Kang Chiao Bilingual School Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Kang Chiao Bilingual School Reviews

Updated 13 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
46%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Kushan
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Kang Chiao Bilingual School full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good people, nice environment, well development

    Cons

    I don't have much to complain about it.

    Continue reading
    Kang Chiao Bilingual School2019-11-14
  2. "Average school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Teacher 

    I have been working at Kang Chiao Bilingual School full-time

    Pros

    Free lunch and housing allowance

    Cons

    Rigid management, large class sizes

    Kang Chiao Bilingual School2019-11-03
  3. "Working at Kang Chiao"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - English Language Teacher in Taipei
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Kang Chiao Bilingual School full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The school is pretty large so many things (lesson plans, marking, assignments and projects) are standardized. This is something I was looking for in school so it works out well for me. Some teachers want more freedom and a more western/American classroom and lesson plans. The pay is good and Chinese New Year and summer holidays are decent. We are always paid on time. 8:00-4:30 working hours. There are many foreign teachers at the school. The city is cheap.

    Cons

    There is a bit of admin to get done. The director micromanages a bit too much, making it hard to make decisions that will benefit the students and teachers. Many schools in Taiwan have teachers work on Saturday to make up for days missed.

    Continue reading
    Kang Chiao Bilingual School2019-08-16
  4. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Teacher 

    I worked at Kang Chiao Bilingual School full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cheap city and great students

    Cons

    Too much work to be done

    Continue reading
    Kang Chiao Bilingual School2019-07-11
  5. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - English Teacher in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Kang Chiao Bilingual School full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice school very nice children

    Cons

    Management does not always knows what is going on inside thr school anf then make ridiculous laws.

    Kang Chiao Bilingual School2019-04-07
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Not the best, but not the worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Foreign Teacher 
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Kang Chiao Bilingual School full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Company pays for professional development - They have a lot of procedures already in place

    Cons

    - Office politics can sometimes be troublesome. - Employee reviews are often opaque - Sometimes have to work weekends without extra pay

    Kang Chiao Bilingual School2019-02-25
  7. "If you want to be treated like a student then this is the place for you."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Elementary English Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Kang Chiao Bilingual School full-time

    Pros

    -cheap cost of living -students are great -good co workers

    Cons

    -far from Shanghai -boring rural city -no classroom supplies given -dirty bathrooms -awful management -can't leave campus throughout the day when you have free time -director doesn't care about the students -clock in/clock out system like we're working at McDonald's -school does not respect teachers AT ALL -everything is disorganized -work on weekends from time to time -no curriculum -ITS A JOKE OF A SCHOOL

    Continue reading
    Kang Chiao Bilingual School2019-02-21
  8. "Worst experience of my life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - K1 Teacher in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Kang Chiao Bilingual School full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    cheap rent - that is it

    Cons

    You have to ask so many questions at this school, nothing is communicated to you. The staff here no very little English, very hard to engage in covo. The food is disgusting - bones all through the meat and its not fresh and healthy. You must clock in and out before specific times or you will not be paid full amount. The gym is tiny and very dirty. The staff here treat you like you are 5 years old and not a adult, they believe their own Chinese people over you. The foreign teachers at this school are all loud, over weight, obnoxious Americans who dress in baggy sweaty "joggers" and over sized hoodies - also they go home to smoke weed during their lunch breaks.. very professional. There is no sympathy at all at this school. Honestly you are stuck in the middle of no where - you must catch a taxi to the metro and good luck waving a taxi down - the locals here don't speak a word of English let alone know how to read. You are the last metro stop on the line to the city. takes a good 2.5 hours to actually get into the center of Shanghai. One small supermarket here that I would barely call a supermarket back home, no shops etc. I would call this place rural china. I would not recommend anyone to go to this school, also the other foreign teachers are so catty and they act like they are in high school. People at this school often do a midnight run.. work here and you will find out what that means.

    Continue reading
    Kang Chiao Bilingual School2019-01-16
  9. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Kang Chiao Bilingual School full-time

    Pros

    Easy teaching load, decent pay

    Cons

    Long school year, long school day

    Kang Chiao Bilingual School2018-12-13
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Awful administration, some nice co-workers...look elsewhere for a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Foreign Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Kang Chiao Bilingual School full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is a large community of co-workers, including foreigners and locals, who are really great people.

    Cons

    1) Management will occasionally skim some money off the top of your paycheck and there's no way to "prove" it, per say, because management won't provide you with an itemized pay stub with detailed info about deductions, payments, etc. 2) The information you get from your direct boss (i.e., middle management) will sometimes be totally contradictory to the real policies that are actually implemented. 3) There is a huge divide between foreigners, mainland Chinese, and Taiwanese staff. This divide may be intentionally perpetuated by some members of administration. 4) The school does nothing substantial to help you get used to living in this new culture. 5) Hygiene is very low, even by local standards. Bathrooms don't have soap or hot water. 6) At every possible opportunity, administration will find opportunities to cut corners in order to save on costs with total disregard to the quality of the education.

    Continue reading
    Kang Chiao Bilingual School2018-11-27
Found 35 reviews