Japan Tobacco International Employee Reviews about "working environment"

Updated 18 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
75%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Japan Tobacco International President and Chief Executive Officer  Eddy Pirard
Eddy Pirard
159 Ratings

Reviews about "working environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Manager"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Japan Tobacco International

    Pros

    Good salary and basically good working environment with several benefits (shares purchase, social / pension plan)

    Cons

    Japanese style - long decision processes; many political decision. People are not selected because they do a good job, but because they know somebody or somebody knows them - even if skills for a job are not sufficient at all. Japanese colleagues are sent to over to other countries to learn / develop, but often have very poor English language skills (double and triple work for other employees). HR has no power in this company.

    Japan Tobacco International2016-06-29
  2. "Good company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Japan Tobacco International

    Pros

    Salary & Benefits, working environment and nice colleagues

    Cons

    Job security - feeling a bit uncertain about the future

    Japan Tobacco International2016-04-13
  3. "Best company of all"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    GLT Plant Shif Supervisor in Senta
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Japan Tobacco International

    Pros

    Really into people. Taking a firm stand that people are one of the key elements in achieving set goals. This devotion can be seen in every aspekt of daily activities through working environment, safety, trainings, team buildings, possibility of promotion and so on, not forgetting good salaries

    Cons

    If one is realistic it is really hard to find really negative side. Of course everybody is wishing better salaries but truthfuly it is one of the best in surrounding.

    Continue reading
    Japan Tobacco International2015-09-02
  4. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Japan Tobacco International full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    JTI is a great company to work for. It values its employees and provides a very enterprising work environment.

    Cons

    Although tobacco industry is under pressure, JTI utilizes various strategies to grow its business.

    Japan Tobacco International2015-08-21
  5. "An excellent employer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Athens
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Japan Tobacco International full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very good working environment, common culture shared across markets, focused on quality, long term vision and strategy, emphasis on effective communication, well organized, ability to pursue career opportunities local and abroad, good comp & ben, career aspirations taken under consideration

    Cons

    Bureaucratic like most multinational organizations, quick decisions sometimes take long, 'Supertanker' approach is at times a drawback, closely monitored by HQ.

    Japan Tobacco International2015-08-05
  6. "Looking ahead"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Lusaka, Lusaka
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Japan Tobacco International

    Pros

    One gets to engage with different cultures which adds to the diversity of the company. It has a dynamic work environment

    Cons

    There is a lot that needs to be achieved in a short period of time sometimes.

    Continue reading
    Japan Tobacco International2015-08-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "The best company I have worked for!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Director in Geneva
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Japan Tobacco International full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great compensation & benefits, great work environment, great people... I have worked in other FMCG companies before and this is by far the most enjoyable and rewarding work place.

    Cons

    I really have nothing wrong to say... Nothing nothing nothing. So I just have to fill in the box and hope it adds up to 20 words in the end.

    Japan Tobacco International2015-06-20
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Process Analyst Manager"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Analyst Manager in Geneva
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Japan Tobacco International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good payment. Excelent work environment and exposure to business.

    Cons

    No investment into developing employees which work in IT

    Continue reading
    Japan Tobacco International2015-04-21
  9. "Consultant"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Japan Tobacco International

    Pros

    Nice working environment, friendly people

    Cons

    Too much politics, can be chaotic

    Japan Tobacco International2015-04-15
  10. "Positive"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Japan Tobacco International

    Pros

    Good work environment, great colleagues, good technical support

    Cons

    Long hours, distance from upper management

    Japan Tobacco International2014-02-17
Found 32 reviews