J.P. Morgan City of London Reviews

Updated 22 Apr 2016

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great company, great people.

    7 Jan 2011 - Operations Summer Analyst in City of London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The whole experience was very positive, everyone on my team was supportive and always available for my questions and issues. The facilities are excellent, the location is great, the management is always friendly and open. I could easily chat with someone who is 2 or 3 tiers above me.

    Cons

    Hard to say, I suppose that the salaries are lower than what I have heard from some other interns at other banks, but I don't see any other negative points.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Overall - proud, rewarding, great peers, very hard working

    26 Jan 2012 - Risk Management I T Project Manager in City of London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1. High salary. Excellent Health Care, excellent pension scheme, benefits package. 2. Great peer working relationships 3. Interesting projects, learning on the job opportunities, good training options

    Cons

    1. Lack of exposure to Senior Management. Management struggle to find time to listen 2. Blame culture. Silos's still exist. 3. 'Jack of all trades' perception in job title prevents acceptance of and dedication to specific skillets i.e. Project Management. In this example, BA's tend to get lumped with PM role, which impacts delivery (negatively). JPM should go back to separating roles and responsibilities. They have the funds to allow this!!

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    High turnover of I.T. staff in London

    22 Apr 2016 - Applications Developer in City of London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Very good work/life balance - Satisfactory compensation - Business generally happy with products delivered. - Little firefighting

    Cons

    - The past few years have seen a heavy restructuring of teams. Many people have come and gone at both senior and junior levels. My manager has changed several times and so have their managers and so on. - Difficult promotion process that relies on juniors really needing to get to know a handful of seniors who might ordinarily be too busy or too new to understand what's going on. - No mentoring or professional development plan. Appraisal system has had empty objectives for the past few years. - Technology 5-10 years behind but the managers don't know it and are reluctant to change. - Very heavy management hierarchy with reporting lines spread across the globe and poor communication and relationships from top down.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Three months in, very positive

    12 Dec 2010 - Lead Engineer in City of London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    From the get go, I've worked very closely with senior management (MDs and EDs) and been involved in strategy. It feels like people want me to succeed.

    Cons

    Being a huge corporation, sometimes things are a bit disorganized. It takes a while to get infrastructure set up and support can be a pain.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Supportive

    31 Jan 2011 - Analyst in City of London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Team work, interaction with seniors, you know you are working in one of the banks that faced the crisis very well

    Cons

    Slow progress at the junior levels, and in Technology, not much invested in people. Disproportionate disparity in Technology staff versus front office leading to attrition

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee

    not what its says on the tin

    31 Oct 2011 -  in City of London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good brand name Best Investment bank

    Cons

    Lots of promises made, often not carried through with Moving to canary Wharf

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Intern, less than 1 year

    An extreme IB experience

    22 Aug 2012 - Investment Banking Analyst in City of London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Super for your CV (probably more impressive then other banks) Very well paid High exposure

    Cons

    Very strong hierarchy Not much room for ideas from the bottom Way too much work By comparing our experiences with some friends JP probably extremises pros and cons of the typical IB

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Hard work, intelligent people.

    2 Feb 2011 -  in City of London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working with the best in the business, not arrogant, focused on success, always striving to be better and great learning environment.

    Cons

    Long hours, high pressure environment

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Not a bad place to work for

    3 Feb 2011 -  in City of London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good brand name Good corporate culture

    Cons

    Too many meetings There are meetings to discuss meetings and meetings to setup meetings.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Tough but honest company to work for

    6 Sep 2012 - Human Resource in City of London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great American spirit - success is all within reach

    Cons

    investment banking culture which means challenging staff loyalty issues - especially for junior staff

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 12 Reviews

Work at J.P. Morgan? Share Your Experiences

J.P. Morgan logo
or