JetBlue Pilot Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

JetBlue Pilot Reviews

Updated 23 Feb 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

2.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
3%
Recommend to a Friend
15%
Approve of CEO
JetBlue CEO Robin Hayes
Robin Hayes
3 Ratings
  1. "Pilot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Airline Pilot in Boston, MA
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at JetBlue full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good equipment and maintenance. Overall positive work environment.

    Cons

    Apparent lack of strong CEO vision and leadership. Spotty career development. Dodgy approach to compensation.

    Advice to Management

    Focus your tax windfall spending on improving the product. Your future does not lie in Technology Ventures: that focus is way to far out to deliver returns in the near future, it also dilutes your ability to follow through on delivering better inflight systems today. Invest in real, and experienced, on line supervisors - not interns or vendors who take the liability for poorly developed career paths and rookie mistakes...

    Show More
    JetBlue2018-02-23
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Pays Market Rate for Everything Except Labor..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Airline Pilot in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at JetBlue full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work environment and peers are excellent...

    Cons

    Management refuses to conclude a market rate contract with the pilots. This pilot group severely lags peer pilots group in pay, work rules, and time off.

    Advice to Management

    Conclude a market rate contract with the pilot group ASAP. Every day of delay broadens the split between this critical work group and management.

    JetBlue2018-02-24
  3. "Jetblue needs some serious "self-help""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Airline Pilot in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at JetBlue full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Live near base, which just so happens to be a junior base

    Cons

    Company is being run by bean counters when they posted a $3 billion profit. Pilots have been in contract negotiations since 2015. The Flight Attendants are in the midsts of unionizing. The company is cutting $300 million from it Maintenance budget. Company has the WORST on-time performance in the industry. Venture Capitalists and micro managers are running this company. Either it's going to be sold off, or go...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Finish contract negotiations with the pilots so the pilots can move on with their lives! Stop nickle and diming the operation. Cut all your excessive overhead and get Operations in lockstep. Get rid of the "Wild West" mentality!

    JetBlue2018-02-22
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Going downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pilot in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JetBlue full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule. Overnights in cool cities.

    Cons

    Pay and working conditions now WAY below other airlines. Just not the great company I joined in 2003.

    JetBlue2017-05-07
  5. "OPPORTUNITIES"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pilot in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at JetBlue

    Pros

    JET BLUE MAKES DREAMS COME TRUE.

    Cons

    - Very intense training. - Sounds far more simple than the work really is.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees without judgment.

    JetBlue2016-04-06
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Was Great, not so much any more"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pilot in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at JetBlue full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people that were hired when all the other airlines were not hiring. Everyone that helps generate revenue/touched airplanes are generally great people and we all work together well.

    Cons

    The leadership at jetBlue has all but vanished. The company core values have taken a tremendous hit since Dave Barger became CEO. Most pilots have gotten very frustrated with the many broken promises from the ELT. The company is making major mistakes when dealing with declining morale and pilots leaving for other major airlines.

    Advice to Management

    Tell the truth, and tell the whole truth. Change the way you receive bonuses so that no bonuses are paid with an increase in total revenue AND an increase in the internal NPS which will force managers to become leaders.

    JetBlue2014-01-01
  7. Helpful (7)

    "It was too good to be true..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pilot in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at JetBlue full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I love my job and work with a great bunch of people in my work group.

    Cons

    Greedy Management, No accountability when something goes wrong. Medical Insurance is the worst among our peers. Upper Management continues to lie and make false promises.

    Advice to Management

    You are a failure to your employees.

    JetBlue2013-11-26
  8. Helpful (4)

    "rapidly deteriorating."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pilot in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at JetBlue full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    employees are fabulous in spite of working conditions

    Cons

    Management gets more hostile everyday

    Advice to Management

    please explain how Alaska who you say is in the sweet spot with us, can quadruple our profit with less planes and 15% higher costs. Tell us how you agreed to a pay review process and then broke your word. Tell us how you plan to attract any pilot with 15% under industry average wages, the worst health care in the industry and below average retirement.

    JetBlue2013-11-26
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Don't drink the Blue Juice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pilot 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at JetBlue full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Paycheck deposited ontime, everytime. Company is growing.

    Cons

    Worst health care in the industry and getting worse every year (higher premiums, higher deductibles, less coverage). Industry leading worst retirement. Below average wages (management promised average of our peer set, one of many lies). Extremely questionable job security in the face of a merger or aquisition. The biggest 'con' though is how management has blatantly lied to its employee groups on many, many occassions,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop lying! Start Caring. Lead by example. It's easy to

    JetBlue2013-07-22
  10. Helpful (3)

    "great airline, poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pilot in Jf Kennedy Ap, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at JetBlue full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    fun, young, great service oriented

    Cons

    pay, benfits, security, career growth

    Advice to Management

    listen to your employees and stop stealing from their pockets to increase your salaries and bonuses.

    JetBlue2013-03-24
Found 16 reviews