LA Fitness Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

LA Fitness Reviews

Updated 5 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
36%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
LA Fitness CEO Louis Welch (no image)
Louis Welch
742 Ratings
Pros
  • "Having a free gym membership is great, though I haven't used it yet; it's just nice to have that option(in 395 reviews)

  • "Free gym membership & you can bring guests(in 380 reviews)

Cons
  • "Commission cut in half 1st of year when minimum wage went up(in 149 reviews)

  • "Low pay opposed to work for your success(in 133 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Positive Exp"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England

    I worked at LA Fitness full-time

    Pros

    Great surroundings, positive can do attitude throughout. Access to the gym is a benefit, fresh challenges each day

    Cons

    Long hours, pressure is sometimes heavy but not all the time, not much chance for progression or bonus

    LA Fitness2017-05-02
  2. "really nice and freindly team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Fitness Instruction 

    I worked at LA Fitness part-time

    Pros

    really happy place to work for

    Cons

    can be a lot unsociable hours

    LA Fitness2019-06-30
  3. "Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Marketing in London, England

    I worked at LA Fitness full-time

    Pros

    All was very good in general,All was very good in general,All was very good in general,All was very good in general,

    Cons

    Nothing negative in generalNothing negative in generalNothing negative in generalNothing negative in general

    Advice to Management

    Continue as you areContinue as you areContinue as you areContinue as you areContinue as you are

    LA Fitness2019-02-27
  4. "Personal Trainer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at LA Fitness full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility Some staff very friendly

    Cons

    Poor management structure Focus too much on numbers PT rent very high

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on people rather than numbers

    LA Fitness2018-01-23
  5. "It's a good place to work part time as a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Front Desk Receptionist in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at LA Fitness part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The team is amazing - Free membership

    Cons

    - Pay was not that great. - No bonuses or incentives

    LA Fitness2017-11-02
  6. "Cleaner on weekends"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cleaner in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at LA Fitness part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is easy money. The manager was a nice person and it is extra money if you are studying or you have another job Monday-Friday.

    Cons

    There is not career progression. And at the end you cannot motivated. Sometimes you need to rush because the receptionist wants to go home.

    Advice to Management

    Encourage new people and offer possibility to career progression.

    LA Fitness2017-02-21
  7. "Membership Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Membership Sales Advisor in Woking, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at LA Fitness full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good colleagues and some nice rewards, if you work hard and put some long hours in. Sets you up for future sales roles in terms of setting appointments, cold calling etc

    Cons

    Long hours and really low basic salary. If you put in the hours you can earn some nice commission, but you may as well just go for a 60k job with uncapped commission and do a lot better

    Advice to Management

    Not really any advice to management I think they do a good job, except they do not particularly value their staff

    LA Fitness2016-12-27
  8. "Fun, focused, energetic..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    General Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at LA Fitness

    Pros

    Hard working and multi skilled team culture provided a fun, social, educational, immersive and results based product that delighted members.

    Cons

    Work life balance sacrifices required to be successful in the leisure industry proved to be to tough for some resulting in high staff turnover despite selective recruitment at entry level.

    LA Fitness2016-09-22
  9. "Bearable if you have a nice manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Receptionist in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at LA Fitness full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free gym membership whichyou hardly get chance to use. Free training

    Cons

    Shift work Badly paid Pressured to constantly sell Always understaffed Expected to stay late/come in early/change shifts at the drop of a hat Head office only care about sales figures and leave maintenance issues for months at a time

    Advice to Management

    Hire more staff Pay better Deal with maintenance issues straight away

    LA Fitness2016-04-06
  10. "Fitness Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - LA Coach in Brighton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at LA Fitness full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employees, limited to only other fitness instructors and the free lance personal trainers

    Cons

    I am genuinely surprised that LA Fitness was allowed to operate in the way it did.

    LA Fitness2016-03-10
Found 2384 reviews