L'Oréal Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

L'Oréal Reviews

Updated Oct 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
L'Oréal CEO Jean-Paul Agon
Jean-Paul Agon
1,132 Ratings
Pros
  • "You will learn to work in a fast-paced environment(in 114 reviews)

  • "L'Oreal offers competitive salary and great benefits(in 104 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance can be improved(in 355 reviews)

  • "Relatively poor work life balance with long hours often continuing into the night(in 228 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic brand benefits. Huge levels of support

    Cons

    High staff turn over in head office. Due to interns. Makes it hard to get things done from the top up sometimes

    L'Oréal2019-06-29
  2. "Marketing Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern Marketing in Hammersmith, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing name to have on your CV, lots of responsibility in the role, great company benefits, amazing training and up-skilling oppourtunities

    Cons

    lots of workplace politics and passive aggression within the team, hardly any support from manager to progress in company, high labour turnover of colleagues, generally disorganised at times, had to work massive amounts of over time

    Advice to Management

    support your team more, have weekly meetings, guide them to achieve their goals for progression

    L'Oréal2019-10-08
  3. "Stressful, undervalued, Sometimes rewarding, but great experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - real responsibility from day 1 - big project/brand involvement - exposure to senior staff - good hands-on experience for when moving onto other companies - name looks good on CV

    Cons

    - undervalued - treated very differently to full time staff (treated as a contractor) - expected to give ideas and pressured to do all the work but then not recognised when pulled off, praise is given to managers which can be demotivating - very limited progression to graduate scheme with lots of pressure to do way over and above job role which is already a vast work load - little support from HR as they are... busy recruiting next interns

    Show More
    L'Oréal2019-10-08
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Bullying is rife"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, great brands, dynamic people to work with, fast paced and ever changing - no day is the same.

    Cons

    ‘In with the right crowd’ culture to be promoted, bullying tactics by senior staff, HR unable to help, your word against theirs, time in company is used to ‘protect’ a person meaning they can act however they choose.

    Advice to Management

    Stop promoting people without management training.

    L'Oréal2019-09-22
  5. "Impossible Workload"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Assistant in Hammersmith, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice group of people and work is varied and exciting.

    Cons

    So much work it's hard to complete any task to the level you'd like.

    Advice to Management

    More support needed and guidance

    L'Oréal2019-09-23
  6. "The Worst Company I've ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Host in Cambridge, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff Shop Allocation (If you ever got all of it)

    Cons

    I originally started working for another L'oreal brand, which I loved, and am going to write a separate review for. When they decided to merge our brands together, it came with new management, who were complete bullies. They claimed to care about your mental health, and how you're finding it, but in the next breath would belittle you, threaten and bully you. Within the span of an hour, I was told I had no talent,... that I was never a makeup artist, and would only benefit from small, unknown brands outside of L'oreal. The way the company treated staff who weren't management was disgusting. Two members of staff were signed off with stress in one month due to the way this brand treats people. I truly loved L'oreal when I started working for them, but never again would I consider working for this despicable company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Actually care about your employees. Don't pretend to in attempts to save face. Stop letting in store management take advantage (Going home early, Taking Lieu time they never accrued, getting other employees to do their job for them, ETC). The bullying towards younger staff is appalling, considering they will be the future of your brand. Also, keep your promises of progression

    L'Oréal2019-10-09
  7. "Beauty industry marketing director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Marketing Director 

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time

    Pros

    Great people and a strong culture of dynamism

    Cons

    Not enough emphasis on performance based incentives

    L'Oréal2019-09-13
  8. "Pepiniére"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pepiniére 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time

    Pros

    great space to learn about how a multinational works

    Cons

    work-life balance. - Your experience varies on the team

    L'Oréal2019-08-22
  9. "Fair"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beauty Advisor in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits package (staff shop, allocation etc)

    Cons

    1. Payroll is a mess. Always make sure to check that your overtime, commission and wages are paid correctly 2. Communication Counter - Head office. Head office staff will treat you like a worse sort of employee

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the voices of all employees.

    L'Oréal2019-09-02

    L'Oréal Response

    September 10, 2019Global content and employee engagement manager

    Hello dear, We regret you had a bad experience with the Head Office in the UK and your feedback will be shared with our top management in order to improve; because you are right, we believe it is essential to listen to the voices of all employees. We're happy to notice benefits were part of the good side though. We sincerely wish you the best for the future. Have a good day, Madeline

    Show Less
  10. "Year Long Internship at L'Oreal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Supply Chain Executive 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Team environment Flexi-Time Investment in training staff of all levels

    Cons

    The majority of business stays in their role for around a year before moving, this is good for career progression but can be difficult to keep up with.

    L'Oréal2019-07-23
Found 3518 reviews