L'Oréal Marketing Reviews

Updated 6 Jul 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
79%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
L'Oréal Chief Executive Officer Jean-Paul Agon
Jean-Paul Agon
155 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Huge responsibility, great environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Digital Marketing Intern in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal for less than a year

    Pros

    - lots of responsibility early on, if they see potential in you you take on lots more - Great people. of course it depends on which team you are working with but for me, it really made the experience! - Learnt new things every day, job was never monotonous

    Cons

    - it can be a very stressful job, and clients + other teams are very demanding, they always want the work for yesterday, something you have to get used to and be able to handle and push back - unfortunately you have to pay for food which at most jobs at least tea and coffee is free... - Sometimes people are SO busy that it may be difficult to get time in with your manager. but depending on who the manager is, they will ALWAYS make time for you but very limited downsides!

  2. "Great career experience"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working with the best Marketeers in the business.

    Cons

    Too much emphasis on Grad career mapping

    L'Oréal Response

    August 13, 2018L'Oreal Talent Team

    Dear former colleague, thank you for sharing your experience on Glassdoor! We are glad to hear that we have the best marketeers in the business. Thank you also for your feedback, is important to hear from you about your experience with career mapping, once that this is a focal point for us. Wishing you all the best, Juliana.

  3. "Good beauty company in the worldwide."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Marketing in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal for less than a year

    Pros

    Big company, international environment, Good opportunity.

    Cons

    High competitiveness, low hire rate.

    Continue reading
  4. "Senior Brand Manager"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great progression, benefits and amazing brands

    Cons

    process lead, too many meetings, corporate

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Chaotic but fun"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Marketing Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced, lots of responsibility, great colleagues, world class brands

    Cons

    Very last minute, bureaucratic culture, very political, disorganised HR,

    Continue reading

    L'Oréal Response

    July 9, 2017Employer Brand Specialist

    Hi there former colleague, thank you for sharing your review with us! Chaotic but fun- well described. Did you know our CEO Jean-Paul Agon calls L'Oréal organised chaos? It's true, we don't have lots of processes and we do things right to the last minute, but somehow, we always nail those deadlines, and that extra flexibility allows us to bring new, creative input. At the same time, it's not an easy culture to navigate. We're trying to simplify the way we work, as part of an internal culture change project. This project also includes a greater focus on empowering employees- we're making progress step by step! We hope you gained a lot from your experience with L'Oréal, and wish you the best in your future career! Emma

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Marketing Internship (12 months)"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Marketing Internship in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal for more than a year

    Pros

    Incredible responsibility and opportunity for interns to take on big projects. Really social, fun and young working environment. My team were supportive, and always made be feel empowered and valued and never 'just an intern'. Everyone really cares about the brands and being market leaders, which makes for a positive, high achieving work environment.

    Cons

    Lack of clear processes and structure can make it difficult to stay organised. Nothing is impossible culture can lead to extremely challenging workloads and unachievable deadlines, often interns work long hours to meet expectations. HR department provide little formal training outside of initial couple of weeks.

    Continue reading

    L'Oréal Response

    March 20, 2017Employer Brand Specialist

    Thanks for offering such a balanced review of your experience! We are very pleased to hear you were able to learn lots, and that ownership of your projects and a supportive team helped create this enriching internship. It's very useful for us to understand areas in which we can improve the internship experience. It's true, we have a learning model whereby 70 % of learning is based on 'on the job' experience as we believe in practical learning. However, it's great feedback to know that our interns need extra training sessions to develop certain skills. Thank you very much, and all the best in starting your professional career! Emma

  7. "Fast paced environment, on the job learning"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Marketing in London, England

    I worked at L'Oréal

    Pros

    Good salary, social community, access to big projects whilst at an entry level job, chance to work across teams and take ownership of tasks

    Cons

    Lack of training from team and HR, working hours can be quite long, stressful environment during visits from international teams

    Continue reading

    L'Oréal Response

    December 9, 2016Digital Marketing Manager

    Thank you for sharing your comments and helping us make L’Oréal a great place to work in. If you dread sitting in your cubicle refreshing your email just for something to do, that’s not something that you will experience at L’Oréal. There are no two days alike and that’s what gets us excited every morning. That’s because we are nimble and everything we do exists in a whirlwind of constant change adapting to new situations. But right here, there is literally nothing you can’t achieve in such a dynamic and fast-moving environment. That means working here is challenging, invigorating, and rewarding—but definitely not dull. It’s great that you highlighted the fact that at L’Oréal we like to place bets on people by giving them responsibilities beyond what they might get in another big company at the same stage of their career. At L‘Oréal, each new position is like going to a tailor. The suit that the company offers you will be two sizes too big. It’s your challenge to grow into it. And once you are done, you will be offered a new suit two sizes too large again. Sometimes it can be challenging to juggle many tasks at once and keep a balance in the fast-paced business environment we are in. However, we have introduced a number of Share & Care programs around the world, eg the US, the UK, Mexico etc., which aim to add to flexible working hours, short Fridays, work remotely etc. It is a very good start, yet changes like these do not happen overnight. Therefore, we strongly encourage everyone to have an open discussion with your manager or HR generalist who are there to support you. Good luck with your future endeavors! - Elina S., Digital Brand Manager

  8. "Marketing intern"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern Marketing in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced, huge opportunities, great environment

    Cons

    Can be thrown in the deep end and managers can be too busy for you

    L'Oréal Response

    December 12, 2016Digital Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. Appreciate you taking your time to share your experience with L'Oréal. It is great to hear that you appreciate the steep learning curve and a positive team environment. Indeed , even as a Junior talent you are empowered with the same responsibility as everyone else making you equipped with skills that will carry you throughout the rest of your career. At L’Oréal we follow the 70:20:10 development concept where the idea is that the majority (70%) of learning comes through experimentation; around 20% comes from learning with/ from your peers, team mates, buddies, colleagues, and 10% through formal online studies/ conferences. In is a pity to hear that your manager has not had enough time to guide you through and support when needed. We encourage anyone in a similar situation too keep your learning & development team in the loop as well as have an open discussion with your manager to make sure they are up to speed on what areas you would love to develop yourself further. Good luck with your future projects. Elina S., Digital Brand Manager

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic learning opportunity, though L'Oreal won't be able to function without its interns"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Marketing Intern in Hammersmith, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at L'Oréal for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked full time as a Marketing Intern for 1 year from Jul 2015 - Jul 2016 + Regardless of which function you're in, you'll likely be exposed to all areas of the business and have plenty to learn (marketing, commercial and sales, digital, legal, PR, logistics etc.) + Lots of real work and responsibilities and opportunity to make a big impact. + Management and colleagues are very open to your ideas, and don't consider you as 'just an intern'. But of course, prove that you can be trusted. + Your responsibilities can be the same as a Management Trainee's (grad), or even an assistant manager's, depending on the team you're in and what their requirements are + Weekly catch up with your line manager to organise your upcoming tasks and to get support. My line manager and senior manager genuinely cared about my needs and development areas + Opportunities to develop lots of skills (presentation, communication, research, Excel, organisation, project management) + Generally a very young company, i.e. management are all in their late 20's and early to mid 30's. Senior management (General Manager and above) are 40+ + Regular intern socials organised by the Intern Committee + Pay is pretty good for an intern, compared to other large companies + Clear guidance on how to apply for the Management Trainee graduate programme (You have to go through a whole new process that requires presentations, interviews and recommendations, so don't be under the illusion that if you passively do well, you'll be offered a job afterwards) + Other HR-organised talks and e-learning platform

    Cons

    - The pros above reflect ONLY my experiences, so might not be reflective of your own. I know interns who've had a very different experience, in terms of the difficult of tasks, friendliness of their team, how busy they were, and the impact of their work - Prepared to work really hard under lots of pressure. L'Oreal is like an FMCG on steroids, where you're chasing cycles and the work never stops - The culture of the the teams and divisions can be very different, depending on their size, priorities, and people - Divisions and brands often work in silos and not with one another, at least at the lower levels - IT department is ridiculously slow and unhelpful - The organisation can feel quite chaotic and disorganised - e-learning platform can't be accessed at home - Office politics is unavoidable - Lots of people come and go very frequently - Your immediate team induction and handover is often only as good as what the predecessor has prepared for you - Company-wide events and benefits promised by HR did not materialise, such as Bar 255 (monthly free bar that stopped since Jan/Feb 2016) and yoga (stopped since last November/Dec 2015)

    Continue reading
  10. "It's an adventure. The quest is growth ... business & personal."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The pay & benefits are slightly above average, not the best, but good. You get rewarded for achievement. The business is so varied that you can have a whole lifetime career with L'Oreal and never get bored. It's a fast-moving, entrepreneurial culture with empowerment for anyone who wants to take it.

    Cons

    You need to be on your game all the time, and the pace of action is very fast. People change jobs very frequently so you're always building new relationships which, whilst stimulating, can slow down progress. French culture takes time to understand. The london office is very tired and needs updating. The executive offices are beautiful, reflecting the brands. Everyone else works in cramped spaces at ugly desks.

    Continue reading
Found 295 reviews