Kimley-Horn Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Kimley-Horn Reviews

Updated Oct 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 375 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Kimley-Horn CEO 	Steve Lefton
Steve Lefton
37 Ratings
Pros
  • "You can't beat the 401k match and profit sharing that Kimley-Horn has(in 40 reviews)

  • "Colleagues tend to be really great people all around(in 31 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work-Life balance is difficult at times but when you are in the consulting field you have to accept that(in 79 reviews)

  • "Long Hours and high expectations(in 43 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Kimley-Horn full-time

    Pros

    treats their employees really well

    Cons

    there are no cons at this company

    Kimley-Horn2019-10-10
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kimley-Horn full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great compensation benefits. Management and supervisors are invested in your career development.

    Cons

    45 to 50 hours per week. People who put more hours in get promoted faster

    Advice to Management

    Management should encourage analysts to have a work life balance.

    Kimley-Horn2019-10-09
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Intern 

    I worked at Kimley-Horn full-time

    Pros

    Let me do my thing

    Cons

    there are no cons of working here

    Kimley-Horn2019-09-30
  4. "summer internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Intern 

    I worked at Kimley-Horn full-time

    Pros

    very nice people to work with and give you great experience

    Cons

    I didn't get an offer and emailed HR to see how I could improve for future employees and never heard back

    Kimley-Horn2019-09-25
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great People To Work With"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Civil Analyst in Orange, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kimley-Horn full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Colleagues tend to be really great people all around. The company actually promotes and encourages your individual success. Great compensation, benefits, and profit sharing(even for new staff).

    Cons

    Expect longer hours then average. The push for growth can feel taxing

    Advice to Management

    Make sure younger staff can have their limits for workload. Without explicit right to do so, younger staff often can feel too much individual, and group pressure to advance, professionally, at a pace that is unsustainable; Often resulting in burnout.

    Kimley-Horn2019-09-09
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Love what you do"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kimley-Horn full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Transparent culture. Great bonuses and retirement plan. Fantastic people

    Cons

    Management is getting harder to connect with as we grow.

    Advice to Management

    Fight bureaucracy. Stay accessible. And remember “because others do it” has never been why we do things at KH.

    Kimley-Horn2019-08-26
  7. "Wonderful company to work for, feels like family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Administrative Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kimley-Horn full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I feel challenged in the best way, heard, important, and valued. Kimley-Horn feels like family, not a firm.

    Cons

    Work/life balance is pretty difficult, even as an admin

    Kimley-Horn2019-08-29
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Everything You Could Ever Want"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in West Palm Beach, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kimley-Horn full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Outstanding Benefits. Retirement is the best anywhere with a 450% match on up to 4% of salary AND bonus. Incentives to reward performance that isn't tied to popularity but to your impact. Great atmosphere and I look forward to coming to work every day!!

    Cons

    We work. If a client needs something, they get it. This takes a lot of dedication and commitment that will require some effort beyond a 40 hour week. Keeping a balance between home/work is encouraged but can be difficult without self awareness.

    Advice to Management

    Remember what got you here. Don't change what is working.

    Kimley-Horn2019-08-22
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great place for those who work hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Civil EIT in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kimley-Horn full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Industry leading benefits, great office culture, firm-wide resources available at a moments notice, and compensation that matches your effort. I've seen a lot of people on here that complain about the long hours to meet their utilization (UT) goal. If you are working 50+ hours a week, like these other people say, then you would have no problem meeting your UT goal at all. Also, if there is an issue, all my PMs and... office leadership have made it clear that any and all questions are welcome. Also, KH is an extra effort firm, we pride ourselves on working harder than the other firms and delivering a better product; and everyone is generously compensated based on this extra effort, if you are willing to give it.

    Show More

    Cons

    There is a very large emphasis on profitability, which I completely understand, but it seems to overshadow the engineering side of things at times. The speed of work can be daunting at times, but talking with your supervisor/PM will help solve some of those issues.

    Advice to Management

    Continue being transparent about company culture and expectations.

    Kimley-Horn2019-08-18
  10. "Excellent place to grow a practice and a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kimley-Horn full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The culture is amazing - it's hard to believe how much fun we have while still working pretty hard. The benefits are unmatched (they are really as good as advertised), the compensation is strong, and performance is rewarded. Everyone has an opportunity to share in the success of the firm. I also love the ownership structure - privately held and many hundreds of owners across the firm with no one person... controlling more than a small percentage. You really feel like you are working for each other at "the Horn", and not for Wall Street or a few select owners. Working here at first requires a bit of faith and trust, but for smart, motivated people, it pays off in spades.

    Show More

    Cons

    Working here requires some extra effort, but mostly it requires passion and energy.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work, and keep shifting office space to downtowns where possible - that's where the smart young talent wants to work.

    Kimley-Horn2019-08-21
Found 375 reviews