Jive Software Reviews

Updated Jul 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 271 of over 298 reviews

3.2
45%
Recommend to a Friend
33%
Approve of CEO
Jive Software CEO  Scott Brighton (no image)
Scott Brighton
31 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great People and atmosphere before it acquired(in 28 reviews)

  • "Great company, fabulous people, some great friendships(in 22 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long days, little work life balance(in 10 reviews)

  • "After Aurea has taken over, executive leadership is worthless(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Best Company I have ever worked for!

      Apr 24, 2017 - Anonymous in Reading, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      So many pros I can't add them all so here's a few of the best. 1.Great people who are smart, helpful and dedicated. If you have a question about anything you can usually get a helpful answer from someone somewhere within minutes; often from another country. 2. Amazing product that is innovating at a rapid pace. Jive is already a long way ahead of it's competitors from a product perspective but there are also new innovations happening right now that are truly ground-breaking which makes this an exciting place to be right now. 3. Very open culture of sharing, advising, mentoring and innovating - this includes senior management too. If you want to speak to anyone at any level of seniority you can, it is truly enlightening. No command-and-control ivory-tower senior management styles here. 4. The way that we work - this includes all of the above points but there's more to it. We live what we preach to our customers and this means we have a company culture and a digital way of working that is second-to-none. If I had to go back to the way that other companies work I would truly feel back in the stone-age. 5. We punch above our weight - for a company of 600+ employees we have some of the biggest companies in the world as enterprise customers, and these customers are achieving amazing things.

      Cons

      This is a fast-paced environment which on-occasion can lead to long hours and stress. This is also a complex enterprise-class solution which can be complicated and difficult to explain to customers and prospects who are new to the topic of what we do - it's a big topic. No company is perfect and Jive isn't perfect, but it's very much better than any other company I've worked for in my career. If you want an easy-life then go join one of the big software companies. If you want a fast-paced intellectual and personal challenge every day then this is a good place to work. I also want to talk about some of the negative reviews here on Glassdoor. Unfortunately when some people leave a company they feel bitter and feel they need to leave bad reviews on Glassdoor. This has skewed the perception of Jive on Glassdoor as it doesn't take account of the views of the people who are current employees and want to work here (like me). It's a shame some ex-employees are so bitter because they are impacting their friends and ex-colleagues who like it here and still work here. Those are the people their bitterness is impacting, not any ex-managers that they are targeting with their negative comments. This is the reason I'm leaving this review. I'm one of many many people who like it here and I hope that this review helps to balance out the negativity of the very small number of ex-employees leaving the negative reviews. If you are thinking of working at Jive then my advice is to get the real picture by speaking to several employees who work here now both long-timers and newbies.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A great, innovative company spearheaded by truly inspirational leaders.

      Oct 17, 2014 - Sales in Reading, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's hard, but enjoyable and rewarding work and because we use our own product to actually get work done, the usual knowledge silos and lack of effective collaboration that can exist in some companies don't really exist here. The benefits Jive offers are generous and the work-life balance is fair and considerate, again an offshoot of being able to use our own technology. Plus our new Office here in the UK is incredible with free snacks, fresh fruit, an XBOX, Pool table and a well-stocked beer fridge. You may never go home again.

      Cons

      Nothing too significant other than the usual growing pains that often occur within a fast-paced tech business, especially coupled with some changes on the Executive team over the last 12 months.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Best company I have ever worked for

      Oct 21, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Reading, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      So many good things about working here including ... very smart people who are ready and willing to help, constant innovation and positive change at a pace I've never seen in any company before, amazing products that add more value to our customers than any software product I've ever seen before, amazing culture blending elements of 'software startup' with 'proper grown-up company', the use of our own software to get things done (the future of the digital workplace is now!), amazing offices .... and so much more! Once you fully understand what Jive is doing to transform the modern workplace then you understand just how important this company is on a global scale.

      Cons

      Very fast-paced company that may not suit everyone. I have seen people used to a slower pace of work drown here.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      As a former Jiver there are many things I miss

      Mar 19, 2016 - Head of Client Services International Markets in Reading, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Had an absolute blast as a Jiver for almost six years, and I have to say that my fellow Jivers were the most fun colleagues to work with in my entire career, I also miss Jive the product, not having that brilliant collaboration platform is terribly difficult as the company I have worked for the past 16 months struggles to collaborate effectively without such a tool, but what I really miss the most is the awesome Jivers.

      Cons

      Non really, at least for me, I have worked for several US West Coast start-ups and I am used to working hard with long hours at pace throughout my career, you either like that environment or you don't.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Few ups and downs but definitely on the up!

      Oct 22, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Reading, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Great colleagues, hard working, talented and just all round nice people to be around. -Use our own product which genuinely is fantastic, I have no idea how I would work without it. -Excellent UK facilities. -Flexible working and nice environment to work in

      Cons

      -If you cannot handle change you will struggle here. -Sometimes lacking in clear direction from the top. -Usual issues working for the UK office for a US company

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Volunteering - empowered to make a difference

      Oct 21, 2014 - Executive Assistant in Reading, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      All 'Jivers' are eligible for Volunteering Time Off at the rate of one day per quarter. It offers employees the chance to become involved in a local project or with an organisation they really care about as well as an opportunity to meet new and like-minded people. At Jive you are encouraged and empowered to make use of this valuable time and it also gives you the chance of working with employees from other departments.

      Cons

      Once you begin to volunteer to a particular activity or program, you are seen as a valuable asset, and are asked or encouraged to do more.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Never a dull moment and the best team I have ever worked with

      Oct 24, 2014 - Professional Services Engineer in Reading, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great teamwork and you will always feel like someone is around to help especially using Jive to ask questions of colleagues. Lots of variety of work means you will not feel stuck in a rut doing the same old thing. Some smaller projects but also larger pieces with more meat on them to get into. Lots of great customers that it is brilliant working with. Fun atmosphere and working environment. Flexible working

      Cons

      As with any software role some out of hours work is needed but sometimes at short notice but on the flip side the flexible working works both ways and can be great too.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Absolutely the BEST place to work!

      Sep 12, 2015 - Technical Account Manager in Reading, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Quite literally everything! Great people and management, a fantastic culture that empowers you to do your work and supports you to do it well. I posted a blog about my first week as an employee, which was read by the CEO! Where else do you get visibility within a company like that!!! My previous employer felt the need to constantly tell you it was a great place to work... JIVE just is a great place to work which you see for yourself. Nobody has to tell you every 5 minutes via impersonal emails.

      Cons

      Zero. If you are lucky enough to get an opportunity to work at Jive, you will not look back.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Professional Services Engineer

      Aug 22, 2017 - Professional Services Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It used to be a great job... I learned loads, had lots of independence and very well paid.

      Cons

      So so so so many at this point. Basically, since being purchased by Aurea there has been an endless rate of attrition (Aurea typically aim for 40%). Initially, we were told we shall see if we want you because we can get talent by the 100s anywhere else in the world to replace you. In fact, my team were at risk for a few hours, only to have that retracted. So bank on no job security, a company with a very limited shelf life which places no value in employees or talent. I won't mention the obvious lack of success items... Jive Software will never be successful under the Aurea 'model'. That model being a vestige of the 90's and 00's where the illusion was cheapest is best. You should only take a role with Jive if you do not mind being agile about moving to the next role forcibly or not. Do not expect anyone to value you or your contribution at a company level. The few that are left, do so for their own motivations at this time.

      10 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      If you like working with great people, in an awesome environment then you'll love Jive Software

      Oct 20, 2014 - Professional Services in Reading, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Highly skilled and driven team. Great team support. Flexible working hours. Brilliant working environment. Excellent salary and benefits. Sense of fun.

      Cons

      There are limited options for lunch at the Reading office, as it is not in the centre of Reading. If not commuting by car then the free bus from Reading station can be slow due to traffic.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 271 Reviews

    Work at Jive Software? Share Your Experiences

    Jive Software logo
    or