Jack Astor's Server/Waiter Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for Server/Waiter

Jack Astor's Reviews

Updated 20 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
80%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Jack Astor's CEO Peter Fowler (no image)
Peter Fowler
22 Ratings
  1. "Hostess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Jack Astor's full-time

    Pros

    Welcoming coworkers and good food

    Cons

    Terrible dress code for hostesses, unkind management

    Jack Astor's2018-04-19
  2. "Great Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jack Astor's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing group of people to work with, very fun culture, will get to be best friends with coworkers and management if you stick around

    Cons

    Cliquey at times, job hours not great until you've been working there for a while and got to know management, until then you got stuck with bad sections

    Jack Astor's2020-01-16
  3. "fun workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jack Astor's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible, fun, great way to meet people

    Cons

    great entry level/ for student

    Jack Astor's2020-01-11
  4. "Fun company, lots of growth opportunities, great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jack Astor's full-time

    Pros

    Lots of intensives and perks. Lots of coaching and leadership learning moments.

    Cons

    Very heavily dictated by corporate. Can be frustrating at times when trying to make certain decisions.

    Jack Astor's2020-01-10
  5. "Jack astor's"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Chef in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Jack Astor's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment to work in, fast paced

    Cons

    Hard work with long hours

    Jack Astor's2020-01-20
  6. "Good Tips, benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jack Astor's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    fun atmosphere, good tips, can get benefits for full time even if your hourly, discounts

    Cons

    get sent home early if is not busy, big focus on sales

    Jack Astor's2020-01-03
  7. "Best Management job I've had in the industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Jack Astor's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I absolutely love everything about my position with Jack Astor's. I've been a Manager in a previous company and I can honestly say the detailed training programs, time spent for coaching and communication, developmental plans, delegation of tasks and support from the Directors have been so rewarding. I also have a great team which I feel I am so lucky to have in my location

    Cons

    Some team members don't treat the job as their career which I guess can be understandable to some which can also make it a bit challenging being a Manager in the restaurant industry.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up with the training programs!!

    Jack Astor's2020-01-03
  8. "jack astors salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Waiter 

    I have been working at Jack Astor's part-time

    Pros

    great environment, great people to work with

    Cons

    exhausting, some bad nights, management could use some work

    Jack Astor's2019-12-31
  9. "Okay place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Waitress in Halifax, NS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jack Astor's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Clear guidelines as to what is expected of you

    Cons

    Some guidelines (amount of jewelry that must be worn) is a bit over the top

    Jack Astor's2019-12-19
  10. "Good for servers entering the industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Server in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Jack Astor's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Teaches you time management Teaches useful steps of service for future gigs Consistently busy therefore the tips are good

    Cons

    Inappropriate expectations for uniform Team service (some employees work hard and others hardly work) Some of the management team are inadequate

    Jack Astor's2019-12-27
Found 210 reviews