Ketchum Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Ketchum Reviews

Updated 8 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
68%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Ketchum CEO Barri Rafferty
Barri Rafferty
43 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people, clients and the work is great(in 23 reviews)

  • "Sociable culture, great clients to work on with opportunity to work and experience different clients(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "Terrible work/life balance especially for entry-level to mid-level employees(in 46 reviews)

  • "Fexible WFH but very long hours(in 33 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in London, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Ketchum full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sociable culture, great clients to work on with opportunity to work and experience different clients.

    Cons

    Account work flow can be pretty uneven meaning that sometimes you can leave on time but other times you’ll have to work late or on weekends in order to manage.

    Ketchum2019-09-15
  2. "Good atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ketchum full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great female representation within the senior ranks of the organisation who are an inspiration in the business world. Great benefits available to staff as well as great office location and office environment.

    Cons

    The longer I stayed, the more I felt an air of two-facedness and favouritism amongst the senior leadership team. I found it difficult to navigate the political barriers. I worked in a lean team so found it difficult to be more strategic as I needed to spend so much of my time doing the role of someone more junior.

    Ketchum2019-11-18
  3. "Good place to work overall but very hierarchical"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends

    I worked at Ketchum full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Get to work with lots of people across the agency, really talented people

    Cons

    Can be a small fish in a big pond, some team structures weren’t right

    Ketchum2019-07-18
  4. "Not a good agency to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Executive in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Ketchum full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good variety of big name clients

    Cons

    Very hierarchical. Shallow, vacuous culture. Little effort to understand clients business in any depth.

    Advice to Management

    Reward good quality work rather than those who about loudest

    Ketchum2019-07-11
  5. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ketchum full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work, loads of flex

    Cons

    I don't have any cons to report

    Advice to Management

    Continue with the positive strategies

    Ketchum2019-02-23
  6. "Overall a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance in London, England
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ketchum full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great office culture, clear structure and good communication between management and staff

    Cons

    Sometimes a little bit "cliquey"

    Ketchum2018-08-26
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Ketchum London"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ketchum full-time

    Pros

    A great place to work. Interesting clients. Nurturing and supportive culture. Good work/life balance. Doing work that makes a difference.

    Cons

    None. None. None. None. None. None. None. None. None.None. None. None. None. None. None. None. None. None. None. None. None.

    Advice to Management

    It is vital that we are always hiring the very best people who can deliver what on the requirements of our clients.

    Ketchum2018-07-20
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Where people do NOT matter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ketchum full-time

    Pros

    Maybe the salary is a bit higher than in other advertising agencies.

    Cons

    The management is horrible. They say they care about their people but they actually don't. I had a very bad experience with someone who didn't want to manage anybody. Culture was also bad, I've never felt part of the company, even of a team.

    Advice to Management

    Review your management strategy and listen more to people (not only senior people).

    Ketchum2018-03-06
  9. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ketchum full-time

    Pros

    Great clients, clever colleagues. Fast paced and interesting work

    Cons

    Completely profit orientated. People only seen as counters, totally taken for granted and not fairly rewarded

    Advice to Management

    See people as humans rather than money

    Ketchum2018-02-04
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Challenging and rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ketchum full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great clients, smart people, opportunities to learn and create your own path. I've found that if you're clear about what you want from your career and there's a strong business case for it, things will happen for you. It's a rewarding place to work if you have ambition and a plan.

    Cons

    Some senior management are very old school and lack dynamism. Politics can get in the way of doing the best possible work.

    Advice to Management

    Keep giving the ambitious go-getters the platform to succeed, and hire more junior staff to allow for upward development

    Ketchum2017-12-18
Found 410 reviews