J Sainsbury "team leaders" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

J Sainsbury Employee Reviews about "team leaders"

Updated 27 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
J Sainsbury CEO Mike Coupe
Mike Coupe
1,395 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay & many different hours available(in 440 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours and colleagues are supportive(in 157 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours and often stressful as everyone must be multi skilled(in 147 reviews)

  • "When the company got rid of team leaders there is very little room for career progression(in 134 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "team leaders"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "improve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSA in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    always enjoyable place for me .love to work in there.manager and area manager are always good.

    Cons

    team leader are horrible. always bad behaviour. seem very power full more then manager lol

    Continue reading
    J Sainsbury2019-03-25
  2. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Wellesbourne Hastings, England

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy to understand training. Lovely staff. Good pay.

    Cons

    My store had some management issues, too many 'team leaders' standing around not doing anything. Overtime issues. Managers gave out too many overtime hours, making some days very over-staffed.

    J Sainsbury2020-01-27
  3. "Positive but the workload can be large"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer & Trading Manager in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J Sainsbury full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A great people focussed company with good progression and training opportunities.

    Cons

    The amount of work a shift manager will get is fairly large due to no in store HR managers and no team leaders.

    J Sainsbury2019-11-14
  4. "Easy work/Terrible Team Leaders"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Online Assistant in Huddersfield, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very simple job objectives Friendly colleagues You can listen to music in your ears whilst working

    Cons

    Too much negativity on the speed of shopping Team leaders are extremely poor at team leading, with an inability to sympathise

    Continue reading
    J Sainsbury2019-10-31
  5. "Good pay, terrible management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Night Shift in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great pay. Good benefits. Plays well with unions.

    Cons

    Bad management. Shake up of hierarchy removed team-leaders and created an atrocious system of pseudo-management which creates large amounts of stress and creates "Managers" who really shouldn't be in management. Absolutely terrible RTW policies.

    Continue reading
    J Sainsbury2019-10-21
  6. "Worked too hard, for too little pay and no appreciation from managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Counter Assistant in Coventry, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Fantastic colleagues - Build up customer services skills

    Cons

    - Too much is expected of staff for too little - Understaffed all the time due to a high turnover caused by poor treatment of employee's - Expect staff to be multi-skilled and flexible to suit the needs of the company - Opportunities to progress in a career were removed with the restructure (i.e when they fired all the team leaders and managers) - Low job security - They're willing to fire all their staff to restructure a company. Honestly choose any other company but this one! - Frequently stay after your shift due to under-staffing during busy periods

    Continue reading
    J Sainsbury2019-11-10
  7. "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Service Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay is good for young students part timr

    Cons

    Everything apart from the pay. Managers are very biased based upon favourite colleagues. Seem to be incapable of ever having enough staff in. Management Connor be contacted when needed, many queries are ignored. Impossible to get full time hours, overtime is unfairly distributed and regular overtime worked is not filtered into holiday hours. No opportunities to progress or be trained in team leader management roles etc

    J Sainsbury2019-09-13
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Warning to pregnant women"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cafe Assistant in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay was reasonable

    Cons

    As soon as my managers found out I was pregnant it all went downhill. I was bullied by a former team leader who would make comments such as “what are you doing here?” “How old are you again?” Was asked every shift when my pregnancy was mentioned to highlight I was a younger soon to be mum and I was singled out in so many ways such as saying hello/bye to everyone but me and getting a drink of water for everyone but me. She tainted both cafe managers view of me because they where very pally pally together and felt I had none to talk to. I was so worried to come into work.

    Continue reading
    J Sainsbury2019-10-01
  9. "Sainsbury’s"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Assistant in Huddersfield, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Teamwork enjoyable good working conditions good hours

    Cons

    The recent shake up less managers and getting rid of team leaders

    Continue reading
    J Sainsbury2019-09-03
  10. "Don't underestimate the early morings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Online Shopper in Warlingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J Sainsbury full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Staffcard with 10% off after 6 months. Fit around family commitments.

    Cons

    Very early start - 4am mostly. Does become very boring. Constantly being monitored for speed New management structure got rid of team leaders and merged some management roles and so many very experienced staff have left. New ones are not very good

    Continue reading
    J Sainsbury2019-08-21

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 134 reviews