Japan Tobacco International Marketing Manager Reviews

Updated 7 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
57%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Japan Tobacco International President and Chief Executive Officer  Eddy Pirard
Eddy Pirard
6 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Weybridge, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Japan Tobacco International full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible working Good training Dress down Good benefits package Nice environment

    Cons

    Lots of process Very little progression Management is inexperienced at some levels

    Continue reading
    Japan Tobacco International2019-09-04
  2. "Regional Marketing manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Marketing Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Japan Tobacco International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    employee benefits, culture, work & life balance

    Cons

    location, post industry opportunities, benefits

    Continue reading
    Japan Tobacco International2019-02-20
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Walk the talk-ish"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Japan Tobacco International full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Nice offices, nice trainings (though you would have to “pay” for that training by working overtime to catch up with your work so that training has no effect on achieved business result), many nice and professional people. Sometimes we get some nice extras, like gifts or parties.

    Cons

    A lot of politics and “behind the scenes”. Top management talks a lot about policy of openness and need to speak up. But in reality there is local management, and when you speak up, that can be used to evaluate your performance and career progression. Even personal things. Directors should understand that what they discuss about employees in management meetings slips through. Very high expectations, but salary doesn’t match. To be promoted (and this is how you told, not just assumption), you need to work in current role with current salary, but do amount of work of a senior role. For about a year. Then maybe will get promotion or a few percent of increase. I have been here a high potential employee for about 10 years and in my 30s I feel like I am 50.

    Continue reading
    Japan Tobacco International2020-02-07
  4. Helpful (1)

    "A positive place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Japan Tobacco International full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It acknowledges its shortcomings as a large FMCG and has been actively trying to solve and simplify standard process’ Career opportunities and international assignments are open depending on how far you’re willing to go.

    Cons

    Can be political at times but I believe that’s expected from any international corporate FMCG

    Japan Tobacco International2019-02-27
  5. "A great place to work in!!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trade Marketing Manager in Tehran, Tehran
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Japan Tobacco International full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A great company that supports individuals with ambition, providing them with the tools to reach their goals.

    Cons

    Great for employees but on an industry level, some internal procedures slow down speed to market.

    Continue reading
    Japan Tobacco International2018-04-22
  6. "Great Company Culture - Perks are great too"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Marketing Manager in Geneva
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Japan Tobacco International full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    International Culture, Mindset and Career possibilities Above average compensation (especially if you become an expat)

    Cons

    Tobacco (everyone deals with this differently) Contracting global demand & increasing regulations makes everyone's life hard, and managerial decisions even harder.

    Continue reading
    Japan Tobacco International2018-02-20
  7. "Marketing Manager"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Bucharest
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Japan Tobacco International full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    In marketing you are exposed to the most advaced practices and trends. Positive attitude, good working environment, good pay, top training and development programs, internal succesion career path, very competitive pension plan.

    Cons

    Sometime not very agile in taking decisions, but very responsible when done. Corporate clutter provides a lot of pressure to teams, sometines not objective.

    Continue reading
    Japan Tobacco International2017-11-30
  8. "Don't recommend."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trade Marketing Manager in Tokyo

    I have been working at Japan Tobacco International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    White color, good training system.

    Cons

    Sales devision still have eastern hierarchy culture.

    Japan Tobacco International2017-09-13
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Very good but not the best company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Trade Marketing Manager in Geneva
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Japan Tobacco International for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Company is doing a lot for the employees in terms of good environment and good benefits.

    Cons

    No leadership attitude in teams across organisation. Too many politics. Most managers do nothing about people development, motivation and coaching, still everyone declares they do

    Japan Tobacco International2017-01-18
  10. "Perfect for self development and career advancement"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Marketing Manager in Geneva
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Japan Tobacco International

    Pros

    High investment in developing people. Good focus on data and analyzing data whenever a decision is taken. Fairness International opportunities

    Cons

    Transparency and speed due to the nature of the tobacco industry

    Japan Tobacco International2016-01-08
Found 11 reviews