Jaguar Land Rover "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Jaguar Land Rover Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 10 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
68%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Jaguar Land Rover CEO  Ralf Speth
Ralf Speth
764 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Lack of transparency from senior management about the company's situation as well as business's overall strategy(in 71 reviews)

  • "Corporate JLR not understanding or willing to implement agile(in 59 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Varied & Rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Jaguar Land Rover full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fast paced, varied, great colleagues, great opportunities, great benefits

    Cons

    Little work life balance, Leadership is a mixed bag. Some great, some awful.

    Jaguar Land Rover2020-01-08
  2. "Slow and cumbersome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Systems Consultant in Whitley, West Midlands, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Jaguar Land Rover full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Always trying to do the right thing just let down by legacy processes and landscape. Had a good work life balance.

    Cons

    Parking is an issue, getting a space in the office can even be a problem. So before you even open up your laptop you’re hacked off. Zero career progression opportunities as no effort put into creating path ways. So not for the driven in my opinion. Very hierarchical, it’s in your face at every turn. So when you are not a manager this can be a bit demotivating. Especially when you see some of the quality of managers. Decision making is very slow, so much time wasted. Foods expensive in the canteen and the staff are rude. Also struggle to get a seat in the canteen some days.

    Continue reading
    Jaguar Land Rover2020-01-10
  3. "A stable career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Development Engineer in Coventry, England
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jaguar Land Rover full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Potential for interesting engineering work on exciting vehicles that are generally loved by the market - Great brand with a lot of heritage behind it, well respected in interviews for following jobs - Decent perks - competitive pay, car scheme - Great work/life balance

    Cons

    - Not the most dynamic working environment so at times can feel like a drag - An old and not very diverse workplace (although somewhat to be expected from Engineering)

    Jaguar Land Rover2019-11-24
  4. "Not the engineering company it could be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Group Leader in Gaydon, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Jaguar Land Rover full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, flexible start/finish times, new facilities.

    Cons

    Toxic management styles, lack of accountability from the top, politics reign, abundance of meetings, micromanagement.

    Continue reading
    Jaguar Land Rover2019-12-03
  5. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Whitley, West Midlands, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Jaguar Land Rover full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Team work, work life balance, career ops, travel

    Cons

    industry challenges, duplication of work, procrastination,

    Jaguar Land Rover2019-11-15
  6. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Planner 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jaguar Land Rover full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of career opportunities Great people to work with

    Cons

    Work life balance can be a bit difficult. Too many delays in programs being run sometimes due to lack of leadership or clear decision making

    Jaguar Land Rover2019-11-09
  7. "Great place to work (if in right project)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jaguar Land Rover full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Good flexible working arrangements - Great work-life balance - Lots of development options

    Cons

    If you are not in the right project or team, you will feel like you are stagnating.

    Jaguar Land Rover2019-10-28
  8. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Gaydon, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Jaguar Land Rover full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance and company benefits.

    Cons

    Micro managing at times and not given the ability to make decisions

    Jaguar Land Rover2019-10-27
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Some good, some bad (4 years with JLR)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Planner in Coventry, England
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Jaguar Land Rover full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very good work/life balance unless you are doing product launches. Good salary for the Midlands as well, especially if you do regular overtime (which most of the time is paid) or you reach Senior (D grade) level. You can even get sponsored for an education. So overall very nice perks, you can live a very comfortable life there.

    Cons

    Horrible company culture when it comes to project management or deadlines. Dreadful really. Nothing gets delivered on time, EVER. There are little to no consequences, there is a policy of greenwashing through every milestone. This is promoted from the top (looking at you, Ralf), ezecutive management having a very “bold” (read that greedy) strategy when it comes to vehicles. There are no clear roles and responsibilities, it’s very vague. You can end up doing many useless things.

    Continue reading
    Jaguar Land Rover2019-10-22
  10. "Amazing business, little opportunities to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Gaydon, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jaguar Land Rover full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing Culture, So many opportunities to be involved in interesting projects. I spend over 4 years in JLR and it was the best years of my working life. I only left because the opportunity to move up the ladder is almost impossible. Benefits are great and for the work you do they pay you exceptionally well. Work life balance was great. I was exceptionally fortunate to have great managers who allowed me to go out in the business and get involved in anything i wanted to. Very fortunate to have worked in JLR. You really can make the role in what you want it to be. I worked with people who were happy to just sit there and do data entry and there was space for them to do that and I, personally, created a whole role for myself involved in various projects i wanted to be involved in and the business never stopped me.

    Cons

    To get into JLR is exceptionally difficult, you may think you tick all the boxes for a role and you won't even be invited to a interview. To move up the ladder is exceptionally difficult, you have to really kiss select few managers behind to go up the ladder. If you are career motivated this place will really test you even if you have ratings above average for number of years. Certain, not all, managers think they are God because they are LL5 or above, the culture is very driven by hierarchy so if that is going to be a issue, may want to consider applying.

    Continue reading
    Jaguar Land Rover2019-10-10

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 133 reviews