LGM Financial Services Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

LGM Financial Services Reviews

Updated 21 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
79%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
LGM Financial Services CEO Adam Hill
Adam Hill
35 Ratings
Pros
  • "Care about giving back to the community(in 11 reviews)

  • "Leadership is down to earth and model company core values(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "With nearly 11 months under my belt I have yet to uncover a con to working at LGM(in 7 reviews)

  • "There is a fast-paced environment at LGM(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Great Job, Poor Management Choice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at LGM Financial Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, beautiful office space, amazing volunteer opportunities

    Cons

    Experienced bullying from manager and sexist and hurtful remarks from colleague that were dismissed by manager. Management was unable to effectively inspire and handle the diverse personalities of the team. Lots of learning went amiss.

    Continue reading
    LGM Financial Services2019-10-21

    LGM Financial Services Response

    November 7, 2019President and CEO

    Thank-you for your balanced review and fair advice. I know this past year has been particularly challenging on our leaders at LGM as we have had to push all of our team members harder than ever to do more with less resources. While I know our team is all well intended, even the best of us don’t always come across as positive and enthusiastic when we are under a lot of stress and pressure. This is something we are working on in the coming year, along with having many of our newer leaders attend our emerging leader development program. We are committed to employee engagement and a creating a great employee experience at LGM and we know that starts with great leadership. Thank-you again for your sound suggestions and for being part of our LGM journey!

    Continue reading
  2. "Great company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Developer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at LGM Financial Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is a company that really does value its employees. Not just with software development training, but communication skills training, emotional intelligence training and more. The company is committed to giving back to the community by encouraging employees to volunteer for 4 days of the week, paid! Everyone on the senior leadership team is approachable and willing to listen.

    Cons

    The direction of the business is changing rapidly and the company needs to change with it. This requires a lot of complex changes being made quickly, which means being pulled in multiple directions constantly if you're working in the Technology dept.

    LGM Financial Services2019-06-12

    LGM Financial Services Response

    October 4, 2019President and CEO

    Thanks for your insightful review. We really do value our team members at LGM, and we try to find ways to demonstrate that. You are also correct that there are a lot of changes in our industry, and our business and people need to respond accordingly. We believe the changes are for the better and will create opportunities to improve our industry and LGM, but it does take a lot of work to get there. I'm proud of our team at LGM for taking on that challenge!

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Love Working Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LGM Financial Services full-time

    Pros

    Beautiful office I can work from home on occasion Great perks and benefits I feel valued Everyone is treated fairly

    Cons

    Everyone has a lot on their plate, so it can be stressful sometimes

    LGM Financial Services2019-03-04

    LGM Financial Services Response

    March 5, 2019CEO

    Thanks for your review. I really enjoy reading comments from employees who "love" their work. That's important given how many hours/days/weeks/years we pour into our careers. It has to be meaningful and interesting to captivate our hearts and minds. It's true that we are busy at LGM and that is in part because we work within an industry (auto) that is under major disruption (connected cars, autonomous, shared, alternative fuels and digital) and we are desirous of leading many of these fronts with FSO solutions. We do need to keep working hard but also smarter to drive efficiencies and ensure our team has capacity to work on the most important tasks. Thanks for all your efforts. :-)

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "The best company culture I have experienced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LGM Financial Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have been working at LGM for over two years. I have witnessed that LGM truly cares about people and their career. The HR team has great programms and trainers that mentors all leaders and mangers to have the best tools and trainings to lead their teams In technology department, as a developer we are free to innovate, bring new ideas and innovate and work on new technologies!

    Cons

    Sometimes there are a lot of things to do that all are high priority, however I haven't seen this to disturb anyones work life balance.

    Continue reading
    LGM Financial Services2019-02-22

    LGM Financial Services Response

    February 22, 2019CEO

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I'm happy to hear you are having a great experience at LGM and that you feel well supported by our learning and development culture. I agree that there are lot of priorities at LGM (especially in technology!) and we are working hard as a broad-based team to select the right things to do at any given time. Our business needs to keep up with disruption from three converging industries - automotive, financial and insurance. It's an exciting time if you enjoy innovating and building new things which it sounds like you embrace. Wishing you much continued success and enjoyment at LGM!

    Continue reading
  5. "Trainer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at LGM Financial Services full-time

    Pros

    Excellent employee perks and strongly driven to success

    Cons

    Minimum staff with extensive experience and knowledge industry specific

    LGM Financial Services2019-02-26

    LGM Financial Services Response

    February 27, 2019CEO

    Thanks for your post and sorry to hear it did not work out for you at LGM. If I have it right, you were involved within our training division. I can appreciate your candid feedback because in the past 12 months we've been transforming our training strategy and its resulted in a complete pivot from traditional operation and thinking. Nowadays we want a more consultative approach along with a lot more e-learning and in-store experiences. Those leading this charge are well qualified and engaged in making this happen (IMO) and we are hearing and seeing good results so far. I do wish you continued success in your career and please don't hesitate to reach out to me if I can be of any assistance.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Accounts Payable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at LGM Financial Services full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and extra benefits, downtown location

    Cons

    I worked 11 hours day to day but it was overlooked and no compensation, I received training from an impatient worker. Whilst they claim to be a top employee, it seems to be because of the hard work HR put into public relations.

    Continue reading
    LGM Financial Services2018-10-17

    LGM Financial Services Response

    October 18, 2018CEO

    I am sorry to hear that your experience at LGM was not to your expectations. While I don't have the finer details of your circumstances while at LGM and would hope (and expect) that our team feels that we empower work-life balance along with perks that make any extra efforts seem worthwhile. Our top employer status relies heavily upon the majority of our team completing an independent survey and from those results we are ranked amongst other leading organizations. Although in your case we have not been able to make it work (and that is always unfortunate), we do make best efforts to continue improving how we engage our employees and given our long standing "best employer" standings, I would like to think in many ways we are hitting the mark. Best of luck to you with your next adventure. :-)

    Continue reading
  7. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at LGM Financial Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good company to work for

    Cons

    not much about cons to say

    LGM Financial Services2018-08-16
  8. "service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LGM Financial Services full-time

    Pros

    life work balance is great

    Cons

    office politics employees disengaged not many advancement opportunities available very loud working environment

    LGM Financial Services2018-06-12

    LGM Financial Services Response

    June 15, 2018CEO

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts. As a current employee of LGM, I would welcome your thoughts in person so we can try to better understand your perspective. On one hand you've ranked us 4/5 stars while on the other hand, you are not recommending our company to others. LGM continues to be ranked as one of the Best Employers in Canada and also became a Best Managed company in 2018. We are certainly not perfect and have ongoing commitments to make our environment even better, yet I feel on a comparative basis we are doing many things right, including as you have pointed out, creating a work/life balance that affords many flexibilities for our team. Please do come and visit with me so we can continue to work through your own personal observations as I'd love the opportunity to better understand and improve. Adam.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Nice Company but not for software development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at LGM Financial Services full-time

    Pros

    LGM is a nice company that treats their employee well. They have good benefits and give back to the community.

    Cons

    The software development department is lacking in direction. They were building a new in house system, but they kept the tech team isolated from the users of the system. It was unclear if what was being built would be useful and if it was going in the right direction. The pay was also much lower than I had experienced in other positions.

    LGM Financial Services2018-05-12

    LGM Financial Services Response

    May 15, 2018CEO

    Hello and thanks for your note on Glassdoor. Sounds like you are no longer with LGM and since I don't know how long it has been since you departed, it makes it a little more difficult to ascertain how recent these concerns are. About 18 months ago we launched the biggest technology endeavour in our history and it was a difficult process to get there. We definitely tried our best but we sure learned a lot of lessons too. If that was your era, I could definitely understand your perspective. Fast forwarding to today's team and vision for technology, I can say that I am VERY proud of the team we've created and I get to witness personally the fantastic features being added into our HUB system every quarter. It really is inspiring and one of LGM's crown jewels. If you were not around long enough to see the dramatic transformation and the engagement of our tech team of recent times then I feel that is unfortunate. Perhaps you would not have left if you could now see how LGM gets things done in technology. Wishing you great success in your own career and life. Sincerely, Adam. :-)

    Continue reading
  10. "A people company that really Walks the Talk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LGM Financial Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company logo, should also stand for Let’s Give More to Customers and Employees. Truly great place to work, genuine, welcoming and caring all the up to the CEO Adam Hill which is so down to earth and inspiring. Not only are the benefits great, some are quite unique, which even go beyond those of large companies. The company truly values and invests a lot in staff training and Career Pathing.

    Cons

    Honestly, none that I can think of.

    Continue reading
    LGM Financial Services2018-04-27

    LGM Financial Services Response

    April 27, 2018CEO

    Thank you for your candid post. I appreciate the value and perspective we gain from new hires at LGM. We can learn from you just as much as you can benefit from our great culture. Let's keep the great momentum going! Adam.

    Continue reading
Found 47 reviews