Jane Street Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Jane Street Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 57 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
94%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Jane Street CEO Sandor Lehoczky
Sandor Lehoczky
21 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours entail constant mental exertion(in 5 reviews)

  • "No cons really, had a lot of fun(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Lives up to the amazing reputation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Jane Street full-time

    Pros

    - Culture - Collaboration with brilliant people - Work balance - Fast moving, diverse projects

    Cons

    - Only working at a computer which is straining on the eyes.

    Jane Street2018-11-16
  2. "Quant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quantitative Researcher in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jane Street full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work with the most talented people.

    Cons

    I can't find any cons at all

    Jane Street2017-08-20
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Trading Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Jane Street

      Pros

      Nice People, Intelligent lots of benefits

      Cons

      Bit geeky, very few girls

      Jane Street2017-02-14
    • Helpful (13)

      "Good place to work if you can get in"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Jane Street for more than a year

        Pros

        Good culture, resources, learning opportunities. Lots of opportunities to work on cool projects and develop skills. It's also resume gold. Every interview I've had since then has asked about my time at Jane Street.

        Cons

        Lots of egos, occasionally very difficult people to work with. Rooms filled with "the smartest person in the room." Competitive and at times very cut-throat environment. You will need

        Advice to Management

        The focus on mental math during the interview stage is ridiculous. Better candidates than me were filtered because they didn't spend time learning a skill that honestly isn't as important as it's made out to be.

        Jane Street2016-10-02
      • "Jane Street"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Jane Street full-time

        Pros

        Lovely people, the food is tasty and there's always something to be do. Everyone there is pretty young and they have a solid culture

        Cons

        Can get tiring, some days are pretty tedious but I guess it's the same with any job. Staring at screens burns your eyes

        Advice to Management

        Not much to say really, they let everyone do their thing. Everyone operates pretty independently and bureaucracy is absent

        Jane Street2016-04-07
      • Helpful (2)

        "A tough nut with a sweet kernel"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Jane Street full-time

        Pros

        Amazing tech: stable, solid, innovative. Decent benefits and comp. Business model proven and effective.

        Cons

        Very difficult to get into, technologically and culturally. OCaml is a big stumbling block for discovery and self-learning on the job, Culture of "genius" (people pretending enormous intelligence by refusing to answer simple questions).

        Advice to Management

        Focus on the new-starter process and welcome procedure. Give proper OCaml courses. Encourage a culture of collegiality.

        Jane Street2016-03-30
      • Helpful (2)

        "Technologist"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Jane Street full-time

        Pros

        Great people, and great stimulus to grow and learn new things. The food is amazing, and there is a decent work/life balance.

        Cons

        Mobility within the firm is encouraged, but only between certain groups.

        Advice to Management

        Consider playing to some of the additional strengths of your employees.

        Jane Street2015-10-16
      • "Trading Intern"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Jane Street

        Pros

        High salary, challenging environment, fun

        Cons

        Intense workload, just an intern

        Jane Street2015-11-05
      • "Trading Intern"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Jane Street

          Pros

          Interesting work and bright people

          Cons

          Never wanted to leave the office

          Jane Street2015-03-05
        • Helpful (7)

          "Great company to work for"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Developer in London, England
          Recommends
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Jane Street full-time

          Pros

          Great compensation & People to work with, interesting problems to solve, work never becomes routine

          Cons

          Can't really think of any, but if you just like to be told what to do this is probably not the best place for you to look for as a good part of your progress will depend on your proactivity

          Jane Street2014-11-17
        Found 57 reviews