John Lewis & Partners Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

John Lewis & Partners Reviews

Updated 23 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
John Lewis & Partners Managing Director Paula Nickolds (no image)
Paula Nickolds
365 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits including competitive discount(in 82 reviews)

  • "Varied work everyday and really good pay(in 70 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours slow descion making old technology not moving with times(in 66 reviews)

  • "Few career progression opportunities(in 31 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Brilliant team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Selling Partner 

    I have been working at John Lewis & Partners part-time

    Pros

    Great team and learning opportunities

    Cons

    Unflexible when it comes to extra hours

    John Lewis & Partners2020-01-30
  2. "temp"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Specialist 

    I have been working at John Lewis & Partners part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good pay nice company

    Cons

    long hours, long recruitment process

    John Lewis & Partners2020-02-22
  3. "Good pay / bad holidays"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Partner 

    I have been working at John Lewis & Partners part-time

    Pros

    Good pay for a uni student

    Cons

    As I worked weekends I could never take my holidays as all the full timers would take the holidays when they knew they were going to be working the weekend

    John Lewis & Partners2020-02-23
  4. "Good in comparison to other retailers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at John Lewis & Partners part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - discount - bonus every year

    Cons

    - ineffectual management of older partners meaning they are effectively immune to any complaints - outsourcing many jobs to cut costs - bonus decreasing year on year

    John Lewis & Partners2020-02-21
  5. "Not toooo shabby"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Delivery Driver in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at John Lewis & Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay on time Some managers look after you

    Cons

    Don’t listen Need better pay structure

    Continue reading
    John Lewis & Partners2020-02-22
  6. "Great for retail, still has its problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at John Lewis & Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing benefits, if you show you want Progression you can get it. Good for young people too. My coworkers are amazing, lovely people.

    Cons

    Some horrible managers, most good. A lot of abusive customers

    John Lewis & Partners2020-02-19
  7. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandise Assistant in London, England

    I have been working at John Lewis & Partners full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really good company culture. Currently undergoing big change that is sure to shake up the retail environment and improving company prospects for the benefit of partners.

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    John Lewis & Partners2020-02-19
  8. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Stock Management Partner 

    I worked at John Lewis & Partners full-time

    Pros

    Was a good work life balance

    Cons

    work on weekends, late finish.

    John Lewis & Partners2020-02-19
  9. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Selling Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at John Lewis & Partners full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You'll meet amazing people and friends for life. You truly do work as part of a kind team who thrive on helping each other.

    Cons

    Retail is uncertain, and it's reflected in all retail businesses.

    John Lewis & Partners2020-02-18
  10. "Clothes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at John Lewis & Partners part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly and very motivating environment to be in.

    Cons

    Nothing to be stated as a con

    Continue reading
    John Lewis & Partners2020-02-17

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 1471 reviews