L'Oréal Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

L'Oréal Manager Reviews

Updated 16 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 554 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
L'Oréal CEO Jean-Paul Agon
Jean-Paul Agon
252 Ratings
  1. "Senior Category Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Category Manager in Hammersmith, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced. Top Global CPG company in Beauty. Fantastic NPD.

    Cons

    Hours. Lack of process. Lack of professionals in the organization with enough experience.

    L'Oréal2016-08-20
  2. "TM Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trade Marketing Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People values opportunities progression career

    Cons

    Time pressure stress undervalued overworked

    Advice to Management

    Work life balance

    L'Oréal2016-03-01
  3. "Good place to learn & experience. Fast, dynamic & demanding environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of experience across many elements of the business. Exceptional brands & products surrounded by a young, bright & ambitious team.

    Cons

    Nothing is impossible culture can be very demanding on the individual. Not always rewarded for merit but rather how loud one shouts.

    Advice to Management

    Give more direction, autonomy & support to teams.

    L'Oréal2016-02-04
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Fast-paced, meritocratic, intense"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Group Product Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Bright, warm, confident people to work with. Great opportunities for responsibility young in your career. Huge selection of beautiful brands to work on.

    Cons

    Can be stressful - the "nothing is impossible" mentality is a blessing and a curse.

    L'Oréal2015-12-15
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Operations manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Bury, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal

    Pros

    Innovative, fast paced, good culture,

    Cons

    Demanding, not on par with work life balance

    Advice to Management

    Listen more and to progress be more flexible

    L'Oréal2015-12-15
  6. "Senior category manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Category Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at L'Oréal for less than a year

    Pros

    Top beauty CPG company in the world

    Cons

    Lack of experience in office. Lack of structure. UK work ethic

    L'Oréal2015-07-29
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great name for CV but challenging environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work with great brands Great name to have on your CV If you can survive a few years here you can work anywhere

    Cons

    Very hierarchal Not a very diverse organisation Ruled from Paris, if you want to advance your career you have to factor in a period of time there Badly trained managers

    Advice to Management

    Root out the bad managers and dead wood - there's quite a lot of it. You need to have more operating model reviews so people don't get too comfortable in their roles. Having people in the same roles for over 5 years is wrong and you lose good talent because they're blocking promotions

    L'Oréal2015-07-20
  8. "Good and bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Account Manager in London, England

    I have been working at L'Oréal

    Pros

    People, brands, work, speed, responsibility, work smart

    Cons

    Hours, pay, progression, transparency, judgement

    L'Oréal2015-07-03
  9. "Loreal Employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Eastbourne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time

    Pros

    Beautiful effective products, given allocation of £172,50 twice a year retail value. Also given products at training to try. Given uniform .

    Cons

    As an Account Manager the Salary was very hard to survive on independently. Having so many famous models i felt it would have been more appropriate to reward front line staff ( Clarins currently employ no famous people to promote products that im aware of)

    Advice to Management

    Provide more support and more store visits .Ensure staff get expenses back and supply tools to achieve or exceed targets.

    L'Oréal2015-07-13
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Tend to treat people like robots"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - National Account Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Passionate and intelligent people, amazing brands

    Cons

    Senior Mangement treat people like they are disposable. Pressure enormous and fast pace means extremely long hours and no work like balance. New Work Smart program isn't working

    Advice to Management

    Work on treating employees like human beings and they will respond by showing real long term commitment to the company. HR need to focus on success planning.

    L'Oréal2015-05-31

    L'Oréal Response

    June 9, 2015Employer Branding Manager

    First, thanks for taking the time to give us feedback on your experience at L'Oréal UK. We're sad to hear your view on our senior management as well as that the Work Smart Program isn't working. When we implemented Work Smart half a year ago, we knew that it would take time for ...

    Show More
Found 554 reviews