JD Sports Fashion "staff discount" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

JD Sports Fashion Employee Reviews about "staff discount"

Updated 21 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
38%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
JD Sports Fashion CEO Peter Cowgill
Peter Cowgill
222 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "You work extremely long hours with a colossal workload and you get paid the absolute minimum(in 47 reviews)

  • "Very low pay for the amount of work required from you(in 34 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "staff discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great for a short time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JD Sports Fashion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff discount, dinamic environment, people you meet, confortable uniform.

    Cons

    Sales terms can be very stressful specially Christmas, the pressure about targets coming from head office, dealing with customers complains, full shift at the till, salary when you promote, cleanliness of the shop floor.

    JD Sports Fashion2019-09-29
  2. "Waste of time, no development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Wales, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at JD Sports Fashion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff Discount was okay, but limited

    Cons

    Poor Salary - Even worse for staff members No support when asked for New to business and left to figure things out without guidance Staff were supportive but budget to recruit was awful Completely avoid the company if you have been a manager previously, no progression

    Advice to Management

    Support your team, have more than one manager in store, stop treating supervisors as managers unless your going to pay them the salary they deserve

    JD Sports Fashion2019-09-23
  3. "Poor company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Portsmouth, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at JD Sports Fashion full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Staff discount which is 25%

    Cons

    Avoid at all cost, poor management They do not care about their staff Expect unpaid overtime The lost hoes on...

    JD Sports Fashion2019-08-15
  4. "A company that hates its staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JD Sports Fashion full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The staff discount is quite generous across the JD owned businesses (lots of them)

    Cons

    Low wage, no sick pay, lack of bereavement, an automatic holiday application system that denies you if 1 other member of staff has it off, regularly keep you over your shift finishing time without pay.

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees like breathing living humans

    JD Sports Fashion2019-07-16
  5. "Amazing experience for young people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in London, England

    I have been working at JD Sports Fashion part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    fun for young people, 25% staff discount

    Cons

    pay not as good compared to others

    JD Sports Fashion2019-06-01
  6. "JD sports review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at JD Sports Fashion part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great staff discount, good for a student who is in need of that extra bit of money

    Cons

    Extra hours availability, management need to learn how to talk to their staff

    JD Sports Fashion2019-05-21
  7. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JD Sports Fashion full-time

    Pros

    Talented staff, staff discount, opportunities to progress

    Cons

    Parking, lack of space at HO

    JD Sports Fashion2019-05-09
  8. "Great if you are a Sixth Form or University Student!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at JD Sports Fashion part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I really did enjoy my time working at JD. This was mostly due to the upbeat working environment. Some of the pros were: - Very lively working environment - Great music which gives tops of a already live environment - 25% Staff Discount - Very young and bright team - Great work culture

    Cons

    Unfortunately, these overtake the pros. Therefore, I can only give 3 stars. Here are the cons: - The hourly rate of pay is absolutely atrocious for the long hours you have to work - The hours are extremely long and irregular shift patterns cause huge errors - Sometimes, the stores were very understaffed - Huge workload due to the stores being understaffed - Managers take the advantage out of the younger... workers - Managers never listen to you and give you the most weird timetables even when you tell them you cannot work on Thursdays but they put you in for Thursdays - Some of the customers are really difficult. Some of them are criminals! - Huge staff turnover. One person only worked for a day and never came back hence why the employees who have been with JD for a long time are made slaves by the managers -Black Fridays and Boxing Days are lethal. I had to work from 8am-8pm one Boxing Day - Too much overtime - Really affects your social life - No training. Only some basic training - No career progression. Your lucky if they consider internal growth

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please listen! The HR team need to completely change and the strategies must change as well. Increase hourly pay for everyone. Employ managers carefully and well experienced managers not the first person who walks into the Interview Room. Give people permanent timetables not changing them last minute. Hire a mix of part time and full time employees not just part time employees. Stop using 16-20 year olds as slaves.... Just because we are inexperienced and we cannot say much it does not mean the managers treat us differently and take the advantage out of that. Some people put JD before their lives, your sales floor team are important assets to the company. Invest in our employees and motivate them with the chance of Career Progression.

    Show More
    JD Sports Fashion2019-04-01
  9. "Decent as a first job, won’t be here forever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at JD Sports Fashion part-time

    Pros

    25% staff discount friendly work environment most managers are nice and easy to get on with have made great friends

    Cons

    sometimes my availability is ignored when I have school and exams holiday requests can be denied even if you’ve booked it pay is very poor, especially for under 18s

    JD Sports Fashion2019-03-28
  10. "This job may take over your life..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - In-store Merchandiser 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JD Sports Fashion full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Career progression. - Staff discount. - Flexible shift changes. - Staff are some of the best people you will ever work with.

    Cons

    - Salary for this position in particular is very poor, nowhere near what it should be. - Salary in this company isn’t great. - Hardly ever feel appreciated for hard work. - Lack of training for new starters.

    Advice to Management

    There are a lot of JD employees out there that put this job before their life. They simply do not get paid enough for their commitment to their job. Some don’t even get paid for their extra hours, but without these employees, the company wouldn’t be where it is now.

    JD Sports Fashion2019-03-18
Found 683 reviews