Johnson & Johnson Scientist Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Johnson & Johnson Scientist Reviews

Updated 21 Apr 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 82 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Johnson & Johnson CEO Alex Gorsky
Alex Gorsky
27 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "A great place to work for if you don't mind a bit of internal politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist in High Wycombe, England
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Johnson & Johnson

    Pros

    I think that JnJ plays an important role in the development of new drugs and seems to do so in a fair and unbiased fashion. They work hard towards making our products available to people who would otherwise be unable to afford them. It is great to work for a company were it's size dictates that the working environment has to be comfortable and pleasant, the facilities modern and equipment is up to date. The company shows...

    Show More

    Cons

    With the size of the company it is easy to get lost as an individual - it is harder to be recognised when competing against so many others. With so many smaller companies making up JnJ as a whole it is difficult to work out what they all do and to ascertain how information could be shared better across the company as a whole. It can be frustrating seeing a change in the way everything is organised everytime someone new...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I would ask that they make promotions more transparent, and to make them consistent across the board. I think they would do better if they recognised incompetence and did something about it. Actions should be taken for a good reason and not just for the sake of it Get rid of business speak

    Johnson & Johnson2008-08-28
  2. Helpful (2)

    "A good place to work if your face fits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist in High Wycombe, England
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Johnson & Johnson

    Pros

    Job security. Once you are in, you are in for life! We are a diverse company which should mean we continue to be profitable even in economic downtimes. The social side is good, people very friendly with a good atmosphere. This comes from the staff rather than the managers.

    Cons

    Crazy promotions! Some people are promoted far beyond their abilities while others are held back. There are too many managers - some are excellent, some are very weak. We rely heavily on contactors. The hours can be long, and rewards are few. Company structure is extremely complicated. Budget for training is small.

    Advice to Management

    Be fairer about their promotions - and remember we don't need so many chiefs. Salaries could be better, and long hours and hard work should be rewarded.

    Johnson & Johnson2008-08-28
  3. "Great place to learn!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Scientist I in Cornelia, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Johnson & Johnson full-time

    Pros

    Too many learning opportunities. You don’t realize that until you work at other places. Independent work. Great work like balance

    Cons

    Hard to move up with company

    Advice to Management

    Create development opportunities

    Johnson & Johnson2019-04-21
  4. Helpful (1)

    "A good place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Johnson & Johnson full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Get paid well to do what I love (research). Good benefits, good amount of time off (3 weeks paid vacation plus floating holidays and 5 personal days). Get to work with really bright people.

    Cons

    As with any enormous company there is a lot of bureaucracy and politics

    Johnson & Johnson2018-07-13
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Empowering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Research Scientist in Raynham Center, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Johnson & Johnson full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Family, community, pay, career growth, benefits

    Cons

    Realignment, constant strategy changes, some bad managers

    Advice to Management

    Reach down past directors to determine if work life balance exists.

    Johnson & Johnson2018-07-04
  6. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Scientist 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Johnson & Johnson for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, salary, and career opportunities are amazing.

    Cons

    HR is not present onsite. The site could do a with a facelift especially in the office space.

    Johnson & Johnson2018-06-15
  7. "Do not join if you want to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist in Mumbai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Johnson & Johnson full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    HR policy are excellent

    Cons

    In R&D (Pharma)Mumbai, Management is extremely bad. Neither they work nor they let you do any improvement.

    Advice to Management

    Stop Hiring people from local company

    Johnson & Johnson2018-05-31
  8. "Associate Research Fellow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist in Milpitas, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Johnson & Johnson full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Relatively laid back, generous compensation package including 401k match, bonus, RSU, and pension. Good work life balance, summer allow working more daily to take every other Friday off.

    Cons

    Very slow company, but in my division pushing very hard in projects. IT the slowest I have ever worked. No growth opportunities.

    Johnson & Johnson2018-04-14
  9. "Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist in São José dos Campos, São Paulo
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Johnson & Johnson full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    culture, values, respect, mission, balance

    Cons

    Burocracy, slow, time-consuming, procedural, hierarchic.

    Johnson & Johnson2018-01-23
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Nightmare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Scientist in Spring House, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Johnson & Johnson full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some actual professionals intermingle with a bunch of wanna-bes.

    Cons

    Managers are entirely absentminded and no no room to grow especially at low-level.

    Advice to Management

    Find a way to look at all employees, not just scientist level and above.

    Johnson & Johnson2018-01-24
Found 82 reviews