shift 20% not on shift Extra shifts are freely available as very understaffed

    Cons

    Extremely short staffed, Almost no training. Unsocial hours Little to no work life balance Very little opportunity to progress Some very rude managers

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2018-03-28
  5. "Charaxter builsing"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Associate in Castleford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with like-minded, friendly people and building good internal friendships. Almost always busy, can never be bored. Discounts both on and off shift. Giftcard incentives (per pub). Good team building and skill building opportunity.

    Cons

    Shift patterns can be all over the place. Pressure on busy shifts. Work/life balance.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2018-03-30
  6. "Tiring work but good friends made"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Associate in Sleaford, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Usually lots of opportunities for extra work (i.e. covering shifts etc.) Made loads of great friends working there

    Cons

    Long shifts can be very tiring Some members of management can be awful at times You need to be very firm (in the example of a disability / injury / illness) with what you can and can't do. Some members of management make you come in even if you're ill, and then you turn up and you're sent home again because you're ill (???). Bonus is okay but can be very small if you only work part-time. Work/life balance is horrendous, simply. I work and go to university and there has been times where I've been scheduled in when I'm at university, so then it's been a hassle to get that shift covered when it shouldn't be up to me.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2018-03-13
  7. "Not worth it."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Discounted food on breaks Most colleagues do their outmost to help you when times are tough

    Cons

    Awful Pay Terrible Work/Life Balance Unsociable Hours Unfair Management Ridiculous Expectations

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2017-11-15

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 28, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    We’re sorry to hear that Wetherspoon wasn’t for you and hope that you find a role that better suits you

  8. Helpful (2)

    "If you’re not “in” it you get pushed a side"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Training scheme Bonus Scheme additional benefits; childcare vouchers, discount on food and drinks on and off shift. GMH contracts for non salaried staff.

    Cons

    No work life balance. No overtime for salaried staff. Unrealistic expectations One rule for one another for another.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2017-11-09

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 28, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your review. All comments will be discussed further in our weekly meetings.

  9. "Kitchen Assistant/Kitchen associate full time"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    Good banter in the kitchen, 50% discount on food and soft drinks on shift, 30% discount on F&D off-shift

    Cons

    Long hours, bad break scheduling, crazy changing between early and late shifts, impossible to have a decent work/life balance, too many managers.

    J D Wetherspoon2017-11-02

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 28, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your feedback

  10. "Bartending For Beginners"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Great starter job for people who've not worked in bars or restaurants before, allowing them to learn the basics of customer service and food/drink preparation and service.

    Cons

    Over micromanagement of employees, poor shift attendances for staff leading to frequent late night/early morning phone calls for shifts being covered, causing poor motivation and work-life balance in employees.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2017-07-18

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    August 1, 2017Recruitment CoOrdinator

    Thank you for your review. All comments will be discussed further in our weekly meetings

Found 69 reviews