JD Sports Fashion Assistant Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for Assistant Manager

JD Sports Fashion Assistant Manager Reviews

Updated 27 Jan 2019

To filter reviews, or .

1.3
8%
Recommend to a Friend
11%
Approve of CEO
JD Sports Fashion CEO Peter Cowgill
Peter Cowgill
7 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JD Sports Fashion full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    One of the greatest things about working for JD Sports is the ability to progress and that it is open to everyone who puts in the effort and commitment. Only you will stop your self from achieving and with hard work, ambition and determination the sky is the limit.

    Cons

    Dealing with customer complaints when the nature of the complaint has nothing to do with your branch or staff, it lowers moral however with the correct people skills most situations can become a positive, if not it is always a learning curve as you are always adapting and learning new skills.

    Advice to Management

    One thing I have learnt within my time with the company is you need your staff more than they need you.

    JD Sports Fashion2015-09-18
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Most backward people strategy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at JD Sports Fashion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff discount, international opportunities

    Cons

    Honestly the worst corporate culture of any retailer I have worked for. They don’t let staff charge there phones in the store and make their staff rooms small and miserable. The communication from area managers loss control and other HO departments is negative, unhelpful and often downright rude. Managers are expected to work both days over the weekend as well as covering 6-7 days when another manager is on holiday.

    Advice to Management

    Look at how other retailers are looking after and developing their people rather than making their working environment super unpleasant.

    JD Sports Fashion2019-01-27
  3. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Sales Manager in Walkden, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at JD Sports Fashion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employee discount, engaging with customers

    Cons

    Snappy managers, didn't feel like I 'fit in' with the staff as they were very young. Very clicky staff.

    Advice to Management

    Have a level head and do not snap at your staff

    JD Sports Fashion2018-05-30
  4. "JD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Sales Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at JD Sports Fashion part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people working with you are all similar ages so easy to get along with

    Cons

    The company is basically run by children. No professionalism at all, they treat their staff with no respect and expect you to give them the world in return. I have never hated a job and the managers that worked there as much as JD. Plus even though my job title was Sales Assistant i was made to clean and act as security multiple times.

    Advice to Management

    Get a real training program. Pay your staff fairly. Employee more cleaners/security/maintenance workers so the sales assistants don't have to do things that aren't in their job descriptions.

    JD Sports Fashion2018-01-24
  5. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at JD Sports Fashion for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly people working for the business

    Cons

    Long hours for average pay

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up

    JD Sports Fashion2017-09-20
  6. "Poor Structure and Poor Practises"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at JD Sports Fashion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Discounts The Brand Available

    Cons

    No Structure Very Low Wage Budgets Demand Unrealistic By Higher Management No HR Structure

    JD Sports Fashion2017-10-17
  7. "Career changer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JD Sports Fashion full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fast paced environment with quick progression for staff. Good bonus scheme, loads of support for new managers

    Cons

    Long days, can be extremely demanding during peak trade. All the better to learn from!

    Advice to Management

    Invest more in managers who have been loyal to the company over the years. Review staff pay and look at introducing new strategies to engage staff all round

    JD Sports Fashion2017-08-15
  8. "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Store Manager/Associate Manager/Assistant Manager in Bury, South East England, England

    I have been working at JD Sports Fashion for more than a year

    Pros

    opportunities may appear frequently there

    Cons

    No time for Personal life

    JD Sports Fashion2016-08-11
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Worst job ever."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Burnley, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at JD Sports Fashion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hour dinner break. Laughable I know. ... Uhm that's it!! I have to finish a twenty word minimum... There we go.

    Cons

    Awful higher management. Low pay for the hours requested. Terrible training especially if you're new to fashion retail. No concept of disciplinary action, rude and unacceptable team members I was never allowed to give disaplinaries to, even after being told to f off by one of the guys in my team.

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to train your managers, and rest of the team for that matter. Also, ensure your employees aren't being treated like dirt.

    JD Sports Fashion2016-07-24
  10. "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Stoke-on-Trent, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at JD Sports Fashion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Products sell are generally top quality - large staff discount - occassionally get freebies as well from buyers incentives etc

    Cons

    Long hours, unpaid hours that are worked extra. Lack of communication. Lots of pressure to beat sales figures. Staff relations not the best

    Advice to Management

    Try to understand that sometimes the people arent actually in the shop to buy anything and we cannot sell to no one.

    JD Sports Fashion2016-04-06
Found 14 reviews