Kindred Healthcare Reviews

Updated Jul 26, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2,040 of over 2,124 reviews

3.2
56%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Kindred Healthcare President and CEO Benjamin A. Breier
Benjamin A. Breier
520 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good Benefits and Career Advancement(in 43 reviews)

  • "Good pay, remote work environment option(in 42 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management was not attentive(in 73 reviews)

  • "Only cares about money, not patient care(in 53 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Not the place it used to be

      Jul 24, 2021 - RN Clinical Supervisor in Chesterfield, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The employees are good and the work is valuable and necessary for the patients.

      Cons

      Leadership recently changed and with that change came an entirely different environment. There is a new CEO and he owns all of the decision making not including anyone else, including nursing decisions and he isn't a nurse. The new CNO doesn't have any leadership experience and follows the CEO nodding her head yes no matter if she agrees with him or not. They are hurting the clinical staff and it was said "I care about the numbers not about the people" in a nursing leader meeting. The trust is gone and fear has replaced it. This isn't Mercy, it only says Mercy on the outside of the building, this is a for profit facility who doesn't care about anything but the money.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Market Awareness

      Jul 24, 2021 - Executive Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Sound regulatory and reimbursement understanding and strategies

      Cons

      Very much driven by REIT vulnerabilities and quarterly earnings as they were a publicly traded company at the time.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great for experience

      Jul 25, 2021 - Registered Nurse in Highland, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Learned many things at this hospital

      Cons

      Positions for advancement are limited

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good to start as a new grads

      Jul 25, 2021 - ICU RN in Gardena, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Get a position easy with descent pay as a first year RN

      Cons

      Management need to be improved. They often need to correct pay checks!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Not really sure as of yet

      Jul 17, 2021 - Registered Respiratory Therapist (RRT) 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary is good, negotiations were somewhat easy, and the people seem to be nice. Only here a short time, but they seem easy to work with for the most part.

      Cons

      The staffing leaves a lot to be desired. Seems that the big impetus is financial. I get that it is a business, but the staffing needs to increase across the board. I also feel as though I entered a time machine and went BACK 20 years. Paper rules the day here. My responsibilities are at least 60% secretarial on nights. If I had known then what I know now...

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Kindred Healthcare Response

      Manager of Online Reputation

      Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. -Keenan B.

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Working Environment

      Jul 7, 2021 - Physical Therapist in Ballston Lake, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working for Kindred has been the best decision I have made in the past few years as a Physical Therapist. We had a change in our Executive Director and now our working environment is positive and extremely support with all the office staff and clinicians. We are flourishing!

      Cons

      No cons at this time

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Kindred Healthcare Response

      Manager of Online Reputation

      We are happy you shared your experience with us. Our employees are at the core of our mission! -Keenan B.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work!

      Jul 17, 2021 - Respiratory Therapist in San Leandro, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Professionalism, advocacy, rehabilitation, Hope, recovery,

      Cons

      No emergency , long term care, not acute care, less salary, less staffing

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Overall, they were good

      Jul 7, 2021 - COTA%2C COTA%2FL in Oakland, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They offered up to $500 per year for CEUs or equipment needed for work which was great.

      Cons

      The system in general is flawed and our regional director at the time was more concerned about making money than the actual ethics of treating patients.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Kindred Healthcare Response

      Manager of Online Reputation

      Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. -Keenan B.

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Chief clinical officer

      Jul 14, 2021 - Chief Clinical Officer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It’s a fulfilling and awarding job

      Cons

      Long hours and lots of organizations required

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Kindred Healthcare Response

      Manager of Online Reputation

      Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. -Keenan B.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      Jul 14, 2021 - Registered Nurse 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent staff and community. Pay is good.

      Cons

      None that I can think of.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Kindred Healthcare Response

      Manager of Online Reputation

      We appreciate your sharing your experience working on our team. -Keenan B.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,040 Reviews

    Work at Kindred Healthcare? Share Your Experiences

    Kindred Healthcare logo
    or