LSE Research Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

LSE Research Assistant Reviews

Updated 4 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Judith Rees
1 Ratings
  1. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LSE for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work with great people.

    Cons

    None really come to mind.

    Continue reading
    LSE2018-11-26
  2. "Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Research Assistant 

    I worked at LSE part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good people , nice environment, great city

    Cons

    Low salary, politics, bad food

    Continue reading
    LSE2019-06-04
  3. "Beware of contract delays"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in London, England

    I have been working at LSE for less than a year

    Pros

    In general, working as a student research assistant LSE allows you to get into contact and build relationships with leading researchers

    Cons

    If you are a student that actually needs money, DO NOT WORK HERE, it takes FOREVER to get a contract which means if you actually end up working, you will probably get a check after your programme ends.

    Continue reading
    LSE2019-01-11
  4. "Research assistant (hourly paid staff)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Research Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at LSE for less than a year

    Pros

    - Hourly pay is very good - Flexibility (work from home, days and hours) - Quiet office - Best pension scheme I have come across - Great campus & location - Interesting work and learning opportunities

    Cons

    - HR & Admin in general slow - admin in particular overworked - Took more than a month to have a computer and access to all systems set up - Contract renewed on a rolling basis every few months when it expires - very little security/allows no advance planning

    Continue reading
    LSE2017-05-13
  5. "Research assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Assistant in London, England

    I worked at LSE

    Pros

    -flexibility -engaging community -great location -numerous events to attend and learn from -school has a great reputation

    Cons

    -chaotic at times -HR and other systems seem disorganised -resources not always easy to access -a bit insular and hard to make connections as a newcomer

    Continue reading
    LSE2016-03-01
  6. "Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at LSE for less than a year

    Pros

    It was a very informal way of collaboration between me and the Professor I was working for and I could do the research on my own terms. The contract was easily sorted out.

    Cons

    The pay you receive is very low as they know they are a sought after institution and they have lots of applications. So don't expect a lot from your work there in terms of finance.

    Continue reading
    LSE2015-08-31
  7. "Well paid Research Assistant job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Assistant in London, England

    I worked at LSE part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible, well paid, well-located, interesting. I would recommend it to students who want to earn some extra money, put something in their CV and learn about the subject the research is about. You can work from home.

    Cons

    Sometimes the work is tedious, there is no office to work in, they pay the month after the work has been done.

    Continue reading
    LSE2015-01-21
  8. "Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at LSE part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Knowledgeable and nice staff, good and flexible hours

    Cons

    Non really. A good part-time job in the summer

    Continue reading
    LSE2014-07-14
  9. "Collaborative, respectful environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at LSE part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As a research assistant (a position on the lower echelons of academia) there is still an incredibly respectful and collaborative feel. You have access to abundant resources and brilliant individuals. The pay is very good.

    Cons

    I only worked part time so didn't spend enough time to have any significant grievances.

    Continue reading
    LSE2013-03-28
Found 9 reviews