Johnson Matthey Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Johnson Matthey Reviews

Updated 10 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
57%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Johnson Matthey CEO Robert MacLeod
Robert MacLeod
132 Ratings
Pros
  • "JM gives relatively Good benefits(in 33 reviews)

  • "Good salary, good working hours, free lunch, training provided for working tasks(in 24 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tooling Tech in Royston, East of England, England
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Johnson Matthey full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fair pay compared to others

    Cons

    None that spring to mind

    Johnson Matthey2019-07-26
  2. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CI Engineer in Royston, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Johnson Matthey full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing working at J M great place

    Cons

    none to talk about the company

    Advice to Management

    keep it up

    Johnson Matthey2019-10-31
  3. "Technical support at manufacturing plant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Development Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Johnson Matthey full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I enjoy what I do and we have a great team environment

    Cons

    Low salary and no career development prospects

    Johnson Matthey2019-10-08
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Scientist in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Johnson Matthey part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Family friendly attitude with good work-life balance Freedom to explore your own ideas

    Cons

    Lower salaries than other companies Have to fight for recognition for your work

    Advice to Management

    Start recognising the efforts and input from your scientific staff more

    Johnson Matthey2019-09-13
  5. "Overall good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Scientist 

    I have been working at Johnson Matthey full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance, flexibility, benefits and work environment

    Cons

    Slow career progression in research positions

    Johnson Matthey2019-09-08
  6. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Johnson Matthey full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work environment is good and friendly

    Cons

    Lack of training and career development

    Johnson Matthey2019-09-08
  7. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FP&A Analyst in Royston, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Johnson Matthey full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is good for role

    Cons

    Work life balance not great

    Johnson Matthey2019-08-22
  8. "Fantastic employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Johnson Matthey full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Invaluable experience gained whilst I was here thanks to a fantastic manager. Lots of opportunities when given the right leader and lots of good intentions from the company on improving engagement, career opportunities and development.

    Cons

    Pay was not always equal or fair in comparison to external market and colleagues. Lots of significant organisational changes regularly which wasn’t always understood

    Advice to Management

    Change is great and the communication when I left was the best it had ever been so continue to improve the communication of ‘why’ the changes are happening.

    Johnson Matthey2019-08-06
  9. "Good place to gain experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Johnson Matthey

    Pros

    Friendly environemnt, good company to help you develop your career.

    Cons

    Business systems are not good, lots of manual processes.

    Johnson Matthey2019-07-23
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Not Great."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Prototype Samples Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Johnson Matthey full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Money Shift - If you prefer that

    Cons

    Toxic Management Toxic Atmosphere Treated bad No Respect No room for growth Higher management getting involved in job interviews to keep you in the department

    Johnson Matthey2019-06-13
Found 365 reviews