JD Sports Fashion "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

JD Sports Fashion Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated 15 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
JD Sports Fashion CEO Peter Cowgill
Peter Cowgill
222 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "You work extremely long hours with a colossal workload and you get paid the absolute minimum(in 47 reviews)

  • "Very low pay for the amount of work required from you(in 34 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JD Sports Fashion part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    very good all round experience

    Cons

    low salary and long hours

    JD Sports Fashion2019-10-07
  2. "Head Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Designer in Bury, North West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at JD Sports Fashion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team of people in the department.

    Cons

    Workload isn’t balanced. No flexible working. Long hours.

    JD Sports Fashion2019-09-11
  3. "Poor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at JD Sports Fashion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are none at all

    Cons

    Long hours and no pay for over time

    JD Sports Fashion2019-08-22
  4. "JD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Administrator in Wednesfield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at JD Sports Fashion part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good team, good staff, nice work environment

    Cons

    long hours, pay not great

    Advice to Management

    MORE ORGANISED

    JD Sports Fashion2019-08-01
  5. "5 star"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at JD Sports Fashion part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discount along with great team work and management

    Cons

    Long hours in a day

    Advice to Management

    Be more friendly and appreciative

    JD Sports Fashion2019-07-06
  6. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at JD Sports Fashion part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Weekly payment young and funny staff

    Cons

    Long hours and standing for long

    Advice to Management

    Increase payment

    JD Sports Fashion2019-06-25
  7. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at JD Sports Fashion part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    One of the main benefits of working at JD is of course the 25% discount of all JD stock and also Size. Personally, I was trained in all areas (Stockroom, Footwear, Textiles aka clothes section and Tills) is no two days were the same for me, I was always doing something different. Meet some pretty cool people

    Cons

    On your feet for long hours, having to look out and be aware of shoplifters (as if someone steals and there’s something you could’ve done to prevent it, you’ll never hear the end of it) and the pay isn’t the greatest.

    JD Sports Fashion2019-06-03
  8. "operative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operative in Rochdale, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JD Sports Fashion full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great people, decent money, warehouse

    Cons

    long hours, short breaks, picky management

    JD Sports Fashion2019-05-08
  9. "Amazing work environment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at JD Sports Fashion full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really enjoyed my 3 years at JD Sports! Amazing working environment and it was very upbeat with the amazing loud music! My collegues were extremely helpful and were great! We were a very young, bright, energetic and relatable team!

    Cons

    The hourly rate of pay must increase! You work extremely long hours with a colossal workload and you get paid the absolute minimum. They scrape the barrel for Sales Assistants and Supervisors! The managers are quite arrogant and stuck up. They take the advantage out of 16-20 year olds as they know we can't say much. The timetables need to be restructed!

    Advice to Management

    Other reviews have said it and I strongly agree: Employ excellent and well experienced managers! Not the first person who walks into the Interview Room. Please increase the hourly rate of pay.

    JD Sports Fashion2019-04-05
  10. "Great if you are a Sixth Form or University Student!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at JD Sports Fashion part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I really did enjoy my time working at JD. This was mostly due to the upbeat working environment. Some of the pros were: - Very lively working environment - Great music which gives tops of a already live environment - 25% Staff Discount - Very young and bright team - Great work culture

    Cons

    Unfortunately, these overtake the pros. Therefore, I can only give 3 stars. Here are the cons: - The hourly rate of pay is absolutely atrocious for the long hours you have to work - The hours are extremely long and irregular shift patterns cause huge errors - Sometimes, the stores were very understaffed - Huge workload due to the stores being understaffed - Managers take the advantage out of the younger... workers - Managers never listen to you and give you the most weird timetables even when you tell them you cannot work on Thursdays but they put you in for Thursdays - Some of the customers are really difficult. Some of them are criminals! - Huge staff turnover. One person only worked for a day and never came back hence why the employees who have been with JD for a long time are made slaves by the managers -Black Fridays and Boxing Days are lethal. I had to work from 8am-8pm one Boxing Day - Too much overtime - Really affects your social life - No training. Only some basic training - No career progression. Your lucky if they consider internal growth

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please listen! The HR team need to completely change and the strategies must change as well. Increase hourly pay for everyone. Employ managers carefully and well experienced managers not the first person who walks into the Interview Room. Give people permanent timetables not changing them last minute. Hire a mix of part time and full time employees not just part time employees. Stop using 16-20 year olds as slaves.... Just because we are inexperienced and we cannot say much it does not mean the managers treat us differently and take the advantage out of that. Some people put JD before their lives, your sales floor team are important assets to the company. Invest in our employees and motivate them with the chance of Career Progression.

    Show More
    JD Sports Fashion2019-04-01
Found 677 reviews