J Sainsbury Employee Reviews about "team leaders"

Updated Jan 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 142 of over 6,828 reviews

3.7
67%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
J Sainsbury CEO Mike Coupe
Mike Coupe
2,101 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, lots of work around christmas(in 598 reviews)

  • "They offer flexible hours to workers(in 194 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours and lack of diversity(in 180 reviews)

  • "Some team leaders can be bullies if you slack(in 142 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "team leaders"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      improve

      Mar 25, 2019 - CSA in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      always enjoyable place for me .love to work in there.manager and area manager are always good.

      Cons

      team leader are horrible. always bad behaviour. seem very power full more then manager lol

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Work

      Jan 13, 2021 - Retail Assistant in Christchurch, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Discount at Sainsburys & argos

      Cons

      A lot expected now the team leaders have gone

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee

      .

      Dec 11, 2020 - Customer Services Assistant in Belfast, Northern Ireland, Northern Ireland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Rate of pay, share save scheme

      Cons

      Failed ASDA merger, overhaul of roles ( Team LEaders)

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Nice work

      Dec 15, 2020 - Online Shopper 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      No one bothers you. Just be on target and shop away.

      Cons

      Some team leaders can be bullies if you slack.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Very on and off

      Oct 30, 2020 - Convenience Customer Assistant in Limehouse, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Had a decent team most of the time. I transferred stores twice in the 4 years I worked for this company which was an easy to do process. Staff discount sometimes went up to 20% for special occasions. Some store managers were very supportive. Great team and company events. The company event was sadly scrapped by the incompetent CEO Mr Coupe.

      Cons

      There was an extreme lack of diversity in two of the stores that I worked in. The first store I worked in were all of middle eastern ethnicity with no other ethnic groups present in the workplace. It was also very male dominated. Being a female in a male dominated workplace, I was subject to a lot of sexism. I was denied doing jobs on the shop floor because as a weak female, I was apparently incapable of unloading cages to stack the shelves and was always confined to the tills. One team leader even took a male colleague off the tills and said "get off there, this is a ladies job" as he pointed at me. Of course, nothing was done about this. I had a racist store manager who only hired individuals that matched her ethnic background (Bangladeshi). She refused to hire anybody from any other background and often picked on me, probably because I am Caucasian. This manager also expressed disdain at celebrating Christmas in the UK. I was perved on by one of the team leaders and nothing was done about it. It resulted in me transferring stores once again. The confidential hotline was a joke. You would use it when you were having problems and felt like you could not talk to your store manager, but nothing would get done. I was selected to be the "great place to work" rep and was given zero guidance on my duties. Just attend the meetings is all I was told. I was then subject to ridicule for not being able to complete silly projects.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great fun, good team, good training

      Oct 14, 2020 - Bakery Assistant in Rugby, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun environment, good pay, make lots of friends, regular hours.

      Cons

      Cut down on managers and team leader caused some severe issues.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      An unrewarding job on so many levels.

      Aug 23, 2020 - Customer Assistant in Leeds, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I joined the company at a time when they were flourishing. This was reflected in the hourly rate being quite good for that time period, particularly as the work was not the most taxing mentally. The company is clearly open to staff who want to 'progress' through the company. At least at store level.

      Cons

      Where do I start? The level of competence from management at store level, was the worst I have experienced so far in my working life. For the first few years I worked there, they simple had too many managers, most of which offered nothing. Then we come to the 'bias' of said managers. All but one of the managers I had, exhibited a clear bias towards their 'friends' This often lead to said friends getting away with not performing to their expected workload, and that left excess work being forced on to others on the shift. Not only was this completely unfair, but it created shift performance problems at busy times of year, i.e Christmas. If you ever had any concerns with regards your job or a member of staff, forget expressing these concerns. The management all had each others backs, and I experienced multiple occasions of staff being treated unfairly due to them making legitimate complaints concerning managers/team leaders. In a number of cases, they ended up feeling pressured into leaving the company.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Enjoyed it, but they rely too heavily on you.

      Jun 6, 2020 - Team Leader in Bangor, Northern Ireland, Northern Ireland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Worked with great people and enjoyed leading my team from the front.

      Cons

      Management rely too heavily on Team Leaders, most days you walking out of work late because you've been given a list as long as your arm along with your daily tasks.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Very busy but great team

      Mar 13, 2020 - Cafe Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company hires people who are capable of the job so I rarely felt like I was pulling someone else's weight. Pay above average for retail/service.

      Cons

      While I was there department managers lost jobs and team leaders suffered demotions and pay cutes, so a lot of people felt betrayed by a company which prides itself on being a responsible employer.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Place

      Jan 27, 2020 - Sales Assistant in Wellesbourne Hastings, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Easy to understand training. Lovely staff. Good pay.

      Cons

      My store had some management issues, too many 'team leaders' standing around not doing anything. Overtime issues. Managers gave out too many overtime hours, making some days very over-staffed.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 142 Reviews

    Popular Careers with J Sainsbury Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at J Sainsbury? Share Your Experiences

    J Sainsbury logo
    or