L'Oréal Canada Reviews

Updated 25 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
59%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
L'Oréal Chief Executive Officer Jean-Paul Agon
Jean-Paul Agon
33 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Marketing Assistant"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Assistant in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great starting salary - Fun and open environment - If you have passion for the industry, you will be amazed at what goes on behind the scenes - Option to work from home during the year - Finish at 3pm on Fridays in the fall/winter and 12:30pm on Fridays in the summer - Great benefits

    Cons

    - Barely anyone finished at 5pm -- Sometimes you notice, sometimes you don't. But it evens out when you get to leave early on Fridays, so there's no complaining there. If you love your team, staying later isn't as bad as people make it seem.

    L'Oréal2018-03-14

    L'Oréal Response

    April 16, 2018L'Oréal Talent Team

    Dear colleague , Thanks for sharing your great feedback. We are glad you really define exactely what the journey with l’oréal is like . When passionate and amazing people come together as Team, the magic happens. We are very glad to hear you appreciate the early Friday leaves, you deserve it! Yang.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Fast-moving & Challenging but mostly nurturing"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Trainee in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Dynamic team Wide range of potential growth Young culture Several projects conducted simultaneously

    Cons

    Big business also means slow operational change in time of need

    L'Oréal2018-03-07

    L'Oréal Response

    April 5, 2018L'Oréal Talent Team

    Dear Colleague, thanks for taking time to share your feedback. We are glad that you are experiencing some positives. Our cuture is to share the beauty with all and empower billions of people to be self-worth every day. That’s why we surround ourselves with other dynamic, potential and diverse 82 600 people to lead the Beauty innovation to the next level for all across 34 international brands and 140 countries. Yang.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Training Ground for New Grads!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Management Trainee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    L'Oreal was a great training place for new grads. Having been part of the commercial management trainee program, I was able to learn much about the retail landscape managing my own territory as well as get AC Nielsen training & insights from the KAM's. There was a lot of flexibility being on the road - a role that was less stressful than my marketing/finance counterparts. Benefits were great.

    Cons

    Although I never experienced it first hand, it seems that my marketing counterparts were often overworked or unhappy. Sales generally thrived in the fast paced L'Oreal environment.

    L'Oréal2018-03-09

    L'Oréal Response

    April 5, 2018L'Oréal Talent Team

    Dear Colleague , Thanks for sharing your feedback . We’re so glad you have such positive experience. . If you feel like your work and life are getting out of balance consistently, please do connect with your Manager to discuss how you can make this better work for you. Perhaps there are flexible working opportunities which could help. Thank you , Yang.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "A doctor for me and my family whenever I need one!! What??????"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time

    Pros

    Always keep raising the bar and reinvent! L'Oreal employees have access to on-line doctor. You just sign in register, then you speak to a nurse you can be given an apt within the same day or are connected right away. The doctor acctualy takes time to discuss with you . Then does his diagnosis and sends the perscritpion your your pharmacy! I mean I did this twice at the comfort of my home saved my so much TIME and worry! My pediatrician was only avialble 3 days afterwards. I can't say enough about this service. Thank you L'Oreal now that makes my life so much easier!!!!!!!

    Cons

    There is always room for improvement.

    Continue reading
    L'Oréal2018-02-09
  5. "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Carreer and Training opportunities Challenging place where you can develop yourself Leading sustainable company

    Cons

    Needs to be dedicated and implicated as an employee

    L'Oréal2018-01-29

    L'Oréal Response

    February 2, 2018L'Oréal Talent Team

    Dear colleague, yes we agree that L’Oréal is a great place to work. Especially as there are many training opportunities for you to develop professionally. Thank you for your dedication and best of luck, Yang

  6. "Regulatory Affairs"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regulatory Affairs in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very dynamic company, #1 position in the market,

    Cons

    Workload was an issue but has been mostly resolved in the last years

    L'Oréal2018-01-24

    L'Oréal Response

    February 2, 2018L'Oréal Talent Team

    Dear colleague, Thanks for taking time to submit a review. I’m glad you see the progression in work life balance, we are constantly rethinking our Share & Care policies to best adapt to our peoples’ needs. Have a good day. Yang

  7. "Finance"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Career opportunities, many perks, training, dynamic teams, creative

    Cons

    Human ressources can sometimes treat you like a number since it is a big company

    L'Oréal2018-01-20

    L'Oréal Response

    February 2, 2018L'Oréal Talent Team

    Dear former colleague, yes we all agree that L’Oréal is a place where you work with very dynamic, creative & empowered people but at the same time they are open, fun & curious. We strive to foster many career opportunities, trainings& benefits. In the end, you are well learned, informed & inspired to carry on in your profession. Thank you for submitting a review and sharing your past experiences. We really value it. We wish you a very successful career.Yang

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Non-Stop"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Exposure to a wide-ranging set of technologies and experiences

    Cons

    The pay is a bit below market value

    Continue reading
    L'Oréal2018-01-14

    L'Oréal Response

    February 2, 2018L'Oréal Talent Team

    Dear former colleague, we are delighted that you shared your past working experiences. Thank you for your great feedback. We really value it. We wish you a successful career. Yang

  9. Helpful (6)

    "Group Manager"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Group Manager in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people that work here for the most part (barring HR and top management) are great! You have the opportunity to work on some pretty cool projects. Location of office is amazing and very central.

    Cons

    You are only as good as your last presentation. Your managers and HR are constantly judging you and putting you in categories- Fast track? Poor performer? Be prepared to play politics...hard. If you don’t want to play the game-get out. Bravo you’ve been promoted to a new division. Not really. Now you have to re-prove yourself all over again. I’ve heard it over and over again - everyone is replaceable. Nope you aren’t special. Sorry. Transparency is not king. Everything is hush hush. Rumours are constantly flying.

    Continue reading
    L'Oréal2017-12-03
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Very unhealthy + Extreme workload + Bullying"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good on your CV - Learn to be a slave, so all your future jobs with seem easy - Bonus and benefits are good

    Cons

    - Bullying, cliques of people - No work-life balance and extreme workload - No humanity, you are a number and always replaceable - They only care about numbers, not about the employees - Not ethical, even though they claim to be - HR does not care about you, they listen to the higher ups. - You will work weekends all the time and it is never enough. - If you divide your salary with the amount of hours, you make less than minimum salary - Prepare yourself for international VP visits during which you will not sleep for over a month - Only for extraverts, A type personalities. - They want everyone to be the same, they do not focus on strengths.

    Continue reading
    L'Oréal2017-11-09
Found 86 reviews