L'Oréal Marketing Assistant Reviews

Updated 9 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
81%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
L'Oréal Chief Executive Officer Jean-Paul Agon
Jean-Paul Agon
18 Ratings
  1. "Impossible Workload"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Assistant in Hammersmith, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice group of people and work is varied and exciting.

    Cons

    So much work it's hard to complete any task to the level you'd like.

    Continue reading
    L'Oréal2019-09-23
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Bo-ring"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Marketing Controller in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal

    Pros

    The free/discounted products, the working hours, the canteen, the summer working hours, some of the social events

    Cons

    Applicable to the finance department: Very top-down driven, hard to get involved in stuff outside your tasks, you cannot change the way things are done

    Continue reading
    L'Oréal2015-02-09
  3. "open minded culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Assistant in Taipei
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible working hours and always encourage new ideas to share with the company

    Cons

    stressful during the campaign launch season

    L'Oréal2019-10-09

    L'Oréal Response

    October 28, 2019Global content and employee engagement manager

    Hello, It's a pleasure to see such a positive review. We’re very proud of our workplace and the unique benefits we are able to offer! Flex work is one of the possibilities at L'Oréal. We’re glad to hear about your positive experience and wish you continued success as you grow your career with us. Have a lovely day, Madeline

  4. Helpful (3)

    "Amazing brand, horrible culture and upwork mobility"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Assistant 

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - free makeup (or 50% off) - you meet some incredibly smart people

    Cons

    - you meet some incredibly ignorant people - very French culture that is not inviting or collaborative

    L'Oréal2019-08-28
  5. "Great opportunities within the company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time

    Pros

    You learn to navigate in a fast paced environment

    Cons

    There can be very little work life balance

    L'Oréal2019-08-20
  6. "Operational Marketing Assistant"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Operational Marketing Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal for less than a year

    Pros

    good environment, great canteen, good first experience for internship

    Cons

    Lot of work load at times, have to fit in the "loreal culture"

    Continue reading
    L'Oréal2019-08-12
  7. "Great experience - internship"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Digital Marketing Assistant in Brussels

    I worked at L'Oréal for less than a year

    Pros

    - You learn a lot - You have the same responsabilities as an actual employee - I had the chance to work with a supportive manager - You will learn to work in a fast-paced environment

    Cons

    - It is a very competitive environment - You don't count your work hours

    L'Oréal2019-07-01

    L'Oréal Response

    November 14, 2019Global content and employee engagement manager

    Hello, Thank you for sharing such a positive evaluation! We're glad to see you enjoyed your internship and learned a lot. We hope this will stay with you in your next jobs! We wish you the best, Madeline

  8. Helpful (3)

    "intelligent Individuals, Leader In Industry, High School Environment"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager-Marketing in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You will learn a lot about Marketing that goes beyond the cosmetics industry. A lot of people come from other large CPG conglomerates, Advertising Agencies, Consultancies, etc. Everyone is willing to talk to you about their previous roles and how their current roles fits into L'Oreal. L'Oreal is a great place to build a career or as a stepping stone to something more fitting if L'Oreal isn't for you.

    Cons

    While the company advocates for transparency, sometimes you can't get the reasoning behind certain top-level decisions that don't make sense logically. After being here for a certain time, you will notice that everyone is very cliquey. Tends to be very gossipy around here. Not as collegial as you would think it would be for such a large company. I think the company can improve on ensuring that everyone is not being left out and that everyone has an equal voice.

    L'Oréal2019-04-11

    L'Oréal Response

    May 15, 2019Employer Brand Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts and for your time with us so far! We truly appreciate your feedback, which helps us to improve every day. At L’Oréal, innovation and inclusiveness are among our guiding business principles and we work to implement them across all areas of the company. Listening to diverse perspective and being open to new ideas is vital in our mission to respond the diversity of beauty needs around the world. We have taken note of your feedback and, as always, please make sure to contact your HR representative or manager with any specific questions around culture, leadership or work style.

  9. Helpful (13)

    "Marketing Assistant"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Assistant in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The positives include: -Lots of free and discounted product -Young/fun co-workers -Nice office following the most recent round of renovations -Good mentorship available if you seek it out

    Cons

    Above everything else, L'Oreal is exceptional at sales - selling the product to customers, selling "opportunities" to new employees, and especially selling a certain type of delusion to everyone who works there. Here are the main difficulties I faced while working at L'Oreal: -3 out of 5 senior and mid-level managers are generally unequipped for the role This means a lack of understanding of what it means to manage in a professional sense (setting objectives, defining role scope and responsibility, removing roadblocks, etc), but what's more concerning, is that a lot of management is unequipped for the role emotionally - with no ability to empathize or understand the needs of the subordinates, they are followed only because the employees have to follow them. -Ego + Politics > Merit + Results I vividly recall my manager obsessing over the most insignificant details on a powerpoint deck, only to ensure that when he or she presents it to upper management, she is seen as a "superstar". I also recall manipulating the data to make a failed launch look "good", just so my manager could have good news to share. There is a general preference for ignoring data-driven decisions in favour of whatever makes the manager in question look good. -Emotional abuse It is a regular occurrence to see co-workers cry. It's even more commonplace to have a vacant role on any given team because the employee is on "sick leave" aka "stress-leave" aka "burn-out". The scary part is that no one is bothered by either of the above because they happen so frequently. -Hardcore cool-aid culture There is a strong expectation that everyone who works at L'Oreal must absolutely love it all the time, never mention anything negative, and ALWAYS show intentions of staying at the company until retirement. If you as much as mention that you might have an interest in perhaps exploring another industry or company way down the line, you will be told to keep quiet as it will damage your career progression. The ironic part is that L'Oreal Canada has by far the highest turnover rate in the industry, and forcing employees to always pretend to be "loving the experience" only makes it more difficult to get to the root cause of the problems. -Lack of ethical backbone I can't disclose any details relating to product development for legal reasons, but there are a lot of very questionable products both from an efficacy stand-point as well as from the consumer positioning standpoint.

    Continue reading
    L'Oréal2019-03-12
  10. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern Assistant Brand Marketing in Levallois-Perret
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice teams of very motivated people, very Millennial-oriented, lots of corporate events and an amazing firm culture.

    Cons

    Balance between pro and personal life can be hard to manage.

    L'Oréal2018-10-31
Found 37 reviews