JD Williams Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

JD Williams Reviews

Updated Jul 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
47%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
JD Williams CEO Angela Spindler
Angela Spindler
20 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people , great facilities good fun(in 4 reviews)

  • "It was the first place I worked in Manchester when I moved here alone and I made friends for life(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "New CEO and management team completely out of their depth and destroying what was once a great company(in 3 reviews)

  • "You lose the lot if your returns are over 50% The average company returns are 60%(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Life at jd williams"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Adv in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at JD Williams full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people , great facilities good fun

    Cons

    None , can’t think of any negatives

    Advice to Management

    None

    JD Williams2019-04-30
  2. "J d w"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Campaign Manager 

    I worked at JD Williams full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Central location in Manchester centre

    Cons

    No opportunity to progress and poor pay

    JD Williams2019-07-21
  3. "Not as great as you may think"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Buyer in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at JD Williams full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Discounted goods, staff warehouse sale, restaurant.

    Cons

    Past 4 years the company has been trying to change the type of retailer it is but still has no clear sense of direction. Management on most levels don't know what is going on and nothing gets dealt with. No clear way to report any issues, teams are getting smaller whilst the workload trebles.

    Advice to Management

    Less micro managing, be more involved in how each department works and not just fixing problems at top level

    JD Williams2019-07-04
  4. "Aggressive Management Style"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester City Centre, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at JD Williams full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The staff discount and location

    Cons

    The management style was aggressive. Staff micromanaged and set with unachievable KPIs. To progress or develop career here you must be overtly friendly with management. Ethics are diabolical. HR were useless. Did not follow any procedure. Systems were useless.

    Advice to Management

    Get in the 21st century

    JD Williams2019-01-24
  5. "Bad bonus structure - VERY bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outbound Sales in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at JD Williams full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible holidays Some great managers Relatively easy Not terrible pay

    Cons

    Extremely repetitive. Standard for an outbound role. You find pitches and techniques that work best, and you repeat them. Commission is almost a scam. You lose the lot if your returns are over 50% The average company returns are 60%. Targeted on literally everything, including toilet breaks

    Advice to Management

    Change your commission structure to make your best advisers stay.

    JD Williams2018-12-19
  6. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JD Williams full-time

    Pros

    Great people, good working hours

    Cons

    Limited Opportunities, declining share price.

    JD Williams2018-09-02
  7. "Shop Assistant at Simply Be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at JD Williams part-time

    Pros

    Staff and management were nice

    Cons

    Have been owed tax rebate for 3 years and whenever I call the manager (who was my manager at the time) claims to not have my records on file and cannot assist

    Advice to Management

    Keep records on file for the legally required amount of time (6 years)

    JD Williams2018-08-23
  8. "Wouldn’t recommend at all."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Recovery in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at JD Williams full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There really isn’t one. Other than the building we work in offers costa and lovely cooked meals.

    Cons

    Disrespectful management, forgotten staff, ridiculous expectations and bully’s for managers. It’s unfair to speak to staff the way that they do. The fifth floor “financial services” is treated so unfairly and poorly. Management are constantly changing our job roles without our permission or us knowing. Everything is to save money. Even at the expense of our bonus’ and customers get done over so much so that they... fall in line with the FCA guidelines. The company is a joke and I wouldn’t recommend the job to my worst enemy.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your staff as humans. Putting more pressure on us doesn’t get the best outcome. Happy staff work harder. Doesn’t help that the manager is a bully!

    JD Williams2018-06-01
  9. "Enquiries Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Enquiries Advisor in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at JD Williams full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great incentives, Decent Pay, Amazing on-site facilities. Great short term job choice

    Cons

    Opportunities to grow are limited due to staffing size. Awkward set shifts. After working in small, close companies can be very cold and isolated as just another number.

    JD Williams2017-12-10
  10. "An OK company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at JD Williams full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent discount and opportunity to grow and learn skills outside of your job spec. The second area manager I worked with was great to work for.

    Cons

    The company is very disorganised and wastes tonnes of money on things that then effect the overall business. This coupled with bad business acumen meant that they had to close 5 stores in recent times due to bad profit management. Head office have no idea how to run a tight knit ship.

    Advice to Management

    Figure out how brick and mortar stores work and don't overreach before the company had enough money to sustain stores, losing jobs does not make others feel stable in the company.

    JD Williams2017-10-07
Found 51 reviews