Jane Street Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Jane Street Reviews

Updated Nov 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.8
80%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Jane Street Managing Director Sandor Lehoczky
Sandor Lehoczky
24 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No cons that come to mind for me(in 5 reviews)

  • "Long hours entail constant mental exertion(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fake job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Jane Street part-time

    Pros

    There was a lot of breaks

    Cons

    Rubbish I hated it a lot.

    Jane Street2019-08-28
  2. "Work Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Jane Street full-time

    Pros

    Relaxed Environment, good hours, not stressed

    Cons

    Not very Social colleagues to work with

    Jane Street2019-10-26
  3. "review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Trader in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Jane Street part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good work life balance overall

    Cons

    interview process was very hard

    Jane Street2019-08-06
  4. "Lives up to the amazing reputation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Jane Street full-time

    Pros

    - Culture - Collaboration with brilliant people - Work balance - Fast moving, diverse projects

    Cons

    - Only working at a computer which is straining on the eyes.

    Jane Street2018-11-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Quant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quantitative Researcher in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jane Street full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work with the most talented people.

    Cons

    I can't find any cons at all

    Jane Street2017-08-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Trading Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Jane Street

    Pros

    Nice People, Intelligent lots of benefits

    Cons

    Bit geeky, very few girls

    Jane Street2017-02-14
  7. Helpful (18)

    "Good place to work if you can get in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Jane Street for less than a year

    Pros

    Good culture, resources, learning opportunities. Lots of opportunities to work on cool projects and develop skills. It's also resume gold. Every interview I've had since then has asked about my time at Jane Street.

    Cons

    Lots of egos, occasionally very difficult people to work with. Rooms filled with "the smartest person in the room." Competitive and at times very cut-throat environment. You will need

    Advice to Management

    The focus on mental math during the interview stage is ridiculous. Better candidates than me were filtered because they didn't spend time learning a skill that honestly isn't as important as it's made out to be.

    Jane Street2016-10-02
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Jane Street"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Jane Street full-time

    Pros

    Lovely people, the food is tasty and there's always something to be do. Everyone there is pretty young and they have a solid culture

    Cons

    Can get tiring, some days are pretty tedious but I guess it's the same with any job. Staring at screens burns your eyes

    Advice to Management

    Not much to say really, they let everyone do their thing. Everyone operates pretty independently and bureaucracy is absent

    Jane Street2016-04-07
  9. Helpful (3)

    "A tough nut with a sweet kernel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Jane Street full-time

    Pros

    Amazing tech: stable, solid, innovative. Decent benefits and comp. Business model proven and effective.

    Cons

    Very difficult to get into, technologically and culturally. OCaml is a big stumbling block for discovery and self-learning on the job, Culture of "genius" (people pretending enormous intelligence by refusing to answer simple questions).

    Advice to Management

    Focus on the new-starter process and welcome procedure. Give proper OCaml courses. Encourage a culture of collegiality.

    Jane Street2016-03-30
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Technologist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Jane Street full-time

    Pros

    Great people, and great stimulus to grow and learn new things. The food is amazing, and there is a decent work/life balance.

    Cons

    Mobility within the firm is encouraged, but only between certain groups.

    Advice to Management

    Consider playing to some of the additional strengths of your employees.

    Jane Street2015-10-16
Found 64 reviews