Jet2.com "city centre" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Jet2.com Employee Reviews about "city centre"

Updated 1 Mar 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
62%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Jet2.com CEO Stephen Heapy
Stephen Heapy
118 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, great atmosphere, lots of overtime over busy periods(in 14 reviews)

  • "Great city centre location and early finish on a Friday(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "long hours and very unsociable hours(in 19 reviews)

  • "However, if you want a career in aviation don’t go anywhere near Jet2(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "city centre"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Fast paced, enjoyable and my second home!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OCC Centre 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jet2.com full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I love working for Jet2.com, I have worked here for nearly 9 years. I have worked in various departments and worked my way up. I have made so many friends over the years. Its a very fast paced enviroment, as expected from a growing airline. I have seen the change from a small budget airline doing one flight to amsterdam to a huge competetor for major airlines in the UK. My airport based office (we now have two, one at the airport and one in Leeds city centre) is friendly and although it doesnt look as spectacular as the head office in the city centre it has far more atmosphere.

    Cons

    I have only one grumble and its one I know it bothers most employee's....... The benefits package, well there isnt one. The staff travel is virtually impossible to get and you are better off going online and paying full fare as the staff travel scheme is virtually non existent.

    Continue reading
    Jet2.com2015-01-24
  2. "Data Auditor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Data Auditor in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Jet2.com for less than a year

    Pros

    good starting salary central location in Leeds city centre

    Cons

    lack of variety and low job satisfaction grumpy and clearly dissatisfied teammates

    Continue reading
    Jet2.com2019-03-01
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Not a great place at all"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Jet2.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Located close to Leeds city centre so handy for bus and rail services. Nice colleagues for the most part,

    Cons

    Treated like children by team leaders who are very young. Very petty lateness policy, for example if you have an otherwise exemplary punctuality record but are 2 mins late, it will be documented and you will have to make it back, despite having to stay 2 mins later at the weekends until they switch off the phone systems. The office cleanliness is very poor, which is a shame as the building is actually very nice. The training isn't up to much and the systems are archaic. When you ask for help it is rarely given. The company sick pay is a very low 10 days per annum, which for a big company is shocking. There is a fear culture and only those whose face fit will ever succeed. The company benefits are minimal. If you think we got big discounts off holidays, think again.

    Continue reading
    Jet2.com2019-02-06
  4. "promises a fantastic company to work for.....until you get through the door"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Jet2.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    decent location in leeds city centre, free tea/coffee etc..job is very interesting. i was working as customer services executive.

    Cons

    they are a short term (get you in to cover the busy periods) employer. in the short space of time i have been there, 15 people who started have had their probation terminated for “quality or productivity” not being achieved. They give you one week training and expect you to know everything and see you asking for help as a bad thing. Make one little mistake and your as good as gone. shame as they could be a fantastic employer but dont give you time.

    Continue reading
    Jet2.com2018-10-26
  5. "Opportunities Galore!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Jet2.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast growing growing business where there are many opportunities for progression. Great city centre location and early finish on a Friday!

    Cons

    Benefits slowly added, but would expect more from a business thus size. Staff travel or access to more worthwhile travel concessions would be appreciated.

    Continue reading
    Jet2.com2018-02-06
  6. Helpful (15)

    "Out of touch with the realities of modern working practices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Jet2.com full-time

    Pros

    I worked at the city centre location in Leeds: - City centre location which is easily accessible - Free tea/coffee - Good introduction to the Scrum methodology for those who have never worked in an agile team before

    Cons

    - zero flexibility, the hours are set in stone, you either work from 08;00 to 17:00, or 08:30 to 17:30, and the manager's have the temerity to call this 'flexi-time'. - No opportunities to work from home - Favouritism abounds, if your face doesn't fit you will never progress - No reward or recognition scheme - No clear career paths or pastoral support - Staff are expected to pay for their own Christmas party - Staff are expected to come into the office to work the following afternoon after they have worked on an overnight release - High staff turnover - Below average number of days for annual leave - Pitiful employee pension contribution - No car parking facilities - Very much a top-down approach to working, directives would often be sent down from senior managers and those working on the front line would be expected to drop everything at a moments notice

    Continue reading
    Jet2.com2017-08-16
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work, still Improving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Jet2.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Rapidly growing company with many opportunities. A wide variety of technology used, and a very flexible, friendly and open IT department. Because of the nature of the business a lot of the work is very unique, and therefore challenging and exciting. Colleagues are generally helpful, fun to work with, and proud of what they do - having worked elsewhere, this is not always the case! The business are listening to employees and have introduced some employee benefits over the last year, the early Friday finish is very much appreciated, and there is a general appreciation of work life balance The city centre location is very easy to get to, being just past Bridgewater place. Salary is above average compared to similar roles at many surrounding areas

    Cons

    Unfortunately, while some senior management are very approachable and forward-thinking, this is not shared across the business. This means that change can be slow at times, which is frustrating. Benefits to staff are still below average compared to other companies (especially tech) - the pension in particular is not much to shout about, and the lack of flexible working is a real pain. No company car park either, which is a little frustrating.

    Continue reading
    Jet2.com2017-03-18
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Old School"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Administrator in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Jet2.com part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Offices in Leeds City Centre, feel that the company is slowly listening to it's employees and changing policies/procedures.

    Cons

    Technology in use is old fashioned, holiday entitlement is old fashioned (20 days), zero benefits worth noting, HR practices are ancient (who sends paper contracts nowadays?!) turnover is high for a reason; it's almost impossible to change anything.

    Continue reading
    Jet2.com2017-02-21
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Mixed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Jet2.com full-time

    Pros

    Friendly culture, good city centre offices, positive energy around the business.

    Cons

    Benefits package extremely poor (lack of any reasonable staff travel scheme is a joke), no formal process offering a defined career path and/or development opportunities, no flexibility in conditions.

    Continue reading
    Jet2.com2015-12-16
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Jet2 IT Lives Up To Bad Reputation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Dev in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Jet2.com full-time

    Pros

    Free tea/coffee. City centre location. Few talented people, although most have left.

    Cons

    I was employed in IT and can say that Jet2 lives up to its bad reputation as an IT employer. I was warned by several people before joining. There are no defined career paths and you won't be recognised by the hard work you put in. There is no review process to discuss your work and career progression! Promotion is solely dependent on your ability to mingle with the higher level management in IT (who clearly have their favourites as you'll find out quickly if you do decide to join Jet2). The standard office hours are 8:30 to 5:30 which are long days with a cleverly placed so called "3:00 Friday finish". I say cleverly because it's rare people leave at that time, mostly under pressure or in fear of being labelled as part-timers. The company itself is extremely reactive, you could be working on project work one day, but due to a sudden need for some functionality that their competitors have put in place, you'll need to mimic it and release it ASAP (sometimes wiping out your weekend on short notice). It's unsurprising that Jet2 IT are unable to retain their staff, I had lost count of how many talented staff members left during my period there.

    Continue reading
    Jet2.com2014-10-07

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 11 reviews