L'Oréal Reviews in Canada | Glassdoor.co.uk

L'Oréal Canada Reviews

Updated 11 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 86 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
L'Oréal CEO Jean-Paul Agon
Jean-Paul Agon
29 Ratings
  1. "Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Career opportunities, many perks, training, dynamic teams, creative

    Cons

    Human ressources can sometimes treat you like a number since it is a big company

    L'Oréal2018-01-20

    L'Oréal Response

    February 2, 2018L'Oréal Talent Team

    Dear former colleague, yes we all agree that L’Oréal is a place where you work with very dynamic, creative & empowered people but at the same time they are open, fun & curious. We strive to foster many career opportunities, trainings& benefits. In the end, you are well ...

    Show More
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Non-Stop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Exposure to a wide-ranging set of technologies and experiences

    Cons

    The pay is a bit below market value

    Advice to Management

    I would strongly recommend reducing the large gap in career development between the business and IT

    L'Oréal2018-01-14

    L'Oréal Response

    February 2, 2018L'Oréal Talent Team

    Dear former colleague, we are delighted that you shared your past working experiences. Thank you for your great feedback. We really value it. We wish you a successful career. Yang

  3. Helpful (5)

    "Group Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Group Manager in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people that work here for the most part (barring HR and top management) are great! You have the opportunity to work on some pretty cool projects. Location of office is amazing and very central.

    Cons

    You are only as good as your last presentation. Your managers and HR are constantly judging you and putting you in categories- Fast track? Poor performer? Be prepared to play politics...hard. If you don’t want to play the game-get out. Bravo you’ve been promoted to a new division. Not really. Now you have to re-prove yourself all over again. I’ve heard it over and over again - everyone is replaceable. Nope you aren’t...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    For some reason you are able to recruit some pretty amazing people. Treat them that way. You are spending so much energy trying to recruit new talent, what about trying to retain your old talent? No one should be allowed to belittle their employees but I have seen managers do it time and time again. Unfortunately they are still there. Their employees aren’t. Hmmm??

    L'Oréal2017-12-03
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Very unhealthy + Extreme workload + Bullying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good on your CV - Learn to be a slave, so all your future jobs with seem easy - Bonus and benefits are good

    Cons

    - Bullying, cliques of people - No work-life balance and extreme workload - No humanity, you are a number and always replaceable - They only care about numbers, not about the employees - Not ethical, even though they claim to be - HR does not care about you, they listen to the higher ups. - You will work weekends all the time and it is never enough. - If you divide your salary with the amount of hours, you make...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The culture of this company needs to change. Treat your employees like humans, not slaves. Care about your people. I was bullied by my own boss for 2 years and HR did nothing so I left. Ended up in a burnout. Trust me, it's NOT worth it.

    L'Oréal2017-11-09
  5. "High Stress, Great Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    perks, products and opportunity to progress quickly. A lot of responsibility at a young age

    Cons

    pay below industry average, high levels of stress all the time, pressure to relocate frequently

    L'Oréal2017-10-18
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Just a number"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - benefits - discount - beautiful office and location - looks good on a CV - a lot of opportunity to grow

    Cons

    - Human Resources (not human at all) - no recognition for the work that is done - very aggressive culture.. people will do whatever they have to do to get ahead

    Advice to Management

    Recognize your employees who work and challenge the status quo.. not just the ones who attend the cocktail hour and know who to befriend. This is not a popularity contest. This is a business.

    L'Oréal2017-10-02
  7. "Sales Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Coordinator in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, early Fridays, work from home twice a month, mat leave top-up, discounts on products, working in the downtown core

    Cons

    Management can barely say good morning to you if you aren't at their level, HR doesn't care about your development, lack of training, in many positions there is very little work-life balance

    Advice to Management

    Say hello to everyone including the janitor. Realize all the people going on burnout is because you are giving them way too much. Look like you CARE about your people.

    L'Oréal2017-08-28
  8. "Marketing Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing company and fast growing. Very well branded.

    Cons

    Looking for new industry to be apart of.

    Advice to Management

    You're amazing and very on top of your employee needs

    L'Oréal2017-08-13
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Integrated Communications LEader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Integrated Communications Leader in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Very dynamic, new projects, fast-pace, very nice co-workers, Intrapreneurial vision.

    Cons

    Work in silos, heavy internal politics, higher-management don't build teams and careers they boss around everyone without building future talents.

    L'Oréal2017-06-08
  10. Helpful (13)

    "Great Opportunities + Great Learning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at L'Oréal for more than 3 years

    Pros

    L`Oreal is a place where you can learn a tremendous amount You eat what you cook = you work hard, you will get rewarded The people are incredible, kind and intelligent and make coming into work a pleasure The diversity of backgrounds create a inclusive atmosphere The professional division is a great place to learn, strive and cooperate (my favorite division)

    Cons

    Improvement in integration in role Credit should be given where credit is due ;)

    Advice to Management

    Reward the managers who develop their teams and develop individuals (yes its about the numbers but its about people too)

    L'Oréal2017-03-07

    L'Oréal Response

    March 14, 2017HR Digital

    First of all, thank you for giving us your insights! You’ve been part of the team for over 3 years and that speaks volumes. I love that you mentioned our diversity. It’s true we have a wide variety of people that work here. The chances are you will learn about new cultures, perspectives, ...

    Show More
Found 86 reviews