L'Oréal Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

L'Oréal Reviews

Updated 17 August 2018
2,422 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
L'Oréal Chief Executive Officer Jean-Paul Agon
Jean-Paul Agon
878 Ratings

2,422 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "You learn a lot and gain a lot of helpful insight" (in 65 reviews)

  • "In addition Senior management is focused on ensuring their employees can maintain a work/life balance and utilize the work from home policy" (in 58 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work-Life-Balance leidet unter der vielen Arbeit" (in 325 reviews)

  • "La charge de travail est parfois" (in 96 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Business Intelligence Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time

    Pros

    Good culture, Fun place, environmentally friendly compnay

    Cons

    Overall it is a good company to work for, but it has a lot of politics.

    L'Oréal Response

    28 May 2018 – L'Oréal Talent Team

    Dear former Colleague ,
    Thanks for sharing your review ! We are glad you had a great journey with us . Internal opportunities and being able to grow within the company is something we are very proud... More


  2. "Excellent place to cut your teeth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time

    Pros

    The people there are fantastic, everyone is very passionate about what they're doing and really focused and driven on getting things done

    Cons

    The politics. a lot of big egos (and a lot of denying there are big egos). A lot of talk about career progression when actually and staying in a role for 2 years when actually this is only a rule for some when they need it. It came across that meaningful progression really was only available to those who were part of the management scheme

  3. "Internship in R&I"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good atmosphere, good food, discount for products.

    Cons

    Labs not very efficient.

    L'Oréal Response

    17 Aug 2018 – L'Oreal Talent Team

    Dear former colleague, It`s great to hear from you. We are proud that you enjoyed your experience at L`Oréal! Thank you for your feedback, it's important for us to continue to improve. Good luck in... More


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Mediocre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hammersmith, England
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hammersmith, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time

    Pros

    - The morning walk as you approach the building with the L'Oréal logo above gives you that five seconds of glam you so crave.

    Cons

    - Progression is fixed - no faster than two years
    - The company is still extremely digitally illiterate and slow on the uptake of digital
    - Lack of processes, so it's chaotic, inefficient, and unproductive
    - Employee welfare is not a priority for HR, neither does the culture focus on this. Everyone eats at their desks way too much, concerns about working hours are dismissed, there is very little appreciation for what you do
    - Marketers are really more project managers who implement diktats handed to them from the central Paris office with no meaningful creative or strategic input
    - Culture is competitive, not collaborative
    - Cliquey
    - If you don't fit their overly prescriptive mold (extroverted, into sport, drinking and going out to bars and clubs every waking moment, lack of intellectual interests), you will not fit in or last

    Advice to Management

    Define what the culture is, look after employees, fix inefficiencies, get up to speed with how marketing is now done, allow individuality to flourish


  5. "Great career experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in London, England
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Working with the best Marketeers in the business.

    Cons

    Too much emphasis on Grad career mapping

    L'Oréal Response

    13 Aug 2018 – L'Oreal Talent Team

    Dear former colleague, thank you for sharing your experience on Glassdoor! We are glad to hear that we have the best marketeers in the business. Thank you also for your feedback, is important to hear... More


  6. "Customer Supply Chain Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Supply Chain Manager in London, England
    Current Employee - Customer Supply Chain Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    - Fun environment
    - Thrive on entrepreneurialism
    - Away Days abroad and football/volleyball tour

    Cons

    - A lot of admin at many levels
    - Still a lot of processes to be aligned to prevent repetition across divisions

    L'Oréal Response

    27 Jul 2018 – L'Oreal Talent Team

    Dear colleague, thanks for your review! We are very happy that you are enjoying our entrepreneurial environment. Thank you for your feedback on how we can improve. Juliana


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Get ready to defend working at L'Oreal when you want to leave!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior National Account Manager in London, England
    Former Employee - Senior National Account Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    - Product discounts and adhoc staff sales
    - Given responsibility early on
    - Open plan team seating, very few behind glass doors

    Cons

    Where to begin... The teams are extremely low on headcount, to the point where flexible/home working had to be brought in a few years ago and this has been readily jumped to try and escape 60 hour weeks (which were and still are the norm). I've had colleagues who have constructively complained about the working hours effectively managed out of the company for being "inefficient". Everyone knew what was happening so it just meant that people stopped complaining about the workload. Unfortunately the one's managed out for inefficiency (not me) tended to be the 'nice guys/girls'.

    The working environment is very cut throat. Individual teams seem to work well but cross team working is difficult as everyone is trying to come up with the best idea (and then take the credit). NAMs, SNAMs etc not only have to do their own jobs but are also organised into 'brand teams', which are essentially trade marketing roles. This is all extra work on top of your day job (whether you look after Tesco or Poundland it's the same). Writing presentations on the way to customer meetings was normal because you just couldn't find the time due to all the internal priorities. These 'brand teams' go some way to explain the extra 20ish hours everyone does each week that is unpaid.

    Talking of pay, it's low for the industry. NAMs start somewhere around the late £30's to mid £40's, and SNAMs are in the early £40's to low £50's sort of range. When you add in the long working hours, which means on average you're earning somewhere around the £13 - £16 per hour range as a SNAM, you have to question whether your life and investment in your education has been worth it for that, particularly being based in London.

    The final thing I will add is that when I decided to leave and was interviewing I had to defend the fact that I had worked at L'Oreal to 2 different companies that I interviewed with, which was surprising. L'Oreal workers are seen as arrogant by the wider FMCG companies and I found myself having to say in interviews that I was not the typical L'Oreal employee in order to show that I would fit in with their company cultures.

    Advice to Management

    Try to give your sales teams more choice in what they do in terms of commercial planning - having a junior product manager telling a SNAM or Business Controller what to do in this field will only ever lead to conflict.

    Remember that you're employing a young team who do actually want to experience London life during the week.

    Think retention! The churn rate at L'Oreal is ridiculous and it feels like people are leaving every other week.

  8. "L'Oreal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Brands are well known & respected

    Cons

    Work Culture is terrible & people are very disposable

    Advice to Management

    Improve company culture

    L'Oréal Response

    2 Aug 2018 – L'Oreal Talent Team

    Dear colleague, thank you for message and for sharing your feedback. Your comments are important in helping us understand where we can improve. All the best, Juliana


  9. "Amazing company but the culture needs to change quicker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Smart and inspiring people to work with and learn from, exciting projects to be part of, big focus on innovation and entrepreneurship, flexible working

    Cons

    Too much internal politics & way too many meetings. Your career progression in many cases depends more on your networking and your manager's endorsement than your actual achievements, input and commitment.

    Advice to Management

    L'Oreal needs younger, more diverse leadership of people from different backgrounds and a stronger commitment to change the hierarchical L'oreal culture -' simplicity ' values, which are really inspiring and progressive have not yet been embraced by all senior stakeholders.

    L'Oréal Response

    12 Jun 2018 – L'Oréal Talent Team

    Dear colleague,
    Thank you for sharing your review with us . We are always pleased to hear from our colleagues working with us for over 5 years. It is true we are so much committed to focusing on... More


  10. "Working at Lancôme"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beauty Advisor - Lancome in London, England
    Former Employee - Beauty Advisor - Lancome in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at L'Oréal part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Working with makeup and skincare.

    Cons

    Poor management. Favouritism towards certain co-workers. Unfair treatment. Expect you to dedicate your entire life to the company.

    Advice to Management

    Do better and be better. Treat everyone equally. Listen to your employee’s problems and learn to identify issues.

    L'Oréal Response

    20 Jun 2018 – L'Oréal Talent team

    Dear colleague, thank you for sharing your feedback. Your comments are valuable in helping us understand wher we can improve. Wishing you the best in your future career, Emma


Showing 2,422 of 3,137 reviews
Reset Filters