Kainos Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Kainos Reviews

Updated 30 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
74%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Kainos CEO Brendan Mooney (no image)
Brendan Mooney
97 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great place to work overall with great people who are understanding of personal circumstances(in 16 reviews)

  • "Flexible working policy is also available(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Belfast is booming and many new American based companies coming in are simply paying far more(in 14 reviews)

  • "Currently growing at a massive rate and due to this is experiencing growing pains, but the company has acknowledged this and is acting on it(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Really great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Workday Consultant in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kainos full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Right approach to people who want a great career, with fair rewards while also enjoying the right work/life balance

    Cons

    Very few - the company has been growing very quickly so the normal growing pains exist but they acknowledge this and are pretty good at fixing the issues and communicating to staff during the process.

    Kainos2019-11-04
  2. "People, not cogs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kainos full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent benefits package, great people

    Cons

    Bad IT tools, too many communication channels

    Kainos2019-11-30
  3. "Great tech company in Belfast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trainee Placement Software Engineer in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kainos full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    £250 a year for each employee to spend on any learning-based skill is a great perk. Free coffee, breakfast and fruit in all offices is also a bonus.

    Cons

    Majority of projects require you to travel.

    Kainos2019-11-25
  4. "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Business Analyst 

    I have been working at Kainos full-time

    Pros

    salary, nice people to work with

    Cons

    a bit boring but it suited some people

    Kainos2019-11-13
  5. "Brilliant Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Apprentice Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kainos full-time

    Pros

    Excellent benefit package and personal growth opportunities

    Cons

    none to note so far

    Kainos2019-10-24
  6. Helpful (5)

    "A steady decline..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kainos full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Kainos have spent alot of time on employee welfare and small perks which make the life of some of it's employees better. Payday Drinks etc are great if that's up your street.

    Cons

    My personal experience of Kainos over 5 years has unfortunately just gone from bad to worse. I applied for a job online with a number of others, we were all offered the exact same position having applied for the same job, yet for some reason I was employed at a lower banding. It took me 2 years to get to the band which was the same as my colleagues, despite doing the exact same job. This is an ongoing theme in... Kainos also, a number of it's long-standing employees are doing senior jobs at a lower band, I known Product Owners and Senior Consultants on 3 different banding levels, this runs right through the business into Sales & Marketing also. What this ultimately does, is give these employees an incentive to leave. For me personally, it's not amount the money, but the banding determines your career progression, so for the entire time i've been at Kainos, whilst I have learnt alot, I feel that my career has been halted somewhat. I currently don't have a Job Description and my manager has changed 3-4 times in the past 12 months, so in terms of progression it feels that i've hit a complete dead end. There are a number of people in the Business who will feel they've been forgotten about and there is certainly a black hole within Kainos which has sucked up some of it's loyal and long standing people who have been forgotten about.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Banding needs to be fair, people doing the same jobs need to be on the same banding, end of story. Ensure that when people change roles, they are given an updated job description.

    Kainos2019-10-30
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Room for a lot of improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior PMO Analyst in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kainos full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits Flexible working Most people are supportive

    Cons

    Poor salary in comparison to other technology companies in the same location

    Advice to Management

    Credit where credit is due - know what a person does before setting their salary

    Kainos2019-09-25
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Not what people think it is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Specialist in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kainos full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free fruit and cereal Working from home

    Cons

    Basically your made to feel like you have to get the work done even if jt is in your own time.

    Advice to Management

    Fair salaries for employees.

    Kainos2019-09-23
  9. "Good place to work, great people, some interesting projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kainos full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The caliber of people is very high

    Cons

    Cramped office spaces, there is an expectation that you have to travel.

    Kainos2019-09-12
  10. "Good company but needs to be vigilant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dev Ops in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kainos full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some great people at the company. Really top notch engineers and technical architects who you can learn a lot from. Some very interesting projects and tech stacks. Travel opportunities are plentiful (which is a perk if you like travel) Generous when it comes to working from home. Pretty good career progression if you put the effort in. There's no doubt about it; Kainos still has a good reputation... in Ireland. It's still a good name to have on your CV.

    Show More

    Cons

    Company dropped out of Top 100 companies this year on the Times list, but still implies it is a top 100 company. This is disingenuous. Travel opportunities are plentiful (which is a negative if you don't like or cannot travel). There is a sense that Kainos will take on any customer, even if the customer is dreadful, difficult to work with and the work is awful and it has a detrimental effect on frontline... staff. This seems to have become more of an issue after the company went public. Pay is definitely an issue, but that's not only a problem with Kainos. I think the issue is with the notorious "benchmarking" tech companies in Belfast do. They only seem to benchmark against the old boys club (companies who have been here 15+ years). So the likes of Liberty, Kainos and AllState think they are on point with tech sector pay in Belfast, but in reality the tech sector in Belfast is booming and many new American based companies coming in are simply paying far more. So, benchmarking and salaries is an area of concern. Which is part of... Retention. While Kainos does have amazing people, it isn't doing that well retaining them. Incredibly experienced, highly skilled staff are simply walking out the door for better jobs and opportunities at rates which would make most People/HR teams shudder. On call can be an issue for teams, but again, this isn't just a Kainos issue. On call can be a major pain point for a lot of tech professionals in lots of companies.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You are doing a lot of things really well, but you need to really make retention your number 1 priority. If you flood the place with inexpensive, inexperienced 18 year olds, that might make your company more profitable for a while but longer term top talent will simply go elsewhere and your company will suffer accordingly.

    Kainos2019-09-02
Found 128 reviews