J Sainsbury Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J Sainsbury Reviews

Updated 28 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
J Sainsbury CEO Mike Coupe
Mike Coupe
1,364 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay & many different hours available(in 440 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours and colleagues are supportive(in 157 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours and often stressful as everyone must be multi skilled(in 147 reviews)

  • "When the company got rid of team leaders there is very little room for career progression(in 134 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Part time checkout assisstant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Checkout Assistant in King's Lynn, England

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They provided competitive wage. Co-workers were supportive and good atmosphere. Good benefits.

    Cons

    There were no downsides to working at Sainsburys.

    J Sainsbury2020-02-04
  2. "Great place to work, exciting industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J Sainsbury full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Exciting industry, fast paced environment. Relexaed, friendly culture and employees. Everyone treated very fairly, given autonomy to get things done.

    Cons

    Large organisation so decision making process can be slow, not as agile as we could be.

    J Sainsbury2020-02-28
  3. "Good work whilst student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time

    Pros

    Interaction with customers and a social employment

    Cons

    The job would ask for more hours when I was studying

    J Sainsbury2020-02-28
  4. "Online Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Online Assistant in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Great colleagues -Management were very friendly -Plenty of overtime

    Cons

    -Early hours -Job and tasks can be monotonous

    J Sainsbury2020-02-27
  5. "brilliant pay and hours mind numbing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Counter Assistant in Barnwood, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J Sainsbury part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    brilliant pay brilliant hours brilliant people to work with all ages good manager

    Cons

    mind numbing team leader made life difficult very group centred

    J Sainsbury2020-02-27
  6. "Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Service in Loughborough, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J Sainsbury part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great for students due to flexibility Overtime tends to be available

    Cons

    Management pick and choose when to help you regarding issues Issues arent dealt with straight away almost ever

    Continue reading
    J Sainsbury2020-02-25
  7. "Not bad, all in all"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Supervisor in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    lots of skills learnt in order to run the business

    Cons

    Promotion more likely if you’re a yes man

    J Sainsbury2020-02-25
  8. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Groceries Online Shopper in Truro, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Surrounded by a great team of driven individuals

    Cons

    Hard to balance early hours (04:00-09:00) with university studies

    J Sainsbury2020-02-24
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trading Assistant in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J Sainsbury full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Always loved working at Sainsburys, honestly I’ve had a lot of jobs in the past but this one I’ve stuck with - I’m currently on my way to becoming a CTM which is another great factor it’s a great way to enhance yourself and develop

    Cons

    It can sometimes be a bit deflating with angry customers and Managers can also be hard to get along with but that comes with life so it not usually anything to seriously worry about

    Continue reading
    J Sainsbury2020-02-24
  10. "Great hourly pay!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Retail Associate in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J Sainsbury part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay is great at £9.20 much more than most supermarkets and this is for all colleagues including those 16-24

    Cons

    Stores can be very busy so sometimes it is needed for you to take up a lot of overtime especially at peak times over summer and Christmas

    J Sainsbury2020-02-24

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 4234 reviews